JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 15, 2011
The drafting pencil's...
The drafting pencil's biggest upside is definitely how durable and virtually unbreakable it is. I have a tendency to kind of...beat up my pencil cases throughout the year because I bring it with me everywhere. It gets scribbled on, dropped, lost several times, and the reoccurring event of exploding pens. =_= (It always happens and I don't know why)

My other mechanical pencils, erasers, etc break into several pieces or gets so contaminated with lead I can not use it anymore. BUT this pencil NEVER EVER breaks or even dents. I was amazed by the pencil! :O

BUUUUUT there is a big disadvantage too. Maybe it's just me, but I couldn't get used to holding it. Mainly because the grip is slippery and strange to the fingers.
Also,
I think it's hilarious that any erasable writing utensil always gets an eraser unfit for how much the person will use it. The eraser is suuuuper tiny! Seriously, not even a centimeter. It goes away quick. Sure you can get refills but every week?

Overall, GREAT durability but kinda awkward to hold~

3 people found this helpful
amethystgem123
 
March 24, 2013
I purchased the Graphgear...
Verified Purchase
I purchased the Graphgear 500 to replace my previous daily use pencil, the Pentel P205, and because it had a knurled grip. After trying most of the 0.5mm drafting pencils that Jetpens has to offer, this pencil is my favorite.

Pros:
-Eraser cap stays in place
-Clip is removable (I do not like clips on my drafting pencils, as when I turn them they dig into my skin)
-Solid "click" sound
-Plastic body is strong enough to not bend under writing (in fact, this pencil and the more expensive Pentel Graphlet shar everything except the grips)
-The grip is the a comfortable knurling (the closest I have found to the Rotring 600's knurling)
-View of the lead is absolutely superb, yet the tip is still strong
-The balance is towards the tip, making it easier to guide the pencil as apposed to forcing it
-Very durable all around
-It's appealing to look at, and people notice the syringe-like look as an example of quality and precision

Cons:
-Not pocket safe (I make a little cap out of heat-shrink tubing to protect the tip and my pockets)
-Slightly awkward at first due to the difference in size of the grip to the shaft
-Sometimes the end cap/lead sleeve will annoyingly rattle, but it more often does not

I do recommend this pencil, for the price you get a knurled grip, very solid mechanism, perfect weight balance, and a very durable pencil.

2 people found this helpful
Ryan.Dix.2018
 
March 1, 2013
I like this drafting...
I like this drafting pencil enough that if I blindly grab it out of my stash of drafting pencils, I wont drop it and pick up another. I would have given it more stars, but theres a few things that I would like to see on it to get 5 stars.

Pros:
Length - This is a goo length, I havent noticed that it was too long or short, so length is fine.
Weight - It's on the lighter side, but weight really isnt an issue with me in any drafting pencils.
Construction - The grip part is metal, knurled nicely, no issue gripping it while writing (for classes or work). The body is plastic, but its strong enough. I wouldnt use it as a prybar, not really sure how many really snap their pencils on a regular basis, if they do, might need to carry their writing instruments elsewhere. Though one bad thing about the body, but I'll post that in the con part.
Clip - Clip is pretty much standard, it'll hold, but if you bend it, you pretty much lost the ability of using it without really knowing how to bend the clip back to the curvature that it needs to be to be functional (if you do, not end of world, just now it wont have a clip).
Cap - On mine, its a tight fit. Again, I dont take it off and on a lot during my use, I really only take the cap off to fill it up or if I have to erase several mm of pencil markings. I use a different eraser for erasing.
Lettering - The lettering on the body is holding up, I havent had it for years, only about 6mo and so far its holding up.
Pipe length - depending on how you hold your pencils, it can either be a little on the long side or not a problem. The pipe length really isnt the issue, as most drafting pencils have this pipe length, but how the whole tip is with the pipe length. For me, its fine.


Cons:
Body - Not that its plastic, but that where it screws into the metal grip will unscrew at times. It'll only unscrew a little before I notice it, but it happens enough to make me want to put some blue lock on it. I havent had to take apart a drafting pencil in about 15yrs, so wouldnt think it'd be bad to put some kind of mechanic screw lock on it.
Lead Indicator - none, thats the problem.


Overall, its a decent pencil, I have the 0.3mm & 0.5mm and like them both. Will be completing the set here shortly.

2 people found this helpful
ericgustafson2004
 
February 7, 2011
Its a good pencil with...
Verified Purchase
Its a good pencil with a great grip worth the price. You can change the lead mode too. But you cant unscrew the tip. It a has great eraser. Great for pen spinning.The grip is fantastic very good for writing. Highly recommend. Great for drafting and drawing. If you draw you should get a 0.3 one.

1 person found this helpful
 
December 5, 2012
Awkward. My one complaint...
Verified Purchase
Awkward. My one complaint is with the weight. Super heavy grip, super light end. I own a Rotring 600 and a Pentel Graph 1000 which are fabulously weighted but of course they are slightly more expensive. The pencil would be perfect if they made the shaft just slightly thicker and in aluminum or something a little more substantial than just thin plastic. Had to give it away. Other than that I have no complaints. Sturdy, good design. It's so close. But if you're not so critical on balance, and more on just having a decent drafting pencil, you'll like it. Good thing? It's cheap.

cstein1995
 
October 20, 2012
I like this pencil a...
I like this pencil a lot, it's managed to survive with me for a whole year so far, and I hope it won't get lost like all my other pencils :P!

The Pentel Graphgear 500 has it's pros and cons, though. The pros (for me);

- How indestructible it is. It's very durable (I dropped it once on it's point, but with a tiny tweak the tip straightened and it's never bent since! This is one of those rare pencils that can bounce back from an injury. I also like this grip, it might look painful and awkward but my fingers have liked it from the start.)

- It's weight. It's not insanely heavy, but it still settles in your hand comfortably. I like to clip my pencils to my shirt collar, and this pencil lets me do that since it's not so heavy that it tugs my shirt downwards but still has a nice heft to it.

- It's reliablity. This little guy hasn't choked on lead ONCE since I've had it, I kid you not! The clicking mechanism is very sound on this pencil, which is a MAJOR relief - who likes a lead-crunching pencil?! (not me!)

~

The cons;

- The clip. It slides on and off, which is nice for people who dislike the clip, but I personally like the clip and this pencil's clip tends to be a bit slippery.

- The eraser, but this is a complaint I have about a lot of pencils in general. The eraser is pretty small and short, and if you push down hard when you erase (like I do), the eraser slides in sometimes, which I find a bit annoying. However, my personal solution to this issue was to get a Pentel Tri-Eraser (a precision eraser who's unique triangular shape ensures you always have a precise tip to erase with), and now I save my GraphGear 500's eraser for small mistakes :).

yuki.morgan
 
September 12, 2012
This is the best pencil...
This is the best pencil I own over 400+ mechanical pencils too I use it for drawing on Bristol Board.
I used to favor the Pentel Kerry but I find my drawing look too Bloopy with it cause it's wider.
This pencil is perfect except how the metal grip attaches only like 1/3 of a inch of plastic threads.
Otherwise this pencil is perfect. I own like 18 of these =)

 
August 20, 2011
A great pencil! I enjoy...
A great pencil! I enjoy using it. The knurled grip is great! I somehow find this pencil in my hand more than my Rotring 600.

etherdonkey
 
February 9, 2011
Decent pencil that is...
Decent pencil that is made of high quality plastic and metal. This pencil is a good deal.

 
December 14, 2010
This is a very adequate...
This is a very adequate pencil. The grip and tip are all one solid piece which promotes good allignment and rigidity. I feel the pencil is well weighted, not the best but suitable, and it's fairly sturdy. While there are better pencils, it is a very good pencil for the price.

ericjwilliams