JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (42 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 11, 2014
I liked this pencil more...
Verified Purchase
I liked this pencil more when it was new. Don't get me wrong, it's a very precise and cool-looking tool that's had no trouble whatsoever on the inside. However, if your fingers are just a little sweaty, or you touched your face before you took this mechanical pencil then its rubber inserts are quickly becoming just as slippery as their absence would be. My second and last issue with this pencil is that after a year of so of not so intensive use, the rubber grips started making clicking sound when you squeeze and release the grip. It seems to me that the base of those rubber inserts is sticking and then coming off of whatever is underneath with the clicking/snapping sound, which distracts attention from drawing. One last note is that my other pencil, exactly the same one except it’s 0.7 mm did not make clicking sound when you pressed to extend the lead. As if something was missing in it from the start, wonder if it might be a quality control issue.

 
September 22, 2013
You can tell it has a...
Verified Purchase
You can tell it has a strong mechanism when you write/draw with it. Definitely a drawing/graphing pencil. The grip is not that comfortable and takes some getting used to. I recommend the Pilot S5 but this pencil has a better led indicator (if it matters to the buyer).

HiPatrickTrieu
 
September 5, 2013
Excellent pencil. I...
Excellent pencil. I own 6 or so .7mm pencils (including the outstanding Rotring 600) and still the one I keep coming back to is the Graph 1000. It is, IMO, what a good drafting pencil should look like. The nice ".7" on the cap end makes sure that I know exactly which pencil I'm grabbing. My only negative is that I wish it had more "heft" to it. It would be nice to see the barrel (body) be constructed of brass to give it some authority. Still, hands down, my favorite pencil.

 
August 2, 2013
I don't usually care...
I don't usually care to review items, but I felt the need to respond to one in particular from "sun..." as he/she seems to lack comprehension of how retail works, and is disparaging JetPens CS which has been nothing but awesome in my experience.

The label on this pencil is clearly a manufacturer label which JetPens does not apply, hence the Japanese characters, and manufacturer branding and barcode. Pretty sure they weren't BS-ing you on this one since the 0.3 mm size I bought at a local Japanese stationery shop has the same label. Keen eye buddy.

That said, unfortunately, they do use in-house labels for some other items, which are obviously printed with a laser printer and leave some residue. I contacted JetPens CS about the same thing and they profusely apologized for said residue, and gave some suggestions on how to remove it completely. But I mean really, as full-grown adults who live in a consumer society, I'm pretty sure the vast majority of us have figured out how to remove sticky residue from items we buy; it's not rocket science. Talk about first world problems.

/rant

Otherwise, this pencil is the bees knees for a high quality drafting pencil at a fair price. I have three different sizes (two of which I bought here after discovering the site) and I love them all. I normally prefer heavier all-metal pencils, but this is by far my favorite plastic model for light weight sketching.

 
March 22, 2013
Best drafting pencil...
Best drafting pencil I've used. Also the best Pentel pencil there is.

sonb.orders
 
November 11, 2012
This is the best pencil...
Verified Purchase
This is the best pencil I ever owned.

For those complaining that it is too light - there is a reason for that. The heavier the pencil, the higher the chances of a bent tip when dropped (like the rotring). One shouldn't have to gingerly handle the pencil, lest s/he drop it and bend the tip making it unusable, wouldn't you agree?

1 person found this helpful
 
October 7, 2012
This drafting pencil...
Verified Purchase
This drafting pencil is amazing. I don't know why, but I initially assumed it to be extremely light and somewhat flimsy, but that isn't the case at all! It's sturdy and it's slightly heavier (which I love) than the usual weight of general mechanical pencils. It has a sleek feel to it and fits comfortably in my hand. The grip is soft and feels really nice too, although I noticed it attracts a fair bit of dust to it, but that shouldn't be too much of a problem. My experience so far in using it for light sketching has been amazing.

deadly-claris
 
October 2, 2012
Really good quality....
Really good quality.

Visualarea.1
 
September 8, 2012
A looong time ago when...
Verified Purchase
A looong time ago when Amazon was just starting I had only three good pencils. This was one of them and I found it in nyc at Art brown. I loved it, and although now there are lots of pencils more fun it's hard not to appreciate the quality and design of this pencil. ( my other pencils were R600 and pentel kerry ).

 
August 30, 2012
OK, now since I got my...
Verified Purchase
OK, now since I got my items from jetpets which is great! lets do a real review on how I like it, so first of all thanks to the person who answered my question I really appreciate it so thanks to Dio..... OK now on to the review so after waiting like almost a week in a half< not bad, I finally got the items now. This pencil at sight got me a bit worried about the nib and the grip but man was I wrong when I got it in person its amazing how nice the grip feels and the nib seems strong enough, but im set with keeping it safe and scratch free with the nomadic tri-fold also brought here on jetpets! and everything seems really nice and mostly perfect! there was no body roll or screeches when writing with it, the only noises I can hear is that sweet sound of a drafting mechanism from the pencil dispensing the lead, and a nice bonus is I got a nice amount of lead already to go inside the pencil and on my 0.5 it has a lead tube cleaner which is nice but sadly I didn't see it in my 0.7 model but I got way more lead in it so im good! and everything is very comfortable and light but you can feel the toughness while holding this pencil (like the good heavy duty mechanical pencil) but its also light so its a good balance between them! But don't get confused cause it is not top heavy so its like a neutral feeling. and overall its a great package and I can't wait to see how it performs in school on an everyday basis so yeah. and that also applies with the nib

~David, Happy drafting :D
PS thanks again to Dio..... I really appreciate a good review like that from you and from everyone!

davidcheung54