JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (15 customer reviews)
Write Review
February 19, 2011
Now to those that are...
Verified Purchase
Now to those that are looking for a good writing pencil. This is a drafting pencil it’s not designed to be held near the tip for writing. Drafting pencils are designed to be held a little further up so that when you are running along a straight edge or a template the lead is very close to the edge of it. If you are a person that holds a pencil close to the tip you will NOT like drafting pencils. If you are a person that holds your pencil a little further up the pencil this pencil has a great feel and weight to it.

First let me start off that I’m a Drafter (Board and CAD). Just like any other Artist we have our preferences of pens and pencils, myself I prefer the graphgear 500 the weight being focused near the tip allows me to keep a lighter touch even with the .3mm. Recently my faithful .3mm graphgear 500 (of 7 years) broke, the only place I have found it is here on JetPens. I ended up buying 3 500’s and 2 1000. I still like the 500 over the 1000 for drafting. However, to my surprise I find myself using the 1000 for calculations and writing over the 500, the retractable tip helps to guard it from bending, and “poking” my when I stick it in my pocket, plus the feel is very nice much like a nice pen. I do use different types of lead HB, 2B, and 2H the lead indicator is much nicer then the colored tape tied around the eraser cover. The lead size markings(are color coordinated too) on the eraser cover is very nice considering that all the different sizes are the same color barrel only the “rubber” is colored and is covered when in a pen holder. The clip is heavy duty and doesn’t feel like it’s going to break when you pull on it.

2 people found this helpful
Daniel_Netz
 
June 5, 2013
I chose the 0.3 mm Pentel...
I chose the 0.3 mm Pentel Graphgear 1000 based on its appearances. Knowing that during this semester's Architectural Drafting class we would would be required to complete a full set of ten drawings consisting of floor plans and elevation renderings. The "1000" from the surface had the look of a well constructed mechanical pencil. Much nicer the $7.00 - $9.00 pencils the other students purchased. At the outset the pencil performed excellent, producing the nice light lines needed for initial layout.
As it happened the Pentel eventually jammed to the point that I had to take the pencil apart. I was able to get the pencil working again but had to remove a small grommet which I believe was used to help feed the lead through the barrel, due to the fact that it would not fit back in place and was causing a blockage to the advancing lead. While examining the "Graphgear I also noticed that the barrel portion of the pencil that screws into the upper portion was made of plastic which would later prove to be the final and most obvious flaw.
The next problem arose when trying to engage a new lead, this often prompted another jam due to more than one lead trying to make its way through the feed mechanism.
Finally, on the second to last drawing the pencil fell from about 3 1/2 feet and snapped in two right at the top of the plastic threaded barrel intersection. It was irreparable at this point and I chose to complete my remaining drawings with my trusted 0.5 mm "Helix".

1 person found this helpful
 
March 25, 2006
this pencil writes beautifully...
Verified Purchase
this pencil writes beautifully and has an amazing exterior. very sturdy. love it.

1 person found this helpful
serena.zhan
 
August 12, 2013
The plastic housing of...
Verified Purchase
The plastic housing of the retractable tip broke in my bag. Didn't really like the pen so I bought the Rotring 600 0.3mm, loving that one :)

victorsundin
 
June 27, 2013
This is my third one....
Verified Purchase
This is my third one. I love the construction, the feel and the features.
But this pencil jams ALOT.
Got tired of unjamming it.

marty.com
 
March 16, 2012
Before I start I'd like...
Before I start I'd like to say that I bought this pencil primarily for writing. I write small and some of the books in which I annotate have small text, so I wanted something with 0.3mm lead. I'm not a drafter or artist, so keep that in mind.

The Graphgear 1000 is quite sturdy, sans one component: the clip. Be careful where you clip the pencil. If the pencil is moved side-to-side while clipped firmly to a pocket, the clip will loosen at its pivot point. Consequently the clip won't travel straight up and down when pressed, it will veer side to side which can get annoying. I know it is obvious, but I think it is worthwhile to note since the clip is a very crucial part of this pencil; without it, you cannot operate the retracting mechanism, which means you can't write with it.

Another unfortunate characteristic of the Graphgear is its weight distribution. Its center of gravity is roughly in the middle, which can cause fatigue unless you hold the pencil near the top of the grip section.

Also the tip (by which I mean the pointy metal thing), in my opinion, is a tad bit long. This is not something that just affects writing, but storage as well. If you advance the lead even just a little and retract the tip, lead will still stick out just a tiny bit. Most of the time you don't notice, but it can get caught on things and break.

Otherwise, the Graphgear 1000 is pretty well made. Depending on your usage, I would not hesitate to recommend it. However I can see some of its pitfalls being dealbreakers for some, so keep the criticisms in mind.

pulangpnoi
 
July 25, 2011
I find myself needing...
Verified Purchase
I find myself needing a new pencil. Why you ask? My 14 year old son as horrible handwriting (takes after Dad) so I got him an inexpensive 0.3 mm pencil. This helped his penmanship (heard so from his teachers). Unfortunately, the tip got bend after 5 months (he probably dropped it). So I gave him my Graphgear 1000 since it has the retractable tip. Well, I still like it so I am buying my own.

 
May 24, 2011
i just recently purchased...
i just recently purchased this pencil, the only bad thing, is there is no pipe cleaners, but using this for drawing a is really nice and the clicky thing is pretty awesome too, it's attractive, the grip is good and it's sure is one of the best pencils ever, it's well worth the price

sweetyoshimj90
 
February 21, 2010
this pencil looks beautiful...
Verified Purchase
this pencil looks beautiful and tough. i really like features of this pencil, push to show the tip and push pocket clip to hide it. This pencil is perfect for me because i draw on the go for a quick draft and easy to carry, very secure and well protect. i love it. However,there is one thing that i dont like is the weight of this pen. when i hold this pencil,weight has more at the end. i prefer to weight more at the grip but that is not really a big deal. i can live with that. For my final draft, i use pro-use platinum (recommend), well balanced through out the pencil. It just feel right for my hand.( a must have)
i recommend using 2B lead, from my past experience, 0.3 pencil comes with HB lead and HB lead is not give darker line, so i give a little pressure on the pencil to get an extra darkness and it breaks. So i tried 2B lead and i become a big fan of 2B lead, dark and smooth line as good as .5 mm.

psirinirund
 
January 12, 2010
Nice instrument and very...
Nice instrument and very sturdy! I have one in the 0.3 and it has been rock solid. I like a low grip, so for longer periods of writing I prefer my Super Promecha which allows me to adjust the sleeve length; however, the Pentel feels to be the better-built of the two in my opinion. I have had only one broken lead jam - but unfortunately there is no clearing pin included with the pencil (unless this is a characteristic of 0.3 pencils) and it took some work to clear. Otherwise a great pencil.