My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (42 customer reviews)
Write Review
17 out of 22 people found the following review helpful
  When you stop and think..., October 29, 2011
When you stop and think about it, EVERYTHING is a phyllic symble. I s-u-p-p-o-s-e I could carry around a standard number 2 pencil in my DayRunner, But what fun would that be? Life, for me, is invoking a sence of envy and wonder in people. The funny thing about ENVY is that you don't have to be a millionare to have people cursing the day they were born because they don't posses what you own. Take the Pentel graph 1000 for Pro Drafting Pencil (black) for example. Im I a Draughtsman slaving over blueprints and needing a high tech, precision writing instrument, to make my lines more straighter? No. Draughtsmen use CAD software now days. Am I a graphic artiste who needs a balanced draughting instrument to insure my lines are perfect,perfect,perfect? Again, No!!!

I sport a Pentel graph 1000 for Pro Drafting Pencil simply because I like how it makes people envious of me. Yes, I am that shallow, but whattya going to do? Everyone has an IPAD these days and as for an IPOD or Iphone4G(s)...Big Yawn!!! But open up my Day Runner and 'causally lay' my Pentel Graph 1000 for Pro Drafting mech pencil on the conference table and EVERYONE GOES Oooooh!!! You don't know what kind of slimeball I am. Two weeks ago, we were in a staff meeting and the head archetect spied my Pentel mech pencil. I told him "Pick it up, notice how the body is aluminum and that the weight is SLIGHTLY over the nose? Notice that, unlike that Sta....... garbage, my Pentel 'doesn't eat lead every five minutes---and feel that throaty 'click' of its head---smooth?" He asked me "How much did you pay for this? $100.00? I said, Nah---less than $15.00. If it means that much to you, I would be honoured if you would take it as a gift. Really? A week later, he dropped $300.00 bucks on me or about a grand on the four of us (Meal, drinks, taxis and several paid lap dances). See? I got a fabulous Friday night for a lousy $14.00 investment and the staff now call me 'the guy with the cool office toys'. Imagion if I had something worth $100.00?!!! FYI, I bought two from JETPENS (great company) and my remaining Pentel rarely leaves my DayRunner. If you LOVE doodling during boring staff meetings---this is your MechPencil!!!
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  Currently I have almost..., August 18, 2011
Currently I have almost finished my collection of all of the .05mm drafting pencils that JetPens has to offer with the exception of a select few. I would have to say that this pencil is up there in my top 5. It gets put through the rigors of being an engineer on a daily basis (i.e. more calculations and computations that many could imagine) and holds its own. The weight is nicely balanced and while it may look like th grip is lacking, the smoothness of the barrel paired with the tackiness of the rubber grip strips creates a unique grip that does not fatigue the hand. The pencil is lighter than some of the other metal body pencils out there which I thought at first would make it weaker, but Pentel hs outdone themselves with how well made this pencil is. I tend to be a bit picky when it comes to lead extension, as I am an avid two click person that does not like a ton of lead after those two clicks. This pencil hasgood lead extension and does not overextend. The click is smooth and effortless. I would highly recommend this pencil to anyone that is doing a lot of writing or drawing that wants a good pencil for a good price.
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  I have tried for years..., April 7, 2009
I have tried for years to find perfect pencil and I have finally come to conclusion [even though I knew before but always thought could find something better] that Pentel does make the best pencils especially this one. It is so sturdy and light and has a nice nonslippery grip [most pencils with grips are slippery after using them for a while].

I think this pencil is abot 15 gm heavy [which is very light]---it would help if Jetpens would enter weight in standard measurements instead of archaic e.g ounzes as those are hard to figure out.

I have also concluded that this pencil and other Pentel Graph 1000 limited edition hold the graphite perfectly decreasing the chance of snaping the graphite. Also, another very important fact is that these pencils hold the most graphite pieces in them [I think if I remember I can fill around 20 pieces [but have not counted], therefore do not have to worry and carry replecemt with you.

So, now I have this baby and different color Graph 1000 limited edition ones to use with different color graphite or different hardness. You wont regret buying this pencil or almost any other Pentel pencil.

Before I forget, these pencils also have pretty large eraser when compared to other companies' pencils.

Maybe if this pencil was retractable it would really be 10 out of 10, so now its like 9.5/10 :). Anyway I have never had a problem [for years already] having a non-retractable pencils--I kep them in shirt pocket often or bag, not in front pocket of pants.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I intended to purchase..., June 21, 2012
By srados
I intended to purchase this pencil, based on my previous ownership of this pencil.If you are cleaning up drawing for animation, illustration, when scanned , drawing looks like it was done with pen and ink.This pencil has a strong tip so it can be pushed to the limit, but also well balanced for lighter roughing work...be aware and do not put it in back pocket, that will definitely break the tip part , that was the limit I was talking about. :(
I will order another pretty soon.

I highly recommended this pencil.
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this a few weeks..., February 15, 2011
By rob...
I bought this a few weeks ago and have been comparing it to my Alvin Draft/Matic. I noticed the Graph 1000 is super light weight in comparison and seems cheap to my Alvin Draft/Matic. The graph 1000 writes/draws well and looks super sleek, but again i prefer the Alvin Draft/Matic, because it has quality and a solid low center of gravity balance you can definitely feel.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This mechanical pencil..., March 4, 2012
This mechanical pencil is definitely one of the best pencils in the world.

Actually it is regarded as the definite #1 emperor in my country, South Korea.

The grip, the knock, say anything good and it fits this pencil.


I bought 0.5 mm, but actually I recommend 0.4 mm model because it is hard to find a fine mech. pencil for 0.4 mm.


1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  great pencil, perfect..., September 8, 2011
great pencil, perfect for me, i'd definitely buy another, but prob won't. This thing is going to last me a while :P
Anyhow, i am an artist and a student. Artist POV, this pencil is probably the best thing I have ever bought, I am typically a hard line presser, and i like to have my hand flowing around, and this pencil is beyond light. It is wonderful... As a student, I just glide the pencil across my paper, it writes faster than when i write in pen because of its weight!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  No idea what other people..., October 7, 2010
No idea what other people are saying. It is not too light. I think this is much better than the graphgear 1000, it is way too heavy, and i get a lot of strain since I write very small and fast. This has not caused that yet. And indeed you can see what your drawing perfectly. Grip works, quite a nice look too. .5mm for this is very nice. I heard .4mm was better, but i'd rather not have to buy lead ONLINE... I choose this over the graphgear 1000 because it allows me to write much more efficiently. Writes fine. The clicking sound is a itsy bit louder than normal mechanical pencils, buts its fine.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Not a bad pencil. Decent..., April 21, 2009
By cujo46
Not a bad pencil. Decent strength. Not what I wanted, though....

Looking for a replacement for a Koh-I-Noor Rapidomatic 0.5. Nothing comes close...

This one is too light. No feel around the tip, no spring, what happened to that?

To sum up: Too Light. If you like light pencils, you're in. I want heft....
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is the best drafting..., February 4, 2009
This is the best drafting pencil I have used so far.
It is well balanced (the center of weight is about one centimeter from the upper end of the grip) and very lightweight. I thought that it would be much heavier, but in fact it is only slightly heavier than an all plastic pencil.
The grip is a very well designed one. It is quite hard to give a solid feel, but in the same time the rubber strips which do not stand out of the metal base that much allow a better grip on the pencil than a knurled piece of metal would allow.
The pencil's design is a very timeless and practical, yet elegant one. If the pencil was a sculpture, I would define it as modern or bauhaus.
The only negative point is the loud clicking noise of the mechanism, but it is not something that is too annoying. There are worse mechanisms.
Some feature that is rather surprising, but also quite practical is that when you have no lead in the internal clutch and press the advance mechanism, the vibrations of the clutch will propel the lead dust that is produced by the lead sticks rubbing against the edge of the fixed 4mm lead sleeve from the inside out of the tip. So I would say, it is self cleaning to a certain extend.
  I liked this pencil more..., May 11, 2014
By rez...
I liked this pencil more when it was new. Don't get me wrong, it's a very precise and cool-looking tool that's had no trouble whatsoever on the inside. However, if your fingers are just a little sweaty, or you touched your face before you took this mechanical pencil then its rubber inserts are quickly becoming just as slippery as their absence would be. My second and last issue with this pencil is that after a year of so of not so intensive use, the rubber grips started making clicking sound when you squeeze and release the grip. It seems to me that the base of those rubber inserts is sticking and then coming off of whatever is underneath with the clicking/snapping sound, which distracts attention from drawing. One last note is that my other pencil, exactly the same one except it’s 0.7 mm did not make clicking sound when you pressed to extend the lead. As if something was missing in it from the start, wonder if it might be a quality control issue.
  You can tell it has a..., September 22, 2013
You can tell it has a strong mechanism when you write/draw with it. Definitely a drawing/graphing pencil. The grip is not that comfortable and takes some getting used to. I recommend the Pilot S5 but this pencil has a better led indicator (if it matters to the buyer).
  Excellent pencil. I..., September 5, 2013
By shad
Excellent pencil. I own 6 or so .7mm pencils (including the outstanding Rotring 600) and still the one I keep coming back to is the Graph 1000. It is, IMO, what a good drafting pencil should look like. The nice ".7" on the cap end makes sure that I know exactly which pencil I'm grabbing. My only negative is that I wish it had more "heft" to it. It would be nice to see the barrel (body) be constructed of brass to give it some authority. Still, hands down, my favorite pencil.
  I don't usually care..., August 2, 2013
By wh0...
I don't usually care to review items, but I felt the need to respond to one in particular from "sun..." as he/she seems to lack comprehension of how retail works, and is disparaging JetPens CS which has been nothing but awesome in my experience.

The label on this pencil is clearly a manufacturer label which JetPens does not apply, hence the Japanese characters, and manufacturer branding and barcode. Pretty sure they weren't BS-ing you on this one since the 0.3 mm size I bought at a local Japanese stationery shop has the same label. Keen eye buddy.

That said, unfortunately, they do use in-house labels for some other items, which are obviously printed with a laser printer and leave some residue. I contacted JetPens CS about the same thing and they profusely apologized for said residue, and gave some suggestions on how to remove it completely. But I mean really, as full-grown adults who live in a consumer society, I'm pretty sure the vast majority of us have figured out how to remove sticky residue from items we buy; it's not rocket science. Talk about first world problems.

/rant

Otherwise, this pencil is the bees knees for a high quality drafting pencil at a fair price. I have three different sizes (two of which I bought here after discovering the site) and I love them all. I normally prefer heavier all-metal pencils, but this is by far my favorite plastic model for light weight sketching.
  Best drafting pencil..., March 22, 2013
Best drafting pencil I've used. Also the best Pentel pencil there is.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This is the best pencil..., November 11, 2012
By j...
This is the best pencil I ever owned.

For those complaining that it is too light - there is a reason for that. The heavier the pencil, the higher the chances of a bent tip when dropped (like the rotring). One shouldn't have to gingerly handle the pencil, lest s/he drop it and bend the tip making it unusable, wouldn't you agree?
  This drafting pencil..., October 7, 2012
By dea...
This drafting pencil is amazing. I don't know why, but I initially assumed it to be extremely light and somewhat flimsy, but that isn't the case at all! It's sturdy and it's slightly heavier (which I love) than the usual weight of general mechanical pencils. It has a sleek feel to it and fits comfortably in my hand. The grip is soft and feels really nice too, although I noticed it attracts a fair bit of dust to it, but that shouldn't be too much of a problem. My experience so far in using it for light sketching has been amazing.
  Really good quality...., October 2, 2012
By Cou...
Really good quality.
  A looong time ago when..., September 8, 2012
By cbu...
A looong time ago when Amazon was just starting I had only three good pencils. This was one of them and I found it in nyc at Art brown. I loved it, and although now there are lots of pencils more fun it's hard not to appreciate the quality and design of this pencil. ( my other pencils were R600 and pentel kerry ).
  OK, now since I got my..., August 30, 2012
By dav...
OK, now since I got my items from jetpets which is great! lets do a real review on how I like it, so first of all thanks to the person who answered my question I really appreciate it so thanks to Dio..... OK now on to the review so after waiting like almost a week in a half< not bad, I finally got the items now. This pencil at sight got me a bit worried about the nib and the grip but man was I wrong when I got it in person its amazing how nice the grip feels and the nib seems strong enough, but im set with keeping it safe and scratch free with the nomadic tri-fold also brought here on jetpets! and everything seems really nice and mostly perfect! there was no body roll or screeches when writing with it, the only noises I can hear is that sweet sound of a drafting mechanism from the pencil dispensing the lead, and a nice bonus is I got a nice amount of lead already to go inside the pencil and on my 0.5 it has a lead tube cleaner which is nice but sadly I didn't see it in my 0.7 model but I got way more lead in it so im good! and everything is very comfortable and light but you can feel the toughness while holding this pencil (like the good heavy duty mechanical pencil) but its also light so its a good balance between them! But don't get confused cause it is not top heavy so its like a neutral feeling. and overall its a great package and I can't wait to see how it performs in school on an everyday basis so yeah. and that also applies with the nib

~David, Happy drafting :D
PS thanks again to Dio..... I really appreciate a good review like that from you and from everyone!
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  As a mechanical pencil..., August 30, 2012
By dio...
As a mechanical pencil collector, I rate this 4 stars. It's very well building, but for me it's too light and the grip it's thin. I prefer heavier pencils with thicker grips. But, It's a personal like. If I would choose any pencil in the same price range, I'd get, for sure, a Pilot S10. Answering some dav.... question: you can use all lead hardnesses 0.5mm you want, the window it's just a reference to show you which kind of lead you're using. Anyways, it's a very good pencil with a reasonable price.
  Great pencil for drawing..., August 12, 2012
Great pencil for drawing and relies on pressure to bring out the different values; love that aspect. Great center of gravity and the slim fit in my hand is absolutely wonderful. Best deal for a JetPens drafting pencil.

Be careful with the tip; it damages easily and the metal is very malleable.
  yay received this pencil..., February 24, 2012
yay received this pencil today!! xD

I own the Smash, rotring 500 and now this. But I somehow prefer the graph 1000 over the smash; it somehow feels much more balanced than the smash.
  It's a great pencil;..., June 23, 2011
It's a great pencil; however, I dropped it and now it does not work properly. I advise people to be care and to make sure they do not dop this pencil. Or else it will be broken.
  so good i ordered the..., March 24, 2011
so good i ordered the 0.3mm version too, a solid pencil.