JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (54 customer reviews)
Write Review
July 18, 2011
I have the Pentel Graphgear...
I have the Pentel Graphgear 1000 in 0.5, 0.7, & 0.9.
Pros:
Very well made & just looks good. Color coded grips are appealing and helpful. Feels very precise. Retractable nib makes carrying it easy. Solid build, the clip is strong and gives a very satisfying "click" when the nib is retracted.
Cons:
Lighter weight than I expected (not a problem, more of an observation), wish the center of balance was closer to the front. The knurled grip is not quite knurled enough for me, but that's just personal preference & it works fine. Strange but true- the eraser gets very dirty unless the pencil is loaded with a very hard lead- maybe because this is more of a drafting pencil.

When I purchased this pencil I really wanted it to be my favorite, but it's not. But the set has a place in my desk & I use each of them regularly. Better suited to drafting than writing, this is a technical pencil that looks very cool & is a pleasure to use. A definite asset to any collection, you can't go wrong with the Graphgear 1000.

7 people found this helpful
shanehenrycpa
 
August 4, 2011
I've been using this...
I've been using this pencil for few days and it's excellent, I think most artists will love it. It has a nice weight, length, grip, everything you need for drawing, as well as good for writing.

Although if it weren't for these rubbers on the metal grip, it would be perfect. It feels fine but.. I'm not a very fan of rubber grips, as I know these will deteriorate over time and shorten the lifespan of the pencil.

5 people found this helpful
chihyunoh
 
September 14, 2006
My main dissatisfaction...
Verified Purchase
My main dissatisfaction with this pencil is that the tip piece screws into a plastic body piece, not a metal body piece as I had hoped it would, but that is a feature very few pencils have.

Other than that, it is an excellent pencil. It is unquestionably stylish, easy to hold, and has an excellent clip. The mechanism feels solid and reliable. The barrel above the grip is an attractive textured metal that is comfortable to hold in your hand.

This pencil is heavier than most, but a bit lighter than I guessed by the picture.

Overall, I highly recommend it.

4 people found this helpful
 
January 31, 2011
I love the pencil. To...
I love the pencil. To bad I lost it.

4 people found this helpful
davidpaekxd
 
July 19, 2011
I have this Pentel Graphgear...
Verified Purchase
I have this Pentel Graphgear 1000, the Uniball Kurutoga, and the (2) of the Uniball PipeShift mechanical pencils, all ordered from JetPens.

I have to admit, this is probably the best one of the bunch. I thought the Kura Toga would be the best, and it is very good, but this one is longer and feels more precise. It's all made of aluminum I believe, which gives it a sturdy dense feel, but it's not heavier than the Kura toga. It' super precise and has a flashy, durable, quality feel to it.

Definitely, one of the best pencils I ever used and I use it for writing.

2 people found this helpful
albertopizano
 
March 6, 2011
PENTEL is Definately...
Verified Purchase
PENTEL is Definately My Favorite Pencil Brand - High style/design & Top Quality-overall
I have the whole set of these pencils :) All ranging from lead thicknesses 0.3, 0.4, 0.5, 0.7 & 0.9
Incredible pencils i might say.
Best for drafters in Architecture, Interior Design, Landscaping Arch. Engineering, etc. You name it :) These are for you

*Not only are these pencil incased w/aluminum but they also last much much longer than any other "plastic" ones, & by the way did i mention these are "Aluminum" so they are light-weight aswell :)
*Grip is very good, has a lead desity indicator that you are able to rotate & set.
*The retractable tip is great so that the tips wont get damaged.

3 people found this helpful
 
February 11, 2014
This pencil is very convenient...
This pencil is very convenient but has one consequences.When you twist the lead marker too much, the retractability feature breaks and doesn't work until you untwist it. And sometimes, when you do a back load of lead, the lead barrel crushes the lead into tiny,unusable bits and wastes lead.

1 person found this helpful
 
April 22, 2013
The positive reviews...
Verified Purchase
The positive reviews are right. This is definitely one of the best mechanical pencils out there. In my experience, Pentel has the best lead sleeves by far. The lead sticks are so snug within the sleeve that it seems as though Pentel has a higher standard for manufacturing tolerances than other companies. Even the Rotring 600 and Rapid PRO series don't have this type of precision in the lead sleeve. So, rest assured, this pencil has that type of build quality (at least in the sleeve area).

Oddly, this seems to be a pencil that was built by visual designers. Whereas, say, the Ohto Super Promecha looks like a group of mechanical engineers got together and came up with the idea of turning an adjustable wrench into a pencil, the GraphGear 1000 looks like a team of graphic designers did an "exquisite corpse" project with a mechanical pencil. It's at once midcentury modern, 80's mod, early 2000's minidisc, etc. etc. Aesthetically, it doesn't really coordinate with itself, and yet it does. It's eccentric and cool.

Weight is in the center, which might be the only serious usability drawback. I prefer a front-heavy pencil (GraphGear 500, SuperPromecha, etc.) It's not a dramatic thing, but you do feel the top end of the pencil trying to force the tip away from the writing surface ever so slightly while writing or drawing. It isn't nearly as bad as the Rotring Rapid PRO, which I found to be almost unusable because of its strange balance and length.

Also, the plastic area underneath the retracting mechanism seems reliable, but plastic is plastic and there is a lot of torque in the spring used to keep the lead sleeve open. Sooner or later, it'll fail. Hopefully not within a couple decades, but it's tough to rate a pencil in this area without using it first.

The silicon ovals inlaid in the grip are nice and they do add a bit of mushy comfort, but I wish they weren't there. I tend to like all metal drafting pencils because there's a sense that they'll last indefinitely. With the silicon grip area, there's always a chance of deterioration in the future.


1 person found this helpful
charlestonjohnebay
 
March 1, 2011
I have never used a pencil...
Verified Purchase
I have never used a pencil as good as this one. It turns heads in the classroom and its just so cool. The retractable tip and the clip make this a five star product.

1 person found this helpful
josemessina10
 
December 28, 2010
I bought this pencil...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pencil along with a couple of the graphgear 500s, and it is by far my favorite pencil. It is sturdy, the grip is comfortable, and it just feels good in my hand. I would recommend this pencil to anyone, because they can't use mine!

1 person found this helpful
zabu.other