My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 5.0 (11 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  Now to those that are..., February 19, 2011
By Dan...
Now to those that are looking for a good writing pencil. This is a drafting pencil it’s not designed to be held near the tip for writing. Drafting pencils are designed to be held a little further up so that when you are running along a straight edge or a template the lead is very close to the edge of it. If you are a person that holds a pencil close to the tip you will NOT like drafting pencils. If you are a person that holds your pencil a little further up the pencil this pencil has a great feel and weight to it.
First let me start off that I’m a Drafter (Board and CAD). Just like any other Artist we have our preferences of pens and pencils, myself I prefer the graphgear 500 the weight being focused near the tip allows me to keep a lighter touch even with the .3mm. Recently my faithful .3mm graphgear 500 (of 7 years) broke, the only place I have found it is here on JetPens. I ended up buying 3 500’s and 2 1000. I still like the 500 over the 1000 for drafting. However, to my surprise I find myself using the 1000 for calculations and writing over the 500, the retractable tip helps to guard it from bending, and “poking” my when I stick it in my pocket, plus the feel is very nice much like a nice pen. I do use different types of lead HB, 2B, and 2H the lead indicator is much nicer then the colored tape tied around the eraser cover. The lead size markings(are color coordinated too) on the eraser cover is very nice considering that all the different sizes are the same color barrel only the “rubber” is colored and is covered when in a pen holder. The clip is heavy duty and doesn’t feel like it’s going to break when you pull on it.
I’m reposting this under the .4mm because I bought a .4mm at the same time. I have never really used a .4mm and sometimes the .3mm is just too small and .5mm is too big this is a perfect in-between size and great feeling writing pencil. I’m probably going to buy a couple more when I place my next order for more lead.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil if amazing...., November 20, 2013
This pencil if amazing. Nice and heavy, but not awkward. I highly reccomend it. I purchased this pencil from JetPens about a month ago and recieved a faulty product. Withing 12 hours of me contacting the costomer service, they had responded and already placed a replacement in the mail. Guys, this company is fantastic. Friendly, underpriced, three day shipping, and all around easy to work with. If you are debating whether to buy from this company or take a risk on ebay or amazon, don't. I will absolutely but from this company many, many more times. Thanks, JetPens!
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  By far my favorite mechanical/..., August 7, 2012
By jcq...
By far my favorite mechanical/drafting pencil. The .5's just wasn't thin enough - I thought wow, a 0.4 isn't that lead too thin. I am happy to say I was dead wrong. This is a FANTASTIC pencil. It works so well and can take a beating. The nice weight also makes it easy to use when drawing. One thing, watch out that you don't tighten the barrel too much when you are changing indicators!
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Before I get into the..., January 14, 2014
Before I get into the one >>titchy qualm I have about it, let me assure you that I think this is a fantastic pencil. It has a brilliant grip, excellent balance and the most satisfying nib retract mechanism I have ever heard. Disassembling it takes ten seconds and reassembling it takes ten seconds as well. The parts fit so tightly together and the all-metal casing feels so solid that I don't think this pencil will be breaking anytime soon. Unlike Uni's drafting pencils (which are also wonderful) the clip is indestructible. Pentel knew what they were doing when they made that clip. I use it ever day and I would certainly buy it again. But, there is one thing I am a >>tiny bit concerned about.

I am a pencil lead hoarder. It's a bit of an unconscious habit of mine, but whenever anyone in my family buys new pencils for whatever reason, they always get the kind that have an entire extra case of lead. They use the pencil and then once they're done with the lead in the pencil, either it gets lost and they buy another or they manage to find another piece of lead. In the end, though, I always end up with the pencil lead case. so far, I'd guess that I've accumulated about 75-150 pieces of standard 0.5mm lead, and it's still accumulating. I now have an entire section of my drawer dedicated to just pencil lead. The reason I'm bantering like this is that the 0.4mm lead used in this model of the Gg1000 is the furthest from standard of any lead. No-one uses it, ever. I am the only one I know who has a 0.4mm pencil. Thankfully, I have a case of 30 pieces of 0.4mm lead, and I know that if I run out, I could just buy some more from here, but that is kind of a hassle compared to just opening my drawer and finding plenty of lead there that I can just grab.

It's not a criticism of the pencil. I love the pencil. I think the pencil is one of the nicest I've ever used. But I do regret buying the 0.4mm on the spot because Kinokuniya didn't have any 0.5mm models like the fool that I am. In my opinion, if you were thinking about getting this pencil, unless you have a specific reason for using 0.4mm lead (There's nothing wrong with it, it's just not standard.) then I would say go standard. Get the 0.5mm one. Save yourself some time and shipping costs.

That's my rant for the week done. If you read through that entire thing without wanting to punch me in the face for dragging it on so long, then you are a champion and you deserve a gold star.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this as a replacement..., January 6, 2013
I bought this as a replacement for my Ohto Promecha 500P 0.4mm pencil which had its tip bent by a careless coworker. I can honestly say it is the best pencil I have ever owned! The retractable tip is perfect for protecting the pencil from damage if accidently dropped and the clip is very sturdy and well made. The grip is very comfortable and has just the right texture of rubber and metal for comfort and easy control when writing. I will be recommending this pencil to all my friends who are studying to become engineers!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this just to..., January 16, 2009
By crobc
I bought this just to have in my collection of 0.4mm pencils. I didn't expect to be able to use it for my main application which is technical design note writing and math, because it is too front heavy and heavy in general, and the grip, despite the rubber bumpers, is too abrasive for my comfort. These are personal taste aspects rather than criticisms of its quality though, so I still give it 5 stars. The pencil is simply beautiful, extremely well built, and a great show-off piece to lay on the table at a meeting. It is also a good field pencil since it retracts and so protects the tip. Finally, it also has Pentel's classic very short advance per click mechanism that I like.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  As a knitter who often..., September 26, 2013
As a knitter who often turns written patterns into charts, I was on the prowl for a solid, sturdy pencil with a lead size in between a .5 and a .3. Didn't even know one existed until I found this one. I am in absolute love with my pencil.
The lead size is perfect for drawing straight edges and knitting symbols on regular or knitter's graph paper.
The eraser is tiny but super effective in that mistakes literally disappear without scrubbing a hole in the paper.
The price did make me hesitate a bit, but the knitter and office supply junkie in me convinced me to splurge.
My boss now owns 2 of them, as well - one for work and one for school. Best pencil on earth if you ask me.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  i finally brought a 0.4mm..., April 25, 2012
i finally brought a 0.4mm pencil, they're really hard to find in the UK (pentel is the only one that manufactures the 0.4 types), i really find the colors really attractive and the style pretty awesome, it came with a pipe cleaner, and the pencil works beautifully so far, and it feels nice to use, write and draw with, the price is more expensive in comparison to my other mech pencils (the most i spent is £9.00 (about $14.40)), but it was well worth it though, imo
  I just received my order..., July 30, 2014
By vig...
I just received my order today and can I say what an amazing pencil it is already! I spent the last three hours testing, drawing and random writing to see what the capabilities of this magnificent pencil is. It's not too heavy (which I value a lot), it's sturdy, and the lead retracts when you open clip. It even lets you "label" (it has this cool feature where you can change the label of lead you have just in case you want to remind yourself what type of lead you have such as, HB, 2HB, B, etc.. By turning the grip! *^*) No wonder customers have given it terrific ratings! :D I definitely recommend this to you! (But I guess it depends on the customer..)
  I bought this pencil..., May 31, 2014
I bought this pencil for several reasons (currently, I use it to take notes and draw). Firstly, because it's a 0.4 mm pencil (0.4 mm!!!!). Secondly, the grip color was much prettier than the 0.3 mm version (I'm sorry, but the brown color is appalling). Third, because of the retractable tip. I've gone through several Graph Gear 500 pencils--all because they fell on the floor, and BAM. The metal tip is dented, and the pencil becomes unusuable.
With this pencil, I'm no longer worried about tip breakage--which is a huge plus. The pencil is weighted, but comfortably so. The grip is made of soft rubber (the blue bits) and metal, which is the perfect balance so that your hand doesn't tire out.
Also, my friend (who owns the 0.3 mm version) says that Pentel offers lifetime pencil warranty. LIFETIME. So if you break one of these pencils (as she has done), just send it in and they will send you a new one. FREE. OF. CHARGE.
So, to recap:
Gorgeous pencil.
Retractable tip.
LIFETIME WARRANTY FOR THAT PRICE.
Is it worth it? Yes. All the yes's.

[the only con I can think of is that 0.4 mm lead is not sold in most office supply stores. However Jetpens offers a good variety, so that's that.]

  The clip for these pencils..., February 11, 2009
The clip for these pencils are new and improved!

They now move about an axle which is just awesome. 5stars!