JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 5.0 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 31, 2007
I'm a math graduate student,...
I'm a math graduate student, so producing reams of paper covered in pictures and calculations is how I spend my days. This has been my favorite pencil for some time now. I'm afraid I can't compare with the other drafting pencils -- some look attractive but not their prices, but for a student on a budget these have worked well. My friends notice and covet my pencil (though they make fun of my "exacto-pencil" since it resembles the knife).

Why I like it: The slim barrel is comfortable for my small hands. I'm clumsy and easily distracted, so the grip usually keeps me from dropping the pencil, and yet I can attest it isn't damaged when I do. The .9mm lead is most practical since I write with a heavy hand.

4 people found this helpful
ewhitaker
 
April 25, 2012
I totally love this pencil....
Verified Purchase
I totally love this pencil. I definitely love the thicker lead size.

I have no use for this in real life, yet I always want to try and use it when I can!

I find graphing pencils to be lovely to look at and this one is no exception.

It has a great weight to it, I can use it for hours, and because of the wider lead I can't remember the last time the lead broke on me while in use.


2 people found this helpful
moverde23
 
July 22, 2011
Workhorse of a pencil....
Workhorse of a pencil. Gets the job done, never had any problems with it, good value. The knurled grip seems to have the right balance between grip-ability and comfort. I have pencils that cost twice as much that don't feel as sturdy as this guy.

2 people found this helpful
shanehenrycpa
 
March 31, 2013
I purchased the Graphgear...
Verified Purchase
I purchased the Graphgear 500 to replace my previous daily use pencil, the Pentel P200 series, and because it had a knurled grip. After trying most of the 0.5mm drafting pencils that Jetpens has to offer, this series is my favorite.

Pros:
-Eraser cap stays in place
-Clip is removable (I do not like clips on my drafting pencils, as when I turn them they dig into my skin)
-Solid "click" sound
-Plastic body is strong enough to not bend under writing (in fact, this pencil and the more expensive Pentel Graphlet shar everything except the grips)
-The grip is the a comfortable knurling (the closest I have found to the Rotring 600's knurling)
-View of the lead is absolutely superb, yet the tip is still strong
-The balance is towards the tip, making it easier to guide the pencil as apposed to forcing it
-Very durable all around
-It's appealing to look at, and people notice the syringe-like look as an example of quality and precision

Cons:
-Not pocket safe (I make a little cap out of heat-shrink tubing to protect the tip and my pockets)
-Slightly awkward at first due to the difference in size of the grip to the shaft
-Sometimes the end cap/lead sleeve will annoyingly rattle, but it more often does not

I do recommend this pencil, for the price you get a knurled grip, very solid mechanism, perfect weight balance, and a very durable pencil. I own all of these pencils, and they all see use. The 0.5 is my personal favorite, however this pencil is excellent as far as .9 mm pencils go.

1 person found this helpful
Ryan.Dix.2018
 
January 26, 2009
For the money this pencil...
Verified Purchase
For the money this pencil is a great deal. Light weight it feels great in your hand.

1 person found this helpful
Olenick_A
 
April 19, 2014
My favorite drafting...
Verified Purchase
My favorite drafting pencil of all time! A good, solid feeling pencil with great balance and a comfy grip (and I'm usually not wild about metal grips). I love the .9mm size lead for sketching. I will be ordering more of these!

artist1024
 
August 19, 2013
Looks and feels sturdy...
Verified Purchase
Looks and feels sturdy built and dependable, also has a very good grip (one of the most comfortable grips out there) - the only thing why I'm critical just a little bit is the clip that's made of the light-reflecting silver metal, so at some angles it may shoot light in your face because the clip is not brushed metal but instead, is polished like a mirror. One other minor distraction during the use might be that the plastic barrel (a little prone to bending if you like to check that out) could be felt as being not firmly attached to the metal grip, so there is a little movement between the plastic and metal, just very minor movement. To tell the truth though, I prefer this one pencil to Pentel's Graph 1000 and Graph 600, and the price is one third and one half respectively.

 
August 2, 2013
Traces of plastic fusion...
Verified Purchase
Traces of plastic fusion on the upper part, which says, the quality of plastic barrel is not quite superb. However the rest of it feels like it's gonna last you a lifetime. I like to look at visual traces of fused plastic as the signature of the tree pulp, which is often the case with wooden instruments.