My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (52 customer reviews)
Write Review
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  I have the Pentel Graphgear..., July 18, 2011
By sha...
I have the Pentel Graphgear 1000 in 0.5, 0.7, & 0.9.
Pros:
Very well made & just looks good. Color coded grips are appealing and helpful. Feels very precise. Retractable nib makes carrying it easy. Solid build, the clip is strong and gives a very satisfying "click" when the nib is retracted.
Cons:
Lighter weight than I expected (not a problem, more of an observation), wish the center of balance was closer to the front. The knurled grip is not quite knurled enough for me, but that's just personal preference & it works fine. Strange but true- the eraser gets very dirty unless the pencil is loaded with a very hard lead- maybe because this is more of a drafting pencil.

When I purchased this pencil I really wanted it to be my favorite, but it's not. But the set has a place in my desk & I use each of them regularly. Better suited to drafting than writing, this is a technical pencil that looks very cool & is a pleasure to use. A definite asset to any collection, you can't go wrong with the Graphgear 1000.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I've been using this..., August 4, 2011
By chi...
I've been using this pencil for few days and it's excellent, I think most artists will love it. It has a nice weight, length, grip, everything you need for drawing, as well as good for writing.

Although if it weren't for these rubbers on the metal grip, it would be perfect. It feels fine but.. I'm not a very fan of rubber grips, as I know these will deteriorate over time and shorten the lifespan of the pencil.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  My main dissatisfaction..., September 14, 2006
My main dissatisfaction with this pencil is that the tip piece screws into a plastic body piece, not a metal body piece as I had hoped it would, but that is a feature very few pencils have.

Other than that, it is an excellent pencil. It is unquestionably stylish, easy to hold, and has an excellent clip. The mechanism feels solid and reliable. The barrel above the grip is an attractive textured metal that is comfortable to hold in your hand.

This pencil is heavier than most, but a bit lighter than I guessed by the picture.

Overall, I highly recommend it.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I have this Pentel Graphgear..., July 19, 2011
I have this Pentel Graphgear 1000, the Uniball Kurutoga, and the (2) of the Uniball PipeShift mechanical pencils, all ordered from JetPens.

I have to admit, this is probably the best one of the bunch. I thought the Kura Toga would be the best, and it is very good, but this one is longer and feels more precise. It's all made of aluminum I believe, which gives it a sturdy dense feel, but it's not heavier than the Kura toga. It' super precise and has a flashy, durable, quality feel to it.

Definitely, one of the best pencils I ever used and I use it for writing.
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  PENTEL is Definately..., March 6, 2011
PENTEL is Definately My Favorite Pencil Brand - High style/design & Top Quality-overall
I have the whole set of these pencils :) All ranging from lead thicknesses 0.3, 0.4, 0.5, 0.7 & 0.9
Incredible pencils i might say.
Best for drafters in Architecture, Interior Design, Landscaping Arch. Engineering, etc. You name it :) These are for you

*Not only are these pencil incased w/aluminum but they also last much much longer than any other "plastic" ones, & by the way did i mention these are "Aluminum" so they are light-weight aswell :)
*Grip is very good, has a lead desity indicator that you are able to rotate & set.
*The retractable tip is great so that the tips wont get damaged.
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I love the pencil. To..., January 31, 2011
I love the pencil. To bad I lost it.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil is very convenient..., February 11, 2014
By mvi...
This pencil is very convenient but has one consequences.When you twist the lead marker too much, the retractability feature breaks and doesn't work until you untwist it. And sometimes, when you do a back load of lead, the lead barrel crushes the lead into tiny,unusable bits and wastes lead.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The positive reviews..., April 22, 2013
By cha...
The positive reviews are right. This is definitely one of the best mechanical pencils out there. In my experience, Pentel has the best lead sleeves by far. The lead sticks are so snug within the sleeve that it seems as though Pentel has a higher standard for manufacturing tolerances than other companies. Even the Rotring 600 and Rapid PRO series don't have this type of precision in the lead sleeve. So, rest assured, this pencil has that type of build quality (at least in the sleeve area).

Oddly, this seems to be a pencil that was built by visual designers. Whereas, say, the Ohto Super Promecha looks like a group of mechanical engineers got together and came up with the idea of turning an adjustable wrench into a pencil, the GraphGear 1000 looks like a team of graphic designers did an "exquisite corpse" project with a mechanical pencil. It's at once midcentury modern, 80's mod, early 2000's minidisc, etc. etc. Aesthetically, it doesn't really coordinate with itself, and yet it does. It's eccentric and cool.

Weight is in the center, which might be the only serious usability drawback. I prefer a front-heavy pencil (GraphGear 500, SuperPromecha, etc.) It's not a dramatic thing, but you do feel the top end of the pencil trying to force the tip away from the writing surface ever so slightly while writing or drawing. It isn't nearly as bad as the Rotring Rapid PRO, which I found to be almost unusable because of its strange balance and length.

Also, the plastic area underneath the retracting mechanism seems reliable, but plastic is plastic and there is a lot of torque in the spring used to keep the lead sleeve open. Sooner or later, it'll fail. Hopefully not within a couple decades, but it's tough to rate a pencil in this area without using it first.

The silicon ovals inlaid in the grip are nice and they do add a bit of mushy comfort, but I wish they weren't there. I tend to like all metal drafting pencils because there's a sense that they'll last indefinitely. With the silicon grip area, there's always a chance of deterioration in the future.

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I have never used a pencil..., March 1, 2011
I have never used a pencil as good as this one. It turns heads in the classroom and its just so cool. The retractable tip and the clip make this a five star product.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this pencil..., December 28, 2010
I bought this pencil along with a couple of the graphgear 500s, and it is by far my favorite pencil. It is sturdy, the grip is comfortable, and it just feels good in my hand. I would recommend this pencil to anyone, because they can't use mine!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Pretty solid pencil...., December 26, 2010
Pretty solid pencil.
All-metal construction so that it won't be breaking in the near future.
Tip is too long.
---------------------------
Grip: Fantastic; the rubber dots on the grip make it very comfortable to hold, while the overall texture makes it non-slip

Clip: My favorite feature. It locks on to papers and other things securely. It is also the mechanism that keeps the vanishing point tip for the lead feed to stay out. When clicked, the vanishing point retracts.
*FUN NOTE* If you remove the cap concealing th eraser, and then retract the tip, it will launch the eraser out. I find this particularly entertaining.
---------------------------
Complaint: The distance from the grip to the point is too far. It requires me to write at an uncomfortably low angle compared to my regular writing style.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  A perfectly weighted..., November 27, 2010
By mee...
A perfectly weighted retractable pencil, this is by far my favorite mechanical pencil (the one I won't let ANYONE use). I got this while I was in architecture school and of all the nifty pens and pencils I've come across, this is the one I still use most, with a hard lead for writing. This is one smooth pencil...
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this pencil..., February 16, 2008
I bought this pencil under impulse mainly because I was sick and tired of my old Zebra 0.5mm mechanical pencils that kept shattering my lead under any form of pressure, an extreme hassle when trying to write very detailed Kanji or Korean characters. I upgraded to this pencil and it was a dream, so much that my friends who were initially skeptical, later was won over by this very same pencil. This pencil is a great drafting pencil, but I do very little sketching or drafting since I'm not an artist nor an engineer. I'm simply a person with a lot of letters to write. The grip is fantastic, it'll never slip, the pencil is heavier than most but I prefer it that way for the center of balance. The design is very well done and it's a lovely mesh of metal, but above all it's very distinct, people stare at if it were from another world. But by far the most important feature of this pencil is it's extended pencil sleeve, if you look at the very fine tip, the sleeve is longer than most, double my old zebra. This allows for lead to not break under pressure and allows for a much faster flow of writing. Since using this pencil for several months, it's been brutalized through dozens of philosophy tests, countless Korean/Japanese letters, and just English in itself, and it never flinched.
  After eating through..., March 13, 2014
After eating through drafting pencils like going through milk or other perishables in my house, I finally decided to get this pencil... 4 years ago. This decision came to be because it's heavier than most other mechanical pencils, and it's nearly all metal (some inside mechanisms aren't, but I'll get to that).

I'm an illustrator, and I've ONLY used this pencil for all my draft work. So for at LEAST 4-10 hours a day, this thing has taken a beating nearly every day for 4 grueling years, and it's performance is no less than excellent. I found myself nearly unable to use my backup Graphgear 500 because the weight difference through me off. The 1000 is nearly perfectly balanced, the grip feels natural (despite me not being the biggest fan of the little rubber oval grips) and the retractable lead shaft is fully protected in it's resting state.

The ONLY reason I gave this little masterpiece 4 out of 5 stars is that finally, after 4 years... it broke. As I said before, it's not entirely all metal, and there are some plastic screw threads that finally snapped inside of it, so the tip just falls off. I've maybe dropped this pencil possibly a few dozen times in my studio on an area rug, so it's my fault. I've guerrilla glued it back together, but that means I won't be able to take it apart to clean it unless I use a hammer and a handy crowbar. I'm sad to see it go, but I'm upgrading to a Rotring 600 (since the are all metal/brass).

PROS: (a lot, really).
-Heavier, and very well balanced.
-MOSTLY metal, and you can't really beat the price.
-Knurled grip is nice, and easy on my hands at least.
-Sturdy design, and can take a beating.
-Easy to find replacement erasers, something that has been a thorn in my side for other brands.

CONS: (just 3)
-When you retract the lead shaft, sometimes it retracts to fast it actually shot the eraser out of my pencil by 2 - 3 feet. Which I found hilarious, especially when I would use to shoot my friends. My pencil was 4 years old so maybe they improved on this.
-The plastic threads inside finally broke making the pencil unusable, but after years of heavy use, I'm happy it lasted this long.
-I hated those little oval rubber grips they put on the grip, drove me crazy... (this is not so much a con, just personal taste).

If you intend/thinking about buying the 1000, it's worth it. Yes, it's a "little" more expensive than many other pencils out there, but you'll have it for years, and if you only intend to use it sparingly, such as occasionally taking notes and whatnot, hell... the thing will probably live longer than you.

This is my very first online review, and while I normally don't do this, I understand the pressure of not wanting to waste 10-40 dollars on a pencil that you might hate when you get it. But I promise you can feel pretty confident with this little diamond in the rough. I will be writing another review when my Rotring comes in.
  One of my best pencils! It..., February 5, 2014
One of my best pencils!

It is really high quality. Feels nice to write with. The clip is a little but ugly, but I don't really care.
  i do like this pencil...., January 28, 2014
By jas...
i do like this pencil. the grip is fantastic and i never found any grips with the dots like it. its kind of heavy though. i dont feel like i can write as fast as i want when i use it. on the other hand, it may help me write more neat. hmmm. the clip is good for messing with if youre bored and not near easily annoyed people. i would buy it again if they made a lighter version
  First impressions, I..., January 8, 2014
First impressions, I like the longer than average barrel and retractable tip. After using it for a while, I noticed that the weight was generated too far to the back of the pencil then I liked. I would rather have the center of weight on the tip of the pencil. Also I feel that the grip should be all knurled and without the rubber patches. Lastly, it is hard to change the grade indicator, of all the pencils I've used the rotring 600 has the best idea of the indicator, right before the cap. Otherwise, it is a solid pencil. 3.75/5
  I found this pencil very..., December 10, 2013
I found this pencil very useful. The pen nib retraction is something that I think is the highlight of this pen. However the pencil's inside isn't all metal. Personally I found this annoying because one of the main reasons I bought this pencil was that I thought the pencil was a full metal pencil. But overall I think this pencil is very useful and cool.
  I got this pencil off..., November 17, 2013
By luo...
I got this pencil off of amazon because it was cheaper even with shipping. It is really nice and has a full metal body. It writes smoothly. The only con is that some inside parts are plastic, and the clip doesn't look as good.
  I ordered this pencil..., March 10, 2013
I ordered this pencil a while back, and it's great. The weight distribution of it is very centered, so you're hand doesn't get tired even after long bouts of writing. Sometimes the clip mechanism scares me, but it turns out it's very sturdy, and isn't going anywhere. The retractable tip is by far the best feature, as it makes it easy to carry around in your pocket, without worrying about damaging the tip of the pencil. It can hold about ten pieces of lead in the barrel with ease so you don't need to worry about running out of lead or carrying around refills. The indicator meter is not a separate mechanism, it is part of the front mechanism, so changing it is actually a little bit difficult. The eraser works well but gets dirty. I'd suggest just using a block eraser. The grip is good, and doesn't slip, but it is not as nice as a classic gnarled grip. I highly suggest this pencil, it's a great addition to any student or architect's collection.
  1st off, I like this..., March 1, 2013
1st off, I like this pencil mostly, but the thing that bothers me the most about this pencil makes it unpleasant to use. The length of it is fine, the weight of it is fine. I do like how it made with metal, gives it that upper tier feeling, love the lead indicator, the fact that the pipe can retract. Even the clip is strong, a little bulky but strong. But what makes it unusable for is the grip. Dont get me wrong, it looks cool, decent in theory even, but in my daily use, the grip is far too smooth. My fingers end up sliding down a lot, the the point that I just put it away and grab another drafting pencil. Mind you, I own many, many drafting pencils (more than I care to think about the amount of money I've spent on them), so I can say that if I hadn't thrown away the packing and used it (I tried using it for a month just to see if it would grow on me) I would have returned it. If I hold it just right, its manageable, but at that rate, I'm having to change my writing style for just this drafting pencil, which isn't enough reason to adopt to it. I have too many other pencils to use where I dont have to change my writing grip.

So thats my thoughts on it. Its cool, lots of good features, just wish that they would have made the knurling more aggressive and the rubber less predominant.
  It's a fantastic pen...., October 27, 2012
It's a fantastic pen. It looks sleek, it looks awesome, and it feels great. But writing with it quickly grows tiresome as the pen itself is just SO FRIGGIN HEAVY.
  This pencil was pretty..., May 13, 2012
By dar...
This pencil was pretty good for writing, but perfect for drafting. The only set back is that the grip is very hard.
  THIS PENCIL IS AMAZING!!! It..., January 25, 2012
THIS PENCIL IS AMAZING!!!
It is very to comfortable tool to write with as it has a PERFECT weight in my opinion.
The retractable tip is also very good to have as this protects the tip.
The clip is a movable one so you could clip this to a thick object such as a notebook.
  I bought one of these..., December 31, 2011
By t.s...
I bought one of these for the retractable tip. The mechanics works well with a very positive 'click and snap'. But I find this pencil to be too long with a bulky grip. The feel of this pencil in my hand is not comfortable at all. If it was'nt so long it would'nt need a retractable tip. To add to the unattractive appearance is a huge protruding pocket clip. I bought this pencil at the same time I bought my Alvin Draftmatic, which I have used extensively while this one has always sat in a jar. I have since moved on to the Staedtler 925. Try the Uni Shift, I have one and like it as well.