My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (37 customer reviews)
Write Review
10 out of 11 people found the following review helpful
  Don't hesitate, just..., January 28, 2010
Don't hesitate, just buy this pen! Feels like a real brush and restores manhood.
7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  Awesome pen,real Japanese..., May 30, 2011
Awesome pen,real Japanese style of broken brush line.l could not use it for some more rigid,fine,bold black comic-like drawing but for more expressive style it is just phenomenal!..l like the poetry of a hand movement it follows so beautifully,giving a hairy-thin line at the tip and that lovely,broken line when you freely increase the pressure from time to time.Feels like some sort of a Zen meditation,it really kinda dances in a hand.Best soft tipped brush pen l've used so far and l could hardly believe that it could be beaten out someday.
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  This is the best brush..., August 25, 2011
By aou...
This is the best brush pen I have come across so far.

I have tried out several after and before this one, and I must say, this really, to me, is the best. I think comparing it with felt-tip brush pens isn't necessary at this point, felt-tips just feel totally different than "hair" tips. The feeling of authenticity can only really be conveyed via 'hair' tip brush pens I think.

Recently, I bought the Pentel Standard Brush Pen (tsumi tip - a little thicker than the pocket brush pen) to have another hair/nylon tip to compare the pocket brush pen with. I wrote a little review on it as well. This one still remains my favourite.
Both drawings and writing kanji works smoothly and beautifully, the ink is rich and deeply black, it's waterproof (when I use a waterbrush on the writings, the ink would run and a slightly pink background colour would appear with the Standard Brush Pen, however with the Pocket Brush pen, nothing would happen apart from the thin paper rippling)

All in all, I absolutely recommend this brush pen. I'm sure it will make you happy.
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I absolutely love this..., January 11, 2012
I absolutely love this pen. I've been using it for years and years and it's always served me well. It springs back well, and takes all my abuse. It's worth it- it will be a very faithful companion.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I really enjoy the spring..., August 18, 2010
I really enjoy the spring and snap of this pen. Although the ink can be cumbersome under the "wait until it's dry" circumstance of adding watercolor, or running my hand across my image (lefty here), the lines I can get from this pen are always what I want. From hairline thin to thick, wet strokes.

I always carry this in my bag with my sketching items and the ink lines are gorgeous on a nice sketch paper.

I'll always own one of these until I'm pushing up daisies. They're just worth it.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Excellent! Has a very..., January 23, 2013
Excellent! Has a very black ink, not washed-out or grey. The brush is springy yet soft enough to be bent down into a fan of bristles on the page if you so desire. Has a wet flow when moving slowly, and a charismatic, dry-bristle look if you go faster than the ink has time to refill the tip. Easy to refill as well. I recommend storing this pen on its side - it can leak into the cap if stored brush-down, and will take time to start if stored brush-up.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I used a Pentel pocket..., June 6, 2013
I used a Pentel pocket brush pen to ink my comics for years and years. My brush finally frayed after 2 years of heavy use (about 120 pages of comics). I ordered a replacement pen and to my dismay, it frayed within 6 pages! I figured I might have gotten a bad batch, ordered a second and had the same problem. I bought a third from Utrecht Art and ran into the same problem.

It's unfortunate that the quality has declined, as this was my go-to pen for a long time. Now I'm on a hunt for another brush pen. If you get a good one, though - oh man is this pen amazing.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pen does great when..., March 25, 2012
This pen does great when I'm filling areas that need to be inked, especially the larger ones and a few effects. I got Micron and Faber Castell brush pens, but after using them for a bit, they start to leave clumps behind, so I only use them for emergencies and small areas.

I recommend this for anyone who draws!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pen is awesome...., July 8, 2011
This pen is awesome. I've tried some "brush pens"- that is, felt-tipped pens trying to be brush-shaped- before, and they just don't compare. The range of line width that one can get with this pen is amazing, from hairline thin to big, wet lines. I find that if I try to do long, fast strokes, I get some skipping, but then again, that's not really a problem for me since I tend not to draw in long strokes and was only doing that to test the pen out. Others might be a little disappointed with that, though. That's the only con this pen has; the tip is incredibly responsive, the ink is nice and dark, and the variation in line width is wonderful.

That, and it's kind of cool to watch the ink seep into the brush when you put in the first ink cartridge :D
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pen is absolutely..., June 29, 2010
This pen is absolutely wonderful! A sythetic hair brush tip with good spring, it gives graceful, dramatic line variation from tiny hair strokes to bold flourishes. I've never had problems with the ink overflowing or drying out; I've even left the pen unused for weeks at a time and it's still ready to go the instant I pick it up again. All this, and the ink, a nice rich black, is waterproof. I still want to explore other brush pens too, but this is my favorite drawing tool.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  If you want something..., May 5, 2010
If you want something for calligraphy this is the pen you should get.

This is most likely the best pocket sized brush pen on the the market. Great brush tip, sturdy construction and refillable huge cartridges.

This is part of where I knocked off one star, you have to use cartridges, their is no converter to allow you to use other inks. This is mostly a environmental concern because the Pentel ink cartridge is huge, it is about 80% the length of the barrel.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  A fantastic pen. Have..., March 23, 2010
By info
A fantastic pen. Have a Kaimei and a Kuretake, this simply out performs them in quality and price...and ease of use. Cartridges are refillable, do not believe what ya read on the net. When I bought mine a few years ago from Jet, it came with water soluble ink, not sure if they do now. Only thing to be careful of is the "weight"of the ink you use. Too thin = greys not blacks, too heavy and you loose the sharp tip.

Jet also has the best price for them and the ship was quick to here in the Midwest.
  i really do like this..., March 2, 2014
By ran...
i really do like this pen. it works in all the ways all the other revierws say, just my one problem is that i wanted to change the ink and get something a bit lighter in it for washes. i soaked my nib in water over night and everything, but it isn't sucking up the new ink i put in. my nib was old but i bought a new one so we'll see. it isn't the ink as i put it in the platinum refillable pen and that one is soaking it up just fine.
  The tip is very very..., August 15, 2013
The tip is very very soft. Very light pressure is all that is required. Good for Asian characters calligraphic drawing. As I don't do that I'm wondering why I got this. (:
It makes great palm fronds and leaves. Ink is very black and waterproof..which is great..so far that I've only tested it on cheap sketching paper and very slight bleed which I expected. I'm pretty sure on bristol or watercolor paper it will bleed less if any.
Leaves a nice rough edge and long pointy line if used in the right manner.
Seemed a little pricey compared to pilot and other versions but I generally like Pentel stuff so I went for it and many strong reviews of this pen.
If Asian influenced calligraphic drawing is your thing I believe this is an excellent tool. May also be good for filling in wide patches of black in pen & ink. The black ink cartridges are really black..compared to dr ph martins matte black which is great.
  Excellent pocket style..., April 28, 2013
By roqz
Excellent pocket style brush pen, looks and feels like another pen. Easy to produce different strokes and ideal to practice calligraphy in other languages.
  This pen also restores..., February 4, 2013
This pen also restores honor- but only if you buy it with the refills.
  This is an Amazing pen!!..., November 26, 2012
By kat...
This is an Amazing pen!! It writes very well and is great for making really nice Japanese - looking drawings! A great Buy!
  This pen, with some practice,..., November 9, 2012
By ter...
This pen, with some practice, has become my absolute favorite to ink an image with. I don't know what I'd do without it honestly! The range of line width is incredible. It requires a confident hand however if you're doing super thin varied lines. Completely in love with this pen.
  The perfect cartooning..., February 22, 2012
By cos...
The perfect cartooning tool. Great for inking lines, slight and thin touch-ups, and large fill-ins of solid black.
  I won this in a contest..., August 18, 2010
I won this in a contest a while back, and I do love it for making varied thick and thin, smooth lines--the ink cartridge lasts quite a while, I'm still on the first one!
The brush is the perfect size, not too thin, not too thick, and the fact that you can cap it up and use it to draw anywhere doesn't hurt either!
  When I opened the pack..., August 6, 2010
When I opened the pack and first saw the brush tip I was a little skeptical. however, after using this pen for a few days to practice writing Kanji, Katakana, and Hiragana, I was surprised by the quality of the brush tip and the ink. The flow of the ink is very smooth and is smear proof within a second or two. It is truly one of the most enjoyable writing instruments I have ever used. I am still on the first ink cartridge so I can't speak to the longevity but so far I am very happy with this pen.
  I love this pen. It's..., August 1, 2010
I love this pen.
It's good to have since I can't carry a brush, ink and water with me all over. It's waterproof, so great for watercolor washes. I like how it looks pretty classy, so I'm not ashamed to bring it out and goof off, and I also liked how the sturdy barrel can't be squeeze, so no scare of squishing the ink out.

And my brother who studies japanese loved it too, I ordered him one and he likes to show off the beautiful lines he gets for his calligraphy.
  I love to draw. Mostly..., March 6, 2010
I love to draw. Mostly with pencil and occationaly with a micron pen. I was looking to try something completly different. I wanted something with more variety in its stroke. I thought about a brush and paint or ink. However, I am a clutz and would undoubtedly make to much of a mess. Plus i really hate cleaning up. I have used fountain pens but this still did not produce the free flowing feeling i wanted.
This pen is insanely awesome!! it fit the bill perfectly. I do not usually write reviews but I have enjoyed using this pens so much that felt I had to share. After 5 months of use so far no mess. By experimenting i have been able to produce a variety of strokes. When drawing I can apply a light prsesure to produce small details and added pressure and more of an angle to create increased coverage to fill in an area. I know it says for calligraphy but give it a try. I still use the old pencil and micron pens but this pen has earned a place beside them. Now if only i could find a decent pencil case i could be happy with Ive tried 6 so far and they all have their issues.
  I bought this because..., January 21, 2010
By Apr...
I bought this because I'm a artist and I like to get my hand on all sorts of tools.
I've always sorta of liked painting with ink and a brush, but sometimes the hassle of getting out the tools made it troublesome, and I could never do it on the run.
I got this particulallar pen because it looked, nice, simple, and was waterproof, considering I have a tendency to add watercolor to my sketches.

It's so much fun to draw with and it's handy and I take it absolutely everywhere, should inspiration suddenly hit. I'm eager just bringing it out.
My brother takes Japanese and when he borrowed the pen, he loved it for the bold look it gave and he really liked that the ink dried fast enough to keep from making messes. I'm ording him one now.

Overall, we both recomend it.
  Plenty of reviews here..., November 6, 2009
By rlr...
Plenty of reviews here already. Let me just say "I agree." This is a terrific product.