My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
  I was surprised by the..., December 11, 2013
By f.b...
I was surprised by the quality of this pencil especially with its price.
Metal knurled grip looks superb, and feels very nice too.
Only minor glitch, the rubber insde the tip drags on the lead, so the click, though nicely heared, is not sharp at the end. But that's really least important thing of all.

Highly recommend this pencil!
  I purchased the Graphgear..., March 31, 2013
I purchased the Graphgear 500 to replace my previous daily use pencil, the Pentel P200 series, and because it had a knurled grip. After trying most of the 0.5mm drafting pencils that Jetpens has to offer, this series is my favorite.

Pros:
-Eraser cap stays in place
-Clip is removable (I do not like clips on my drafting pencils, as when I turn them they dig into my skin)
-Solid "click" sound
-Plastic body is strong enough to not bend under writing (in fact, this pencil and the more expensive Pentel Graphlet shar everything except the grips)
-The grip is the a comfortable knurling (the closest I have found to the Rotring 600's knurling)
-View of the lead is absolutely superb, yet the tip is still strong
-The balance is towards the tip, making it easier to guide the pencil as apposed to forcing it
-Very durable all around
-It's appealing to look at, and people notice the syringe-like look as an example of quality and precision

Cons:
-Not pocket safe (I make a little cap out of heat-shrink tubing to protect the tip and my pockets)
-Slightly awkward at first due to the difference in size of the grip to the shaft
-Sometimes the end cap/lead sleeve will annoyingly rattle, but it more often does not

I do recommend this pencil, for the price you get a knurled grip, very solid mechanism, perfect weight balance, and a very durable pencil. I own all of these pencils, and they all see use. The 0.5 is my personal favorite, however this pencil is excellent as far as .7 mm pencils go.
  I own 6 of these, five..., March 23, 2013
I own 6 of these, five 0.7mm and one 0.5 mm. They are excellent pencils. I am a highschool student, and use them daily. They are very durable, and not all that heavy, so you don't need to be wooried about the tip if you drop it. Highly reccomended; excellent pencil, especially at this price range
  nice pencil, love the..., December 14, 2012
By ber...
nice pencil, love the grip, aesthetically sweet. downside - and you'll see it to a different extent on every mechanical/drafting pencil - loses grip of the last 1.5cm of lead, so either you stay persistent and write really light, or you just yank it out and add it to the waste pile.
  heavy knurled grip. quality..., August 18, 2012
By mkb...
heavy knurled grip. quality plastic barrel. great for writing and math. high quality drafting pencil.
  This pencil has always..., February 6, 2012
By ric...
This pencil has always been on my side ever since I bought this. It has a really good grip and always gets the job done when using it at school. My friends would tell me if they could use it. Though the metal grip and plastic body may not be balanced but the pencil itself still looks good. Even though my palms get sweaty when using pencils, I have never had a problem with this pencil.
  Good pencil for general/occasi..., March 15, 2011
By mak...
Good pencil for general/occasional use. The metal grip/tip vs plastic body makes the weight unbalanced towards the front (which some people may like), but the plastic is a good solid sturdy plastic. Two minor dislikes : the end cap & clip come off rather easily, making them and/or the pencil easy to lose.
  I have these pencils..., February 1, 2010
I have these pencils in every size, and I've used this type for years now. At first I thought the metal grip would be uncomfortable but in fact it helps steady the pencil. Since the barrel is plastic and the grip is metal it is heavier near the point, which makes it easier to hold the pencil at a good angle.
  The pencil itself is..., December 9, 2008
The pencil itself is pretty good, but it weighs too much and it seems like it can be very tiring if you write for long periods of time, but on the other hand I'm not too familiar with drafting pencils to begin with. I do like the eraser from this pencil, and the ability to replace it. My only concern with this pencil is that it seems heavy and a little uncomfortable to write with, but don't take my word alone for this!