JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (18 customer reviews)
Write Review
February 27, 2011
I just got this pen in...
Verified Purchase
I just got this pen in the mail today and I love it!!! I took it to class with me for note taking and it writes very smooth with true to form ink color. It doesn't bleed through and it doesn't run away from you when you write with it. I highly recommend this pen!

5 people found this helpful
 
August 15, 2011
I got the 0.35mm in black,...
Verified Purchase
I got the 0.35mm in black, and I love it! It's super smooth, black, and writes really well. Plus, it dries really fast! It's a very good pen to use for left-handed people.

4 people found this helpful
indigocornflower
 
December 1, 2011
I love the fine line....
Verified Purchase
I love the fine line. It is very nice for writing quick notes and has a dark line. :)

3 people found this helpful
sarla3.01
 
October 11, 2011
Great pen! Smooth, dark,...
Verified Purchase
Great pen! Smooth, dark, and fast drying ink (yay! I always manage to smear what I'm writing with most other pens). It's also super thin without being scratchy, which I appreciate. The grip was a bit greasy when I received it but the feeling wore off in a few days. Only wish it was a bit heavier, but I don't mind the weight too much.

I want more colors!

3 people found this helpful
milkapiszczek
 
July 1, 2011
This is my favorite gel...
This is my favorite gel pen right now. It's very consistent, the ink is dark, and it's super smooth. The grip is nice to hold. The pen could be a little heavier though.

3 people found this helpful
louis0419
 
May 29, 2012
This is a great pen!...
Verified Purchase
This is a great pen! I use it everyday for work and home. The lines are fine, crisp, and dark. Highly recommended!

1 person found this helpful
robert152
 
November 21, 2014
Not Recommended. There...
Verified Purchase
Not Recommended. There are better options. I am a fan of the Energel retractable line, but picked this up as I would much prefer a smaller line width. While this is not a bad pen (hence 4 stars), there are some... issues (hence, review).

Problems:

- Writes like a Retractable. Retractable liquid ink and gel pens usually have an internal spring in the tip that pushes the ball against the front lip to seal the ink and prevent the pen from drying out. This means that these pens require more downward pressure to write, unlike the effortless way their capped cousins tend to put down ink as soon as they touch paper. Compare the Pilot Precise capped to the Precise RT. Generally this makes retractable pens better for sporadic notes, but not as comfortable for essays. I wouldn't have considered this an issue if it weren't that it...

- Dries out like a Capped. This is expected, as it IS a capped pen, but with the downward pressure required to get it writing I hoped otherwise. Nope. Says so right on the barrel, "Recap after use." Your ink life has a time limit. So, it has the disadvantages of both retractable and capped pens, and none of their respective advantages.

- No way to check ink level (AFAIK). Final nail in the coffin for me. Should be obvious from the photos, but there are no ink windows, and since it is not refillable there is no way to open it and check the cartridge. If it stops working, you'll never know if it dried out, got stuck, or is actually out of ink. If this is your everyday carry, take a backup.


Instead, consider a Pentel's Energel retractable 0.5mm. For a retractable they require very little downward pressure, which can be further mitigated with the AlloyRT's metal barrel (simply open to check ink level). Bonus, they are also sold stateside. If you need a tip closer in size, consider the Morning Glory's Mach3 0.38mm rollerballs. They use liquid ink, so they feather a bit, but write much better. If you are dead set on a gel, the Uni Signo's... are popular. Unlike ALL other Signo's I've tried, the UM-151 0.28mm I have actually writes pretty well. It puts down a consistent line, without skipping, with little pressure and is pretty smooth for it's tip size.

Note: Downward pressure is probably not an issue if you don't write cursive. On the other hand, if you print, why bother with a hybrid gel-liquid rollerball? Just go for a standard gel or ballpoint and be done with it.

 
November 10, 2014
Love the pen, just wish...
Verified Purchase
Love the pen, just wish it was refillable.

 
October 23, 2014
I am not a huge fan of...
Verified Purchase
I am not a huge fan of pens because I mess up spelling and I can't stand the crossed out look of words, or even worse white-out. But when I am in the need of a good fine lined pen for taking quick notes then I just can't resist this one. It glides so nicely and I just love how dark and thin the lines are. I can't go back to using 1.0m pen anymore because the lines look to huge compared to this one. My favorite pen so far and I'm about to buy all the other colors and a few backup so I won't ever run out of these!

 
October 15, 2014
This is a fantastic pen!!!!!...
Verified Purchase
This is a fantastic pen!!!!! A dark, thin line with minimal scratchiness makes this my go-to pen for taking notes every day. However, being someone who tends to color-code my notes in all colors of the rainbow, I need more colors!!!!