JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (55 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 26, 2010
Pretty solid pencil....
Verified Purchase
Pretty solid pencil.
All-metal construction so that it won't be breaking in the near future.
Tip is too long.
---------------------------
Grip: Fantastic; the rubber dots on the grip make it very comfortable to hold, while the overall texture makes it non-slip

Clip: My favorite feature. It locks on to papers and other things securely. It is also the mechanism that keeps the vanishing point tip for the lead feed to stay out. When clicked, the vanishing point retracts.
*FUN NOTE* If you remove the cap concealing th eraser, and then retract the tip, it will launch the eraser out. I find this particularly entertaining.
---------------------------
Complaint: The distance from the grip to the point is too far. It requires me to write at an uncomfortably low angle compared to my regular writing style.

1 person found this helpful
hippocheese14
 
November 27, 2010
A perfectly weighted...
A perfectly weighted retractable pencil, this is by far my favorite mechanical pencil (the one I won't let ANYONE use). I got this while I was in architecture school and of all the nifty pens and pencils I've come across, this is the one I still use most, with a hard lead for writing. This is one smooth pencil...

1 person found this helpful
meeshelles
 
February 16, 2008
I bought this pencil...
I bought this pencil under impulse mainly because I was sick and tired of my old Zebra 0.5mm mechanical pencils that kept shattering my lead under any form of pressure, an extreme hassle when trying to write very detailed Kanji or Korean characters. I upgraded to this pencil and it was a dream, so much that my friends who were initially skeptical, later was won over by this very same pencil. This pencil is a great drafting pencil, but I do very little sketching or drafting since I'm not an artist nor an engineer. I'm simply a person with a lot of letters to write. The grip is fantastic, it'll never slip, the pencil is heavier than most but I prefer it that way for the center of balance. The design is very well done and it's a lovely mesh of metal, but above all it's very distinct, people stare at if it were from another world. But by far the most important feature of this pencil is it's extended pencil sleeve, if you look at the very fine tip, the sleeve is longer than most, double my old zebra. This allows for lead to not break under pressure and allows for a much faster flow of writing. Since using this pencil for several months, it's been brutalized through dozens of philosophy tests, countless Korean/Japanese letters, and just English in itself, and it never flinched.

1 person found this helpful
harrytruong
 
November 14, 2014
This was a reorder of...
Verified Purchase
This was a reorder of my favorite mechanical pencil so I could have a second one to carry with me. Love the balanced weight and the good solid construction .

 
July 17, 2014
This pencil writes very...
This pencil writes very well. The lead doesn't break much. Had this pencil for 3 years and it's still holds. Everything is nice about this pencil expect the grip, that could use a little work but other than that it is awsome.

Bryantrock16
 
June 2, 2014
I love these pencils....
I love these pencils. I bought the 0.3, 0.4 and 0.5 in 2009 or so. After using them for over 4 years now I can say that they still hold up. The grips are still well situated with no signs of deteriorating anytime soon. I love the graphgear 500's but after using these I had to order the 0.7 and 0.9 to complete the set. They have a really nice weight and feel very precise and controlled. I use them for drawing figures, characters, designing and writing. My only gripe about this pencil is that the number on the eraser cap is applied as a little paper sticker. If this pencil bounces around in your pencil case for long enough those stickers will come off. I wish they had used proper paint or plastic insert for that part. Anyway I also own the Kuru Toga roulette and this pencil is leagues ahead due to its quality build, longer length and weightier feel.

oneika.russell
 
March 13, 2014
After eating through...
After eating through drafting pencils like going through milk or other perishables in my house, I finally decided to get this pencil... 4 years ago. This decision came to be because it's heavier than most other mechanical pencils, and it's nearly all metal (some inside mechanisms aren't, but I'll get to that).

I'm an illustrator, and I've ONLY used this pencil for all my draft work. So for at LEAST 4-10 hours a day, this thing has taken a beating nearly every day for 4 grueling years, and it's performance is no less than excellent. I found myself nearly unable to use my backup Graphgear 500 because the weight difference through me off. The 1000 is nearly perfectly balanced, the grip feels natural (despite me not being the biggest fan of the little rubber oval grips) and the retractable lead shaft is fully protected in it's resting state.

The ONLY reason I gave this little masterpiece 4 out of 5 stars is that finally, after 4 years... it broke. As I said before, it's not entirely all metal, and there are some plastic screw threads that finally snapped inside of it, so the tip just falls off. I've maybe dropped this pencil possibly a few dozen times in my studio on an area rug, so it's my fault. I've guerrilla glued it back together, but that means I won't be able to take it apart to clean it unless I use a hammer and a handy crowbar. I'm sad to see it go, but I'm upgrading to a Rotring 600 (since the are all metal/brass).

PROS: (a lot, really).
-Heavier, and very well balanced.
-MOSTLY metal, and you can't really beat the price.
-Knurled grip is nice, and easy on my hands at least.
-Sturdy design, and can take a beating.
-Easy to find replacement erasers, something that has been a thorn in my side for other brands.

CONS: (just 3)
-When you retract the lead shaft, sometimes it retracts to fast it actually shot the eraser out of my pencil by 2 - 3 feet. Which I found hilarious, especially when I would use to shoot my friends. My pencil was 4 years old so maybe they improved on this.
-The plastic threads inside finally broke making the pencil unusable, but after years of heavy use, I'm happy it lasted this long.
-I hated those little oval rubber grips they put on the grip, drove me crazy... (this is not so much a con, just personal taste).

If you intend/thinking about buying the 1000, it's worth it. Yes, it's a "little" more expensive than many other pencils out there, but you'll have it for years, and if you only intend to use it sparingly, such as occasionally taking notes and whatnot, hell... the thing will probably live longer than you.

This is my very first online review, and while I normally don't do this, I understand the pressure of not wanting to waste 10-40 dollars on a pencil that you might hate when you get it. But I promise you can feel pretty confident with this little diamond in the rough. I will be writing another review when my Rotring comes in.

ferguson_sd
 
February 5, 2014
One of my best pencils! It...
One of my best pencils!

It is really high quality. Feels nice to write with. The clip is a little but ugly, but I don't really care.

 
January 28, 2014
i do like this pencil....
Verified Purchase
i do like this pencil. the grip is fantastic and i never found any grips with the dots like it. its kind of heavy though. i dont feel like i can write as fast as i want when i use it. on the other hand, it may help me write more neat. hmmm. the clip is good for messing with if youre bored and not near easily annoyed people. i would buy it again if they made a lighter version

 
January 8, 2014
First impressions, I...
Verified Purchase
First impressions, I like the longer than average barrel and retractable tip. After using it for a while, I noticed that the weight was generated too far to the back of the pencil then I liked. I would rather have the center of weight on the tip of the pencil. Also I feel that the grip should be all knurled and without the rubber patches. Lastly, it is hard to change the grade indicator, of all the pencils I've used the rotring 600 has the best idea of the indicator, right before the cap. Otherwise, it is a solid pencil. 3.75/5

richard43ver