My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  The absolute best pencil..., August 26, 2010
The absolute best pencil in the world to a price less than $50.

As engineer I have used this type of pen for more than 25 years. If you just take a minimum care of this pen, it will last for more than 10 years. This pen works always.
I clean the pin for lead perhaps once a week or less.

I have worn out two or three pens in my working time, where that pen always are next to me at my desk for drafting and writing notes.

I hope this pen never will go out of production. It can not get stars enough from me!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is the best .5 pencil..., January 26, 2013
This is the best .5 pencil I know of. The tail piece can be conveniently tightened to lock the lead indicator in place, and Pentel didn't bother to waste my time with a cruddy little eraser that I would inevitably have to replace. I never make mistakes anyway so why should I ever have to erase... The thin plastic click button looked like it would have been unpleasant to use because of it's small size, but I found it slightly more entertaining to click than some other thicker metal push buttons. Unlike the P205, the pencil doesn't have a molded place to slide the clip into; therefore, the pencil doesn't look funny without it's tightly fitted clip if you like to keep the pencil on your desk. Sadly, without the clip, the pencil will roll slightly more than a six sided pencil because it has more sides. The tip holds the lead firmly and precisely. The plastic ringed grip is the most comfortable plastic grip I have yet to find. I would like to note that the Zebra Drafix pencil in .5, which has a similarly comfy ringed plastic grip that is slightly thicker in diameter, would be better for people with larger hands, people looking to save $8, or people who desire an eraser and don't mind the thick plastic cap.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The PG5 is the real deal...., February 4, 2012
The PG5 is the real deal. It's the sort of no-nonsense drafting tool that would have been used to design the Viking Mars landers or the Voyager space probes. The advance mechanism and nosepiece are identical to the p205, but everything from there up is distinctly higher-grade and arguably worth the premium. The magazine tube is metal, about 3mm in diameter, and is securely stabilized on the top end by a snug, threaded plastic collar, to which is threaded the machined aluminum top piece, which retains the advance button with its long cleaning wire. No eraser, but come on, have some self respect and carry a quality click or block eraser. This is more Sharp Kerry grade than P205, though they all use essentially similar (and quite deservedly praised) mechanisms. The vintage-pencil nerd in me adores the old-fashioned "GRAPH PENCIL" stamped into the side of the barrel. The PG5 is well worth the price, and probably the best Pentel available from this retailer.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  i have two PG5's which..., September 23, 2009
i have two PG5's which i have been using since 1996. although they now rarely see use at the vemco, i still use them for drawing and sketching. they are lightweight and slender with a removable clip. there is no eraser, but by removing the aluminum top ferrule, the plug can be removed, revealing a cleaning wire. the mass of my pg5 sans clip is 8.5g, compared to the 9.0g mass of a classic p205 with clip.
  I bought this for working..., October 27, 2013
By j_a...
I bought this for working math problems, taking notes, and sketching. The first thing I noticed was the flawless build quality. It has a good weight, and a vintage look. It feels durable. The round, ringed, plastic grip is secure and tapers from the hard plastic polygonal barrel. The advancement of the lead is positive. The tip is not "pocket safe". The PG5 works as well as the excellent Pentel P205, but offers a unique grip and style. Some pencils I try, but lose interest. The Pentel PG5 is a classic pencil that holds my interest.
  Amazing pencil, definitively..., July 13, 2011
Amazing pencil, definitively the best pencil I ever use, specially for freehand sketching. Feels great and it is very thin, I hate thick grips. Extremely precise and well finished.
  It is an amazing pencil..., January 16, 2010
By antjaf
It is an amazing pencil with an artistic configuration/look.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Sorry to hear you discontinued..., August 1, 2011
By her...
Sorry to hear you discontinued the sale of Pentel PG2 .02mm Pencil. I nfinally bought one and it's a great pencil. Any set that includes the thinnest lead available will be my leading favorite. I guess there are a few places that can sell it for half the price you're selling yours so I can understand why you won't sell it anymore.

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  If I still took drafting..., August 12, 2009
If I still took drafting classes I would appreciate this pen but I was surprised when I got it how it felt kind of cheap and the metal top you see really isn't made of solid metal. I would get the other Pentel pen listed in this section