| Page 3 of 6 |  | 
After eating through...
March 13, 2014
After eating through drafting pencils like going through milk or other perishables in my house, I finally decided to get this pencil... 4 years ago. This decision came to be because it's heavier than most other mechanical pencils, and it's nearly all metal (some inside mechanisms aren't, but I'll get to that).

I'm an illustrator, and I've ONLY used this pencil for all my draft work. So for at LEAST 4-10 hours a day, this thing has taken a beating nearly every day for 4 grueling years, and it's performance is no less than excellent. I found myself nearly unable to use my backup Graphgear 500 because the weight difference through me off. The 1000 is nearly perfectly balanced, the grip feels natural (despite me not being the biggest fan of the little rubber oval grips) and the retractable lead shaft is fully protected in it's resting state.

The ONLY reason I gave this little masterpiece 4 out of 5 stars is that finally, after 4 years... it broke. As I said before, it's not entirely all metal, and there are some plastic screw threads that finally snapped inside of it, so the tip just falls off. I've maybe dropped this pencil possibly a few dozen times in my studio on an area rug, so it's my fault. I've guerrilla glued it back together, but that means I won't be able to take it apart to clean it unless I use a hammer and a handy crowbar. I'm sad to see it go, but I'm upgrading to a Rotring 600 (since the are all metal/brass).

PROS: (a lot, really).
-Heavier, and very well balanced.
-MOSTLY metal, and you can't really beat the price.
-Knurled grip is nice, and easy on my hands at least.
-Sturdy design, and can take a beating.
-Easy to find replacement erasers, something that has been a thorn in my side for other brands.

CONS: (just 3)
-When you retract the lead shaft, sometimes it retracts to fast it actually shot the eraser out of my pencil by 2 - 3 feet. Which I found hilarious, especially when I would use to shoot my friends. My pencil was 4 years old so maybe they improved on this.
-The plastic threads inside finally broke making the pencil unusable, but after years of heavy use, I'm happy it lasted this long.
-I hated those little oval rubber grips they put on the grip, drove me crazy... (this is not so much a con, just personal taste).

If you intend/thinking about buying the 1000, it's worth it. Yes, it's a "little" more expensive than many other pencils out there, but you'll have it for years, and if you only intend to use it sparingly, such as occasionally taking notes and whatnot, hell... the thing will probably live longer than you.

This is my very first online review, and while I normally don't do this, I understand the pressure of not wanting to waste 10-40 dollars on a pencil that you might hate when you get it. But I promise you can feel pretty confident with this little diamond in the rough. I will be writing another review when my Rotring comes in.
ferguson_sd
One of my best pencils! It...
February 5, 2014
One of my best pencils!

It is really high quality. Feels nice to write with. The clip is a little but ugly, but I don't really care.
i do like this pencil....
January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase
i do like this pencil. the grip is fantastic and i never found any grips with the dots like it. its kind of heavy though. i dont feel like i can write as fast as i want when i use it. on the other hand, it may help me write more neat. hmmm. the clip is good for messing with if youre bored and not near easily annoyed people. i would buy it again if they made a lighter version
First impressions, I...
January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase
First impressions, I like the longer than average barrel and retractable tip. After using it for a while, I noticed that the weight was generated too far to the back of the pencil then I liked. I would rather have the center of weight on the tip of the pencil. Also I feel that the grip should be all knurled and without the rubber patches. Lastly, it is hard to change the grade indicator, of all the pencils I've used the rotring 600 has the best idea of the indicator, right before the cap. Otherwise, it is a solid pencil. 3.75/5
richard43ver
I found this pencil very...
December 10, 2013
I found this pencil very useful. The pen nib retraction is something that I think is the highlight of this pen. However the pencil's inside isn't all metal. Personally I found this annoying because one of the main reasons I bought this pencil was that I thought the pencil was a full metal pencil. But overall I think this pencil is very useful and cool.
kevin0207
It is really nice and...
November 17, 2013
It is really nice and has a full metal body. It writes smoothly. The only con is that some inside parts are plastic, and the clip doesn't look as good.
I ordered this pencil...
March 10, 2013
I ordered this pencil a while back, and it's great. The weight distribution of it is very centered, so you're hand doesn't get tired even after long bouts of writing. Sometimes the clip mechanism scares me, but it turns out it's very sturdy, and isn't going anywhere. The retractable tip is by far the best feature, as it makes it easy to carry around in your pocket, without worrying about damaging the tip of the pencil. It can hold about ten pieces of lead in the barrel with ease so you don't need to worry about running out of lead or carrying around refills. The indicator meter is not a separate mechanism, it is part of the front mechanism, so changing it is actually a little bit difficult. The eraser works well but gets dirty. I'd suggest just using a block eraser. The grip is good, and doesn't slip, but it is not as nice as a classic gnarled grip. I highly suggest this pencil, it's a great addition to any student or architect's collection.
1st off, I like this...
March 1, 2013
1st off, I like this pencil mostly, but the thing that bothers me the most about this pencil makes it unpleasant to use. The length of it is fine, the weight of it is fine. I do like how it made with metal, gives it that upper tier feeling, love the lead indicator, the fact that the pipe can retract. Even the clip is strong, a little bulky but strong. But what makes it unusable for is the grip. Dont get me wrong, it looks cool, decent in theory even, but in my daily use, the grip is far too smooth. My fingers end up sliding down a lot, the the point that I just put it away and grab another drafting pencil. Mind you, I own many, many drafting pencils (more than I care to think about the amount of money I've spent on them), so I can say that if I hadn't thrown away the packing and used it (I tried using it for a month just to see if it would grow on me) I would have returned it. If I hold it just right, its manageable, but at that rate, I'm having to change my writing style for just this drafting pencil, which isn't enough reason to adopt to it. I have too many other pencils to use where I dont have to change my writing grip.

So thats my thoughts on it. Its cool, lots of good features, just wish that they would have made the knurling more aggressive and the rubber less predominant.
ericgustafson2004
It's a fantastic pen....
October 27, 2012
Verified Purchase
It's a fantastic pen. It looks sleek, it looks awesome, and it feels great. But writing with it quickly grows tiresome as the pen itself is just SO FRIGGIN HEAVY.
dragonphlusolaris
This pencil was pretty...
May 13, 2012
This pencil was pretty good for writing, but perfect for drafting. The only set back is that the grip is very hard.
darshanwii
 | Page 3 of 6 |  |