JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (43 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 29, 2011
When you stop and think...
Verified Purchase
When you stop and think about it, EVERYTHING is a phyllic symble. I s-u-p-p-o-s-e I could carry around a standard number 2 pencil in my DayRunner, But what fun would that be? Life, for me, is invoking a sence of envy and wonder in people. The funny thing about ENVY is that you don't have to be a millionare to have people cursing the day they were born because they don't posses what you own. Take the Pentel graph 1000 for Pro Drafting Pencil (black) for example. Im I a Draughtsman slaving over blueprints and needing a high tech, precision writing instrument, to make my lines more straighter? No. Draughtsmen use CAD software now days. Am I a graphic artiste who needs a balanced draughting instrument to insure my lines are perfect,perfect,perfect? Again, No!!!

I sport a Pentel graph 1000 for Pro Drafting Pencil simply because I like how it makes people envious of me. Yes, I am that shallow, but whattya going to do? Everyone has an IPAD these days and as for an IPOD or Iphone4G(s)...Big Yawn!!! But open up my Day Runner and 'causally lay' my Pentel Graph 1000 for Pro Drafting mech pencil on the conference table and EVERYONE GOES Oooooh!!! You don't know what kind of slimeball I am. Two weeks ago, we were in a staff meeting and the head archetect spied my Pentel mech pencil. I told him "Pick it up, notice how the body is aluminum and that the weight is SLIGHTLY over the nose? Notice that, unlike that Sta....... garbage, my Pentel 'doesn't eat lead every five minutes---and feel that throaty 'click' of its head---smooth?" He asked me "How much did you pay for this? $100.00? I said, Nah---less than $15.00. If it means that much to you, I would be honoured if you would take it as a gift. Really? A week later, he dropped $300.00 bucks on me or about a grand on the four of us (Meal, drinks, taxis and several paid lap dances). See? I got a fabulous Friday night for a lousy $14.00 investment and the staff now call me 'the guy with the cool office toys'. Imagion if I had something worth $100.00?!!! FYI, I bought two from JETPENS (great company) and my remaining Pentel rarely leaves my DayRunner. If you LOVE doodling during boring staff meetings---this is your MechPencil!!!

19 people found this helpful
 
August 18, 2011
Currently I have almost...
Verified Purchase
Currently I have almost finished my collection of all of the .05mm drafting pencils that JetPens has to offer with the exception of a select few. I would have to say that this pencil is up there in my top 5. It gets put through the rigors of being an engineer on a daily basis (i.e. more calculations and computations that many could imagine) and holds its own. The weight is nicely balanced and while it may look like th grip is lacking, the smoothness of the barrel paired with the tackiness of the rubber grip strips creates a unique grip that does not fatigue the hand. The pencil is lighter than some of the other metal body pencils out there which I thought at first would make it weaker, but Pentel hs outdone themselves with how well made this pencil is. I tend to be a bit picky when it comes to lead extension, as I am an avid two click person that does not like a ton of lead after those two clicks. This pencil hasgood lead extension and does not overextend. The click is smooth and effortless. I would highly recommend this pencil to anyone that is doing a lot of writing or drawing that wants a good pencil for a good price.

6 people found this helpful
cwschroed
 
April 7, 2009
I have tried for years...
Verified Purchase
I have tried for years to find perfect pencil and I have finally come to conclusion [even though I knew before but always thought could find something better] that Pentel does make the best pencils especially this one. It is so sturdy and light and has a nice nonslippery grip [most pencils with grips are slippery after using them for a while].

I think this pencil is abot 15 gm heavy [which is very light]---it would help if Jetpens would enter weight in standard measurements instead of archaic e.g ounzes as those are hard to figure out.

I have also concluded that this pencil and other Pentel Graph 1000 limited edition hold the graphite perfectly decreasing the chance of snaping the graphite. Also, another very important fact is that these pencils hold the most graphite pieces in them [I think if I remember I can fill around 20 pieces [but have not counted], therefore do not have to worry and carry replecemt with you.

So, now I have this baby and different color Graph 1000 limited edition ones to use with different color graphite or different hardness. You wont regret buying this pencil or almost any other Pentel pencil.

Before I forget, these pencils also have pretty large eraser when compared to other companies' pencils.

Maybe if this pencil was retractable it would really be 10 out of 10, so now its like 9.5/10 :). Anyway I have never had a problem [for years already] having a non-retractable pencils--I kep them in shirt pocket often or bag, not in front pocket of pants.

6 people found this helpful
dbajraktarevic
 
June 21, 2012
I intended to purchase...
Verified Purchase
I intended to purchase this pencil, based on my previous ownership of this pencil.If you are cleaning up drawing for animation, illustration, when scanned , drawing looks like it was done with pen and ink.This pencil has a strong tip so it can be pushed to the limit, but also well balanced for lighter roughing work...be aware and do not put it in back pocket, that will definitely break the tip part , that was the limit I was talking about. :(
I will order another pretty soon.

I highly recommended this pencil.

2 people found this helpful
 
February 15, 2011
I bought this a few weeks...
Verified Purchase
I bought this a few weeks ago and have been comparing it to my Alvin Draft/Matic. I noticed the Graph 1000 is super light weight in comparison and seems cheap to my Alvin Draft/Matic. The graph 1000 writes/draws well and looks super sleek, but again i prefer the Alvin Draft/Matic, because it has quality and a solid low center of gravity balance you can definitely feel.

3 people found this helpful
 
March 4, 2012
This mechanical pencil...
Verified Purchase
This mechanical pencil is definitely one of the best pencils in the world.

Actually it is regarded as the definite #1 emperor in my country, South Korea.

The grip, the knock, say anything good and it fits this pencil.


I bought 0.5 mm, but actually I recommend 0.4 mm model because it is hard to find a fine mech. pencil for 0.4 mm.



1 person found this helpful
 
September 8, 2011
great pencil, perfect...
Verified Purchase
great pencil, perfect for me, i'd definitely buy another, but prob won't. This thing is going to last me a while :P
Anyhow, i am an artist and a student. Artist POV, this pencil is probably the best thing I have ever bought, I am typically a hard line presser, and i like to have my hand flowing around, and this pencil is beyond light. It is wonderful... As a student, I just glide the pencil across my paper, it writes faster than when i write in pen because of its weight!

1 person found this helpful
sexynewbie
 
October 7, 2010
No idea what other people...
Verified Purchase
No idea what other people are saying. It is not too light. I think this is much better than the graphgear 1000, it is way too heavy, and i get a lot of strain since I write very small and fast. This has not caused that yet. And indeed you can see what your drawing perfectly. Grip works, quite a nice look too. .5mm for this is very nice. I heard .4mm was better, but i'd rather not have to buy lead ONLINE... I choose this over the graphgear 1000 because it allows me to write much more efficiently. Writes fine. The clicking sound is a itsy bit louder than normal mechanical pencils, buts its fine.

1 person found this helpful
sexynewbie
 
April 21, 2009
Not a bad pencil. Decent...
Verified Purchase
Not a bad pencil. Decent strength. Not what I wanted, though....

Looking for a replacement for a Koh-I-Noor Rapidomatic 0.5. Nothing comes close...

This one is too light. No feel around the tip, no spring, what happened to that?

To sum up: Too Light. If you like light pencils, you're in. I want heft....

1 person found this helpful
 
February 4, 2009
This is the best drafting...
Verified Purchase
This is the best drafting pencil I have used so far.
It is well balanced (the center of weight is about one centimeter from the upper end of the grip) and very lightweight. I thought that it would be much heavier, but in fact it is only slightly heavier than an all plastic pencil.
The grip is a very well designed one. It is quite hard to give a solid feel, but in the same time the rubber strips which do not stand out of the metal base that much allow a better grip on the pencil than a knurled piece of metal would allow.
The pencil's design is a very timeless and practical, yet elegant one. If the pencil was a sculpture, I would define it as modern or bauhaus.
The only negative point is the loud clicking noise of the mechanism, but it is not something that is too annoying. There are worse mechanisms.
Some feature that is rather surprising, but also quite practical is that when you have no lead in the internal clutch and press the advance mechanism, the vibrations of the clutch will propel the lead dust that is produced by the lead sticks rubbing against the edge of the fixed 4mm lead sleeve from the inside out of the tip. So I would say, it is self cleaning to a certain extend.

1 person found this helpful
ravencroaking