JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 24, 2011
bar none, the best drafting...
bar none, the best drafting pencil i've tried in it's price range. waiting to compare it with rotring but it is truly top class in terms of pentels. I have had the uni shift, staedler 925 and yet this one trumps them all. Why? i don't know. the feel and precision this pencil gives is wonderful. it truly makes writing a pleasure. extremely solid. No finnicky chambers, no squeaking. just lead. solid clicks. get this.

5 people found this helpful
henrylouis16
 
March 13, 2011
I have had this model...
I have had this model nearly for 10 years now. Whenever it broke, I would order this same model again. It took 3 years for it to have paint slightly chipped off(only on the edge of the pencil) from the surface. Considering that I use this mechanical pencil everyday, it is very durable. If there is anything that bothered me bit was the grip part. The grip part may feel too hard on the surface when you are using this for the first time.
If I have to score this mechanical pencil out of 100, I would give it 92.

4 people found this helpful
tarueka88
 
April 30, 2008
This pencil is a lot...
Verified Purchase
This pencil is a lot better than the Graphgear 1000. It has a similar but better grip and balance,. It is lighter and not as top heavy. Since it is not a retractable tip you have more control and precision with this pencil. One great advantage is that your lead doesn't break as often compared to the retractable tips. Not as pretty but I will take this one any day.

4 people found this helpful
 
May 29, 2012
Let me start out by saying...
Verified Purchase
Let me start out by saying that I use this pencil for writing. I love precision and I write pretty small so I used a Zebra M-301 .5mm for years. Then I discovered JetPens. I purchased this pencil based off of the reviews on this site and have not been disappointed.

-The build quality, aesthitics, and feel are great.
-The pencil is heavier than what I am used to, but very comfortable to write with.
-I hold the pencil close to the tip and have no problems with writing.
-The grip is actually comfortable and offers control over the pencil.

All in all a great writing instrument.

3 people found this helpful
robert152
 
March 27, 2012
This has been my favorite...
Verified Purchase
This has been my favorite pencil for a year now. Of all the drafting mechanical pencils I've purchased so far this one has been the most pleasurable to use. For some people it may be too thin, however for my taste this was nearly ideal. The grip on this one is unique and lends to greater comfort with extended use compared to other drafting pencils. The pencil is plastic but is very sturdy and after more than a year of use remains unscathed despite having carried it around carelessly (sometimes) in my pocket/bags/etc. If you're looking for something more on the slim side this a fantastic option.

3 people found this helpful
aev.anthony
 
January 24, 2009
I like Pentel pencils,...
Verified Purchase
I like Pentel pencils, I have over 22 of them. The Graph 1000 For Pro is however not my favorite. For me at least it's just a shade on the skinny side. But otherwise a great Pentel pencil. The body and grip sleeve are plastic while the end cap is blackened brass with a stainless steel lead sleeve. The pocket clip is also blackened metal, probably stainless steel. The lead grade indicator in the push button locks in with a snap so the indication doesn't wander. Like all Pentel pencils the lead is extended in small increments so just the right amount of lead is projected each time...

3 people found this helpful
hartzog2000
 
March 2, 2013
I ordered this pen to...
Verified Purchase
I ordered this pen to take notes in class. As a grad school, I preferred using Moleskines for notes, and the lines were narrow--much to my liking. While I had been using 0.5mm pencils for years, I decided to try a 0.3 as my notes were becoming all over the place and compressed.

So, I ordered this pencil, as my then no. 1 pencil was the Graph Gear 0.5 mm. This pencil is lovely. It was my first foray into thinner lead, so I had to learn to take less weight off the tip when writing.

This is a great pencil to start with, though I caution that the tip, unlike the Graph Gear, is non-retractable, so keep it safe.

2 people found this helpful
 
May 13, 2012
The Graph 1000 has a...
Verified Purchase
The Graph 1000 has a really nice feel to the click, and its overall construction is solid (for a plastic pencil), but I don't really like the grip, and I prefer heavier, metal pencils.

1 person found this helpful
 
January 24, 2009
I like Pentel pencils,...
Verified Purchase
I like Pentel pencils, I have over 22 of them. The Graph 100 For Pro is however not my favorite. For me at least it's just a shade on the skinny side. But otherwise a great Pentel pencil. The body and grip sleeve are plastic while the end cap is blackened brass with a stainless steel lead sleeve. The pocket clip is also blackened metal, probably stainless steel. The lead grade indicator in the push button locks in with a snap so the indication doesn't wander. Like all Pentel pencils the lead is extended in small increments so just the right amount of lead is projected each time.

1 person found this helpful
hartzog2000
 
October 16, 2014
This is my first 0.3mm...
Verified Purchase
This is my first 0.3mm pencil and at first I didn’t like it as I wrote to thin, but after a while I found great use for it. I have very small handwriting but have always stayed in the 0.5mm range. But I’ve been wanting to try this pencil as I heard many good things about the 0.5mm version.

First thing is that 0.3mm wasn’t good for me for speed writing. I hold my pencils very firmly and press against paper with a lot of weight, so there’s a lot of pressure on pen tips and pencil lead. As such, I couldn’t use this for class notes. However, it did work wonderfully when I was writing on my own desk at home, whether for taking margin notes or writing through work books.

The pen is sturdy as my other Graph Gear, though some of the black paint around the grip has started to wear off, exposing the metal underneath.