JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (43 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 26, 2014
This is the mech pencil...
Verified Purchase
This is the mech pencil that makes you stop longing for the perfect mech pencil and thinking oh I have to try yet something else . Because it is perfect. Perhaps not at a first glance, but once you start using it you´ll know. I´m pretty sure this is what perfect design is: it helps you to focus on your work instead of your tool. It has absolutely nothing distracting. The grip is very pleasant to the fingers - nothing too sharp/heavy/light/metallic/plasticky/slippery/rugged/wide/thin. It´s also a joy to behold in its understated ageless classiness. Buying this beauty will save you money because you will be content with what you have (such a rare experience, isn´t it...). You don´t have to use separate pencils for writing and sketching, because PG1005 is perfect for everything. Of course getting the .3 version will widen your possibilities, so that´s what I´m doing now... After that I will stop buying more mech pencils. I will. Really.

PG10004ever
 
May 11, 2014
I liked this pencil more...
Verified Purchase
I liked this pencil more when it was new. Don't get me wrong, it's a very precise and cool-looking tool that's had no trouble whatsoever on the inside. However, if your fingers are just a little sweaty, or you touched your face before you took this mechanical pencil then its rubber inserts are quickly becoming just as slippery as their absence would be. My second and last issue with this pencil is that after a year of so of not so intensive use, the rubber grips started making clicking sound when you squeeze and release the grip. It seems to me that the base of those rubber inserts is sticking and then coming off of whatever is underneath with the clicking/snapping sound, which distracts attention from drawing. One last note is that my other pencil, exactly the same one except it’s 0.7 mm did not make clicking sound when you pressed to extend the lead. As if something was missing in it from the start, wonder if it might be a quality control issue.

 
September 22, 2013
You can tell it has a...
Verified Purchase
You can tell it has a strong mechanism when you write/draw with it. Definitely a drawing/graphing pencil. The grip is not that comfortable and takes some getting used to. I recommend the Pilot S5 but this pencil has a better led indicator (if it matters to the buyer).

HiPatrickTrieu
 
September 5, 2013
Excellent pencil. I...
Excellent pencil. I own 6 or so .7mm pencils (including the outstanding Rotring 600) and still the one I keep coming back to is the Graph 1000. It is, IMO, what a good drafting pencil should look like. The nice ".7" on the cap end makes sure that I know exactly which pencil I'm grabbing. My only negative is that I wish it had more "heft" to it. It would be nice to see the barrel (body) be constructed of brass to give it some authority. Still, hands down, my favorite pencil.

 
August 2, 2013
I don't usually care...
I don't usually care to review items, but I felt the need to respond to one in particular from "sun..." as he/she seems to lack comprehension of how retail works, and is disparaging JetPens CS which has been nothing but awesome in my experience.

The label on this pencil is clearly a manufacturer label which JetPens does not apply, hence the Japanese characters, and manufacturer branding and barcode. Pretty sure they weren't BS-ing you on this one since the 0.3 mm size I bought at a local Japanese stationery shop has the same label. Keen eye buddy.

That said, unfortunately, they do use in-house labels for some other items, which are obviously printed with a laser printer and leave some residue. I contacted JetPens CS about the same thing and they profusely apologized for said residue, and gave some suggestions on how to remove it completely. But I mean really, as full-grown adults who live in a consumer society, I'm pretty sure the vast majority of us have figured out how to remove sticky residue from items we buy; it's not rocket science. Talk about first world problems.

/rant

Otherwise, this pencil is the bees knees for a high quality drafting pencil at a fair price. I have three different sizes (two of which I bought here after discovering the site) and I love them all. I normally prefer heavier all-metal pencils, but this is by far my favorite plastic model for light weight sketching.

 
March 22, 2013
Best drafting pencil...
Best drafting pencil I've used. Also the best Pentel pencil there is.

sonb.orders
 
November 11, 2012
This is the best pencil...
Verified Purchase
This is the best pencil I ever owned.

For those complaining that it is too light - there is a reason for that. The heavier the pencil, the higher the chances of a bent tip when dropped (like the rotring). One shouldn't have to gingerly handle the pencil, lest s/he drop it and bend the tip making it unusable, wouldn't you agree?

1 person found this helpful
 
October 7, 2012
This drafting pencil...
Verified Purchase
This drafting pencil is amazing. I don't know why, but I initially assumed it to be extremely light and somewhat flimsy, but that isn't the case at all! It's sturdy and it's slightly heavier (which I love) than the usual weight of general mechanical pencils. It has a sleek feel to it and fits comfortably in my hand. The grip is soft and feels really nice too, although I noticed it attracts a fair bit of dust to it, but that shouldn't be too much of a problem. My experience so far in using it for light sketching has been amazing.

deadly-claris
 
October 2, 2012
Really good quality....
Really good quality.

Visualarea.1
 
September 8, 2012
A looong time ago when...
Verified Purchase
A looong time ago when Amazon was just starting I had only three good pencils. This was one of them and I found it in nyc at Art brown. I loved it, and although now there are lots of pencils more fun it's hard not to appreciate the quality and design of this pencil. ( my other pencils were R600 and pentel kerry ).