JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (55 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 10, 2013
I found this pencil very...
I found this pencil very useful. The pen nib retraction is something that I think is the highlight of this pen. However the pencil's inside isn't all metal. Personally I found this annoying because one of the main reasons I bought this pencil was that I thought the pencil was a full metal pencil. But overall I think this pencil is very useful and cool.

kevin0207
 
November 17, 2013
I got this pencil off...
I got this pencil off of amazon because it was cheaper even with shipping. It is really nice and has a full metal body. It writes smoothly. The only con is that some inside parts are plastic, and the clip doesn't look as good.

 
March 10, 2013
I ordered this pencil...
I ordered this pencil a while back, and it's great. The weight distribution of it is very centered, so you're hand doesn't get tired even after long bouts of writing. Sometimes the clip mechanism scares me, but it turns out it's very sturdy, and isn't going anywhere. The retractable tip is by far the best feature, as it makes it easy to carry around in your pocket, without worrying about damaging the tip of the pencil. It can hold about ten pieces of lead in the barrel with ease so you don't need to worry about running out of lead or carrying around refills. The indicator meter is not a separate mechanism, it is part of the front mechanism, so changing it is actually a little bit difficult. The eraser works well but gets dirty. I'd suggest just using a block eraser. The grip is good, and doesn't slip, but it is not as nice as a classic gnarled grip. I highly suggest this pencil, it's a great addition to any student or architect's collection.

 
March 1, 2013
1st off, I like this...
1st off, I like this pencil mostly, but the thing that bothers me the most about this pencil makes it unpleasant to use. The length of it is fine, the weight of it is fine. I do like how it made with metal, gives it that upper tier feeling, love the lead indicator, the fact that the pipe can retract. Even the clip is strong, a little bulky but strong. But what makes it unusable for is the grip. Dont get me wrong, it looks cool, decent in theory even, but in my daily use, the grip is far too smooth. My fingers end up sliding down a lot, the the point that I just put it away and grab another drafting pencil. Mind you, I own many, many drafting pencils (more than I care to think about the amount of money I've spent on them), so I can say that if I hadn't thrown away the packing and used it (I tried using it for a month just to see if it would grow on me) I would have returned it. If I hold it just right, its manageable, but at that rate, I'm having to change my writing style for just this drafting pencil, which isn't enough reason to adopt to it. I have too many other pencils to use where I dont have to change my writing grip.

So thats my thoughts on it. Its cool, lots of good features, just wish that they would have made the knurling more aggressive and the rubber less predominant.

ericgustafson2004
 
October 27, 2012
It's a fantastic pen....
Verified Purchase
It's a fantastic pen. It looks sleek, it looks awesome, and it feels great. But writing with it quickly grows tiresome as the pen itself is just SO FRIGGIN HEAVY.

dragonphlusolaris
 
May 13, 2012
This pencil was pretty...
This pencil was pretty good for writing, but perfect for drafting. The only set back is that the grip is very hard.

darshanwii
 
January 25, 2012
THIS PENCIL IS AMAZING!!! It...
Verified Purchase
THIS PENCIL IS AMAZING!!!
It is very to comfortable tool to write with as it has a PERFECT weight in my opinion.
The retractable tip is also very good to have as this protects the tip.
The clip is a movable one so you could clip this to a thick object such as a notebook.

brianli1999
 
December 31, 2011
I bought one of these...
I bought one of these for the retractable tip. The mechanics works well with a very positive 'click and snap'. But I find this pencil to be too long with a bulky grip. The feel of this pencil in my hand is not comfortable at all. If it was'nt so long it would'nt need a retractable tip. To add to the unattractive appearance is a huge protruding pocket clip. I bought this pencil at the same time I bought my Alvin Draftmatic, which I have used extensively while this one has always sat in a jar. I have since moved on to the Staedtler 925. Try the Uni Shift, I have one and like it as well.

 
December 11, 2011
Amazing. It combines...
Amazing. It combines looks with performance. Just amazing

bennettzhu
 
November 6, 2011
This broke on me pretty...
This broke on me pretty quick. The retractable tip is why I bought it. The metal clip on the side catches a plastic piece in the inner workings of the pencil. Lifting the clip retracts the tip. That plastic catch chipped, so the damn thing won't stay opened(I tape it down to keep it opened now). hy you would have everything sturdy metal exept the most important part of the pencil is beyond me. I went in wanting to love this thing, but in all honesty....the center of gravity kind of sucks on this....weight is off or something. It's also fussy when feeding .5 blueline lead...something I use extensively in my reproduction art. I've bought a lot of drafting pencils/mechanical pencils....I've found that price really doesn't make a difference, the cheap light plastic ones work great...the more metal the more they seem to mess up. Don't spend over 6 dollars on a pencil (theres a blue pentel .5 with a purple grip and blue cap over the eraser...one of my favs.)

1 person found this helpful