JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (43 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 28, 2010
Don't hesitate, just...
Verified Purchase
Don't hesitate, just buy this pen! Feels like a real brush and restores manhood.

14 people found this helpful
 
May 30, 2011
Awesome pen,real Japanese...
Awesome pen,real Japanese style of broken brush line.l could not use it for some more rigid,fine,bold black comic-like drawing but for more expressive style it is just phenomenal!..l like the poetry of a hand movement it follows so beautifully,giving a hairy-thin line at the tip and that lovely,broken line when you freely increase the pressure from time to time.Feels like some sort of a Zen meditation,it really kinda dances in a hand.Best soft tipped brush pen l've used so far and l could hardly believe that it could be beaten out someday.

8 people found this helpful
adriano.janezic
 
August 25, 2011
This is the best brush...
Verified Purchase
This is the best brush pen I have come across so far.

I have tried out several after and before this one, and I must say, this really, to me, is the best. I think comparing it with felt-tip brush pens isn't necessary at this point, felt-tips just feel totally different than "hair" tips. The feeling of authenticity can only really be conveyed via 'hair' tip brush pens I think.

Recently, I bought the Pentel Standard Brush Pen (tsumi tip - a little thicker than the pocket brush pen) to have another hair/nylon tip to compare the pocket brush pen with. I wrote a little review on it as well. This one still remains my favourite.
Both drawings and writing kanji works smoothly and beautifully, the ink is rich and deeply black, it's waterproof (when I use a waterbrush on the writings, the ink would run and a slightly pink background colour would appear with the Standard Brush Pen, however with the Pocket Brush pen, nothing would happen apart from the thin paper rippling)

All in all, I absolutely recommend this brush pen. I'm sure it will make you happy.

7 people found this helpful
aoutorihan
 
January 11, 2012
I absolutely love this...
I absolutely love this pen. I've been using it for years and years and it's always served me well. It springs back well, and takes all my abuse. It's worth it- it will be a very faithful companion.

6 people found this helpful
kristi.mcc
 
August 18, 2010
I really enjoy the spring...
Verified Purchase
I really enjoy the spring and snap of this pen. Although the ink can be cumbersome under the "wait until it's dry" circumstance of adding watercolor, or running my hand across my image (lefty here), the lines I can get from this pen are always what I want. From hairline thin to thick, wet strokes.

I always carry this in my bag with my sketching items and the ink lines are gorgeous on a nice sketch paper.

I'll always own one of these until I'm pushing up daisies. They're just worth it.

6 people found this helpful
 
January 23, 2013
Excellent! Has a very...
Verified Purchase
Excellent! Has a very black ink, not washed-out or grey. The brush is springy yet soft enough to be bent down into a fan of bristles on the page if you so desire. Has a wet flow when moving slowly, and a charismatic, dry-bristle look if you go faster than the ink has time to refill the tip. Easy to refill as well. I recommend storing this pen on its side - it can leak into the cap if stored brush-down, and will take time to start if stored brush-up.

4 people found this helpful
yoyochanny
 
June 6, 2013
I used a Pentel pocket...
Verified Purchase
I used a Pentel pocket brush pen to ink my comics for years and years. My brush finally frayed after 2 years of heavy use (about 120 pages of comics). I ordered a replacement pen and to my dismay, it frayed within 6 pages! I figured I might have gotten a bad batch, ordered a second and had the same problem. I bought a third from Utrecht Art and ran into the same problem.

It's unfortunate that the quality has declined, as this was my go-to pen for a long time. Now I'm on a hunt for another brush pen. If you get a good one, though - oh man is this pen amazing.

2 people found this helpful
nekoqueenbastet
 
March 25, 2012
This pen does great when...
This pen does great when I'm filling areas that need to be inked, especially the larger ones and a few effects. I got Micron and Faber Castell brush pens, but after using them for a bit, they start to leave clumps behind, so I only use them for emergencies and small areas.

I recommend this for anyone who draws!

2 people found this helpful
shadow_gal67
 
July 8, 2011
This pen is awesome....
Verified Purchase
This pen is awesome. I've tried some "brush pens"- that is, felt-tipped pens trying to be brush-shaped- before, and they just don't compare. The range of line width that one can get with this pen is amazing, from hairline thin to big, wet lines. I find that if I try to do long, fast strokes, I get some skipping, but then again, that's not really a problem for me since I tend not to draw in long strokes and was only doing that to test the pen out. Others might be a little disappointed with that, though. That's the only con this pen has; the tip is incredibly responsive, the ink is nice and dark, and the variation in line width is wonderful.

That, and it's kind of cool to watch the ink seep into the brush when you put in the first ink cartridge :D

2 people found this helpful
patricia.brooks
 
June 29, 2010
This pen is absolutely...
This pen is absolutely wonderful! A sythetic hair brush tip with good spring, it gives graceful, dramatic line variation from tiny hair strokes to bold flourishes. I've never had problems with the ink overflowing or drying out; I've even left the pen unused for weeks at a time and it's still ready to go the instant I pick it up again. All this, and the ink, a nice rich black, is waterproof. I still want to explore other brush pens too, but this is my favorite drawing tool.

2 people found this helpful
foxinthestars