JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
November 4, 2011
The Pentel Graphgear...
Verified Purchase
The Pentel Graphgear 500 is an excellent Drafting pencil for drafters. Obviously, as the 4mm lead sleeve is very fragile, extreme care is required, or else a little drop will ruin your 5 dollar pencil. The factory lead is nice & hard, wears fairly nice, and doesn't smudge (Great if you're a lefty). If you're going to bring the Pentel Graphgear 500 to a public place, don't flash your pencil to other people, unless you do want attention from people( " peasants " ) using cheap mechanical pencils. The Pentel Graphgear 500's eraser works decently, however as with most drafting pencils, the erasers are for well... minuscule mistakes, not for erasing an entire essay, or paragraph; for those duties, I use separate block erasers.

The grip has good traction and isn't too rough, however extended use will hurt your fingers.

The weight of the Pentel Graphgear 500 isn't heavy , but it is pretty substantial, especially when you compare the weight to the Pentel Graph 1000 for pro. The Graphgear 500 is top-heavy, and if it does fall, it'll fall tip down, damaging your tip, rendering your Graphgear 500 unusable. ( as brown, plastic barrel is very light, and the metal grip is pretty heavy)

A negative aspect of this pencil is the easily removable clip, as the clip would easily fall off whenever you actually get to use it. That being said, it does give you the option of working without a clip. I also don't like the awkward transition from the barrel to the grip.

If you want something durable, reliable, "fancy", entertaining to stare at when you're bored,and are willing to take care of your Pentel Graphgear 500, I'd highly recommend the Pentel Graphgear 500. If you're looking for something cheap, extremely expensive, light, very heavy, or easily breakable, then I'd not recommend the Pentel Graphgear 500. That being said, the tip is still fragile, and needs some care.

I'd also like to thank Jet pens, for the " Speedy Gonzales" super quick shipping. If your interested in this Pentel Graphgear 500, I'd get yours now, before the Pentel Graphgear 500 gets sold out.

4 people found this helpful
 
March 23, 2010
I bought this pencil...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pencil for it's unique "syringe" like design. Pentel ruined the design by adding a capped end on the new revised models. You gain a lead hardness indicator, but aesthetically it looks worse. The plunger cap complements the needle nose tip on this design.
For me personally it's not the most comfortable to write with, since I like to grip the pencil as close to tip as possible. For me the thicker barrel at the grip and it's unique needle nose tip are not conducive to comfort... for ME. For most this won't be a problem. I also don't like the unseamly look of where the hexagonal barrel meets the tubular metal grip. However These are very minor criticisms based on personel preferences.
Overall, it has good weight thanks to the metal knurled grip. It's a short pencil at 141mm. It has Pentel's quality brass clutch lead advance mechanism. It's relatively inexpensive and it's got a good-looking profile.

3 people found this helpful
heretic24712
 
February 7, 2011
Great pencil. Recommend...
Great pencil. Recommend for drawing.

2 people found this helpful
 
October 23, 2010
My new favorite pencil....
Verified Purchase
My new favorite pencil. I've been using it for months now and it is very reliable - never gives me any problems at all. Leads last a lot longer that I thought they would. Feels great, easy to handle. It's much better than pencils I paid much more for.

3 people found this helpful
Miller904
 
April 16, 2009
This is simply a great...
This is simply a great pencil. It doesn't have a lot of features, but those are often superfluous anyway. It, like most Pentel drafting pencils, projects just a fraction of a mm of lead for each press, giving you control over the amount of lead you use. It's bottom heavy, having a metal grip and plastic upper body, which translates into great control. I think you'd be hard pressed to find a better pencil for $5.50.

To the previous reviewer, yes, it does have an eraser.

3 people found this helpful
 
February 6, 2014
While this isn't an all...
While this isn't an all aluminum fancy pants pencil, it is a really great option that has an excellent lead advance action and a really great balance. I have used it for writing essays as well as computations - it works well for any writing and is comfortable and balanced for extended use.

I am especially fond of this pencil because of how easy it is to remove the clip. I often rotate my pencils ever so slightly as I write and the clip is often an annoying part of a pencil for me. I break clips off when they can't be removed like this one can. So that is a nice feature.

However, it is not the best candidate for carrying in your backpack or pocket. The nib is 4mm long and easily bent. When the nib gets bent the pencil is still useable, but the lead breaks very easily - especially 0.3mm lead. After bending the nib, one needs to spend a couple minutes re-aligning it so that you aren't driven crazy by constantly breaking lead.

So, except for the delicate nib not suited for pocket carry - this is a great buy.

nick.brown.ttu
 
March 31, 2013
I purchased the Graphgear...
Verified Purchase
I purchased the Graphgear 500 to replace my previous daily use pencil, the Pentel P200 series, and because it had a knurled grip. After trying most of the 0.5mm drafting pencils that Jetpens has to offer, this series is my favorite.

Pros:
-Eraser cap stays in place
-Clip is removable (I do not like clips on my drafting pencils, as when I turn them they dig into my skin)
-Solid "click" sound
-Plastic body is strong enough to not bend under writing (in fact, this pencil and the more expensive Pentel Graphlet shar everything except the grips)
-The grip is the a comfortable knurling (the closest I have found to the Rotring 600's knurling)
-View of the lead is absolutely superb, yet the tip is still strong
-The balance is towards the tip, making it easier to guide the pencil as apposed to forcing it
-Very durable all around
-It's appealing to look at, and people notice the syringe-like look as an example of quality and precision

Cons:
-Not pocket safe (I make a little cap out of heat-shrink tubing to protect the tip and my pockets)
-Slightly awkward at first due to the difference in size of the grip to the shaft
-Sometimes the end cap/lead sleeve will annoyingly rattle, but it more often does not

I do recommend this pencil, for the price you get a knurled grip, very solid mechanism, perfect weight balance, and a very durable pencil. I own all of these pencils, and they all see use. The 0.5 is my personal favorite, however this pencil is excellent as far as .3 mm pencils go.

Ryan.Dix.2018
 
January 21, 2013
This is the best place...
This is the best place to buy this pencil. Every where else that has it has it, but for dollars more. I got one from somewhere else, before I knew that JetPens has this. It worked so well someone stole it.

ilovebaseball8
 
February 3, 2009
Does this have an eraser...
Does this have an eraser in the back? Or not. I was just wondering because i hope it does. Well respond back thank you.

luck-o-the-irish
 
January 12, 2009
Got a set of these delivered...
Verified Purchase
Got a set of these delivered today and here are some thoughts..

First of all, thank you JetPens for a speedy delivery as always!

The overall design on this pencil is nice and simple, which I prefer.. The one feature that stands out is pretty obvious: it's got a decent, all-metal grip on it which looks to be pretty durable judging solely on the 'heaviness' alone.

The barrel however, was a slight let-down due to the fact that it's all plastic up to the tip where the thread fits the grip. It's okay though, I just wanted to mention it in case anybody thinks it's metal throughout; guess the price gives that away..

Overall, its a solid pencil worthy of the most technical of tasks and is surely quite unique compared to 99% of the pencils you'd find at your local office supplier.

typestereo