My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
8 out of 9 people found the following review helpful
  These are wonderful pencils..., November 8, 2011
These are wonderful pencils - incredibly smooth. Like writing with butter!! They are great for both general writing and for sketching/drawing. Well worth the money.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I've been painting and..., March 16, 2013
By jil...
I've been painting and drawing for nearly 35 years -- where has this DREAM pencil been hiding? I love both the regular Palomino Blackwing and the Palomino Blackwing 602. I tend to draw continuously on a piece of paper. I find both pencils very smooth and rarely if ever have they stopped my line flow with annoying snags along the pencils path. I have used some pencils in the past that have snagged ever few inches. I mean it when I call these DREAM pencils. Thanks for reintroducing them to the market. :)
5 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  I find the 602 to be..., December 27, 2011
By jswope
I find the 602 to be harder and less dark than regular Palomino Blackwings. The 602 series are more faithful to the original Eberhart Faber Blackwings in lead content as well as design. I really like these for sketching where I use the darker Blackwing more for shading or life drawing they’re both very smooth pencils. I was surprised that the eraser works very well and is removable on a lot of pencils I find the erasers more of an afterthought and I need to carry a separate one. Over all there a great pencil all the ones I’ve tried had nicely centered lead cores.
4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  Received this after reading..., December 11, 2011
By bta...
Received this after reading much fanfare in the press and blogosphere. The 602 is a well-made quality pencil. Lead centering is near perfect, all pencils in a dozen are perfectly straight, the finish is fantastic and well done, and the erasers actually work well. Who would know you can extend them quite a bit over the life of the pencil. It's a surprise the balance is not affected with the big eraser on end, and the cores are smooth, dark, and hold a point well. Will definitely get more. The only problem is choosing amongst some pretty fantastic stuff like mono 100s and hi-uni's.
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Awesome. Update review...., July 15, 2012
Awesome.
Update review. Ha ha, now that I've figured out the ferule and the eraser I actually would not change anything about it. It's perfect and unique. What helps is replaceble erasers which is nice to have.

5 stars.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Top pencil. Great wood..., July 15, 2012
Top pencil. Great wood that sharpens beautifully and the graphite is top notch that hold the point nicely. Nice grey paint also. Writing or drawing with this pencil reminds me of Hi-Uni F grade pencil. Excellent for writing or drawing.

One thing I do not like is the ferule and flat eraser which results in pencil being 20cm long. I would preferred a standard size of about 17cm long without eraser or with round standard eraser as this ferule and eraser that sticks out sideways kind of creates some extra weight and gets in my way.

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Superb pencils in every..., May 10, 2012
By arn...
Superb pencils in every way... no ifs, no buts. Right up there and beyond with Tombow Mono 100 and Hi-uni. The eraser is a real sleeper...when I'm finished with a PB602 I remove the glued on ferrule and adapt it on to my other quality pencils that are otherwise eraserless. My Eagle Turquoise with a PB602 ferrule/eraser attached is a classy looking dude. Don't ever throw away your ferrules when the pencil is used up.
5 out of 10 people found the following review helpful
  I had a different experience..., December 14, 2011
I had a different experience with these... the graphite in mine was scritchy in places, the balance was awkward with the large eraser, and the graphite would smear as soon as you looked at it. It wasn't as dark as I expected from the hype, and I'm really glad I split the box with several people.

That said, it isn't a bad pencil, but compared to a leadholder and a nice B grade fill? It isn't the tool for me and seems really over-hyped.
2 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  The palomino line of..., June 30, 2013
By nat...
The palomino line of pencils are gorgeous, beautifully made drawing tools, with flawless finish and design and a velvety smoothness when they glide over paper. They are more well constructed than any other pencil I have used, every aspect of there appearance gives one the impression of luxury.
The smoothness of their writing is due to an additive in the graphite core witch eliminates the scratchiness caused by the graphite in other pencils. Despite an unparalleled finish these pencils cause several problems when used for drawing and illustration purposes. They repel both water and ink making inking over them problematic particularly with detail work. The smoothing agent creates a waxy film on paper that is smeared over the page through erasing and shading making ink adhesion inconsistent. It also prevents the graphite from adhering giving a patchiness to shaded areas and will most likely have archival issues.
They are longer than most pencils and so can be sharpened more. The extra length combined with the weight of the enormous ferrule for the eraser make them ungainly in some drawing positions. The idea of a high quality eraser on the end of the pencil is a good one but again these have problems. The white eraser with the finer abrasive smears the smoothing agent across the page and over time becomes more of an applicator than a tool for removing graphite. The black eraser has a rougher abrasive, it is inconsistent and abrades even india ink, removing fine details. The likelihood of using the entire eraser by the time a pencil is finished is slim and as every pencil comes with one you will inevitably end up wasting a good deal of eraser. You would be much better off with an individual eraser that works well.
The wood is nice natural cedar but it does have more grain than other drawing pencils, giving it a greater possibility of fractures. The graphite core, the most important part of the pencil, on the blackwing is about a third as thick as on a mars lumograph and even the 6b is about half as thick. This means that they are capable of covering a much smaller area per pencil at greater cost. I would not recommend this pencil to anyone doing illustration or drawing, especially with other mediums. If you want real quality go with the staedtler mars lumograph and an eraser, it is more efficient and infinitely better for drawing. For illustration, drafting pencils are in every way better than a Palomino. If you care more about appearance than performance, the Palomino blackwing is the drawing tool for you.
1 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Smooth gliding deliciousness..., December 29, 2012
By me
Smooth gliding deliciousness and my cat liked them almost as much as catnip.