My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  bar none, the best drafting..., March 24, 2011
bar none, the best drafting pencil i've tried in it's price range. waiting to compare it with rotring but it is truly top class in terms of pentels. I have had the uni shift, staedler 925 and yet this one trumps them all. Why? i don't know. the feel and precision this pencil gives is wonderful. it truly makes writing a pleasure. extremely solid. No finnicky chambers, no squeaking. just lead. solid clicks. get this.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I have had this model..., March 13, 2011
I have had this model nearly for 10 years now. Whenever it broke, I would order this same model again. It took 3 years for it to have paint slightly chipped off(only on the edge of the pencil) from the surface. Considering that I use this mechanical pencil everyday, it is very durable. If there is anything that bothered me bit was the grip part. The grip part may feel too hard on the surface when you are using this for the first time.
If I have to score this mechanical pencil out of 100, I would give it 92.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil is a lot..., April 30, 2008
This pencil is a lot better than the Graphgear 1000. It has a similar but better grip and balance,. It is lighter and not as top heavy. Since it is not a retractable tip you have more control and precision with this pencil. One great advantage is that your lead doesn't break as often compared to the retractable tips. Not as pretty but I will take this one any day.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Let me start out by saying..., May 29, 2012
Let me start out by saying that I use this pencil for writing. I love precision and I write pretty small so I used a Zebra M-301 .5mm for years. Then I discovered JetPens. I purchased this pencil based off of the reviews on this site and have not been disappointed.

-The build quality, aesthitics, and feel are great.
-The pencil is heavier than what I am used to, but very comfortable to write with.
-I hold the pencil close to the tip and have no problems with writing.
-The grip is actually comfortable and offers control over the pencil.

All in all a great writing instrument.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  This has been my favorite..., March 27, 2012
By aev...
This has been my favorite pencil for a year now. Of all the drafting mechanical pencils I've purchased so far this one has been the most pleasurable to use. For some people it may be too thin, however for my taste this was nearly ideal. The grip on this one is unique and lends to greater comfort with extended use compared to other drafting pencils. The pencil is plastic but is very sturdy and after more than a year of use remains unscathed despite having carried it around carelessly (sometimes) in my pocket/bags/etc. If you're looking for something more on the slim side this a fantastic option.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I like Pentel pencils,..., January 24, 2009
I like Pentel pencils, I have over 22 of them. The Graph 1000 For Pro is however not my favorite. For me at least it's just a shade on the skinny side. But otherwise a great Pentel pencil. The body and grip sleeve are plastic while the end cap is blackened brass with a stainless steel lead sleeve. The pocket clip is also blackened metal, probably stainless steel. The lead grade indicator in the push button locks in with a snap so the indication doesn't wander. Like all Pentel pencils the lead is extended in small increments so just the right amount of lead is projected each time...
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I ordered this pen to..., March 2, 2013
I ordered this pen to take notes in class. As a grad school, I preferred using Moleskines for notes, and the lines were narrow--much to my liking. While I had been using 0.5mm pencils for years, I decided to try a 0.3 as my notes were becoming all over the place and compressed.

So, I ordered this pencil, as my then no. 1 pencil was the Graph Gear 0.5 mm. This pencil is lovely. It was my first foray into thinner lead, so I had to learn to take less weight off the tip when writing.

This is a great pencil to start with, though I caution that the tip, unlike the Graph Gear, is non-retractable, so keep it safe.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The Graph 1000 has a..., May 13, 2012
The Graph 1000 has a really nice feel to the click, and its overall construction is solid (for a plastic pencil), but I don't really like the grip, and I prefer heavier, metal pencils.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I like Pentel pencils,..., January 24, 2009
I like Pentel pencils, I have over 22 of them. The Graph 100 For Pro is however not my favorite. For me at least it's just a shade on the skinny side. But otherwise a great Pentel pencil. The body and grip sleeve are plastic while the end cap is blackened brass with a stainless steel lead sleeve. The pocket clip is also blackened metal, probably stainless steel. The lead grade indicator in the push button locks in with a snap so the indication doesn't wander. Like all Pentel pencils the lead is extended in small increments so just the right amount of lead is projected each time.
  I've had this pencil..., May 31, 2014
I've had this pencil for two months and can say that it's amazing. I mainly use it when drawing and taking notes. It's very light for a drafting pencil, which means that you can draw or write for hours without wearing out your hand. I also don't see the calluses that form when you tend to use a heavier pencil. The grip is comfortable, and the pencil fits very well (I have a very small hand, though, so if you have large hands, you might find that the pencil is too slim).
I bought the Pentel Graph Gear 1000 for 0.4 mm (who could resist that color, lead size and retractable tip!?) but find that this pencil is becoming my go-to pencil. In fact, I'm debating getting the Pro version, but for 0.4 mm--mainly because it's so light and doesn't make my hand tired.
Ugh. I love this pencil to death and highly recommend it to everyone.
  I absolutely love this..., June 30, 2012
I absolutely love this pencil. Definitely worth the price.
1 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  The Pentel Graph 1000..., August 1, 2007
The Pentel Graph 1000 is a decent pencil for everyday use.

Although I thought the pencil would be heavier considering its described as being all brass, it is actually light and feels like plastic. The tip is not retractable, so the pencil would not be ideal for traveling and could easily be damaged if the pencil fell off your desk/drafting table. The pencil features a lead-type indicator, but because of its design, you cannot hold the body of the pencil to change the setting; you either have to hold the eraser cap (not a lot of room, since the "knob" to change the indicator is basically the eraser cap) or remove the eraser to turn the "knob." However, the lead-type indicator does click into place at each lead-type, which differentiates it from a lot of other similar pencils. Overall, this is an OK pencil, but I don't think its worth its price.

Compare this review with my review for the Ohto Promecha 1000 (Black Body)...