My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (39 customer reviews)
Write Review
13 out of 15 people found the following review helpful
  Don't hesitate, just..., January 28, 2010
Don't hesitate, just buy this pen! Feels like a real brush and restores manhood.
8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful
  Awesome pen,real Japanese..., May 30, 2011
Awesome pen,real Japanese style of broken brush line.l could not use it for some more rigid,fine,bold black comic-like drawing but for more expressive style it is just phenomenal!..l like the poetry of a hand movement it follows so beautifully,giving a hairy-thin line at the tip and that lovely,broken line when you freely increase the pressure from time to time.Feels like some sort of a Zen meditation,it really kinda dances in a hand.Best soft tipped brush pen l've used so far and l could hardly believe that it could be beaten out someday.
7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  This is the best brush..., August 25, 2011
By aou...
This is the best brush pen I have come across so far.

I have tried out several after and before this one, and I must say, this really, to me, is the best. I think comparing it with felt-tip brush pens isn't necessary at this point, felt-tips just feel totally different than "hair" tips. The feeling of authenticity can only really be conveyed via 'hair' tip brush pens I think.

Recently, I bought the Pentel Standard Brush Pen (tsumi tip - a little thicker than the pocket brush pen) to have another hair/nylon tip to compare the pocket brush pen with. I wrote a little review on it as well. This one still remains my favourite.
Both drawings and writing kanji works smoothly and beautifully, the ink is rich and deeply black, it's waterproof (when I use a waterbrush on the writings, the ink would run and a slightly pink background colour would appear with the Standard Brush Pen, however with the Pocket Brush pen, nothing would happen apart from the thin paper rippling)

All in all, I absolutely recommend this brush pen. I'm sure it will make you happy.
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  I absolutely love this..., January 11, 2012
I absolutely love this pen. I've been using it for years and years and it's always served me well. It springs back well, and takes all my abuse. It's worth it- it will be a very faithful companion.
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  I really enjoy the spring..., August 18, 2010
I really enjoy the spring and snap of this pen. Although the ink can be cumbersome under the "wait until it's dry" circumstance of adding watercolor, or running my hand across my image (lefty here), the lines I can get from this pen are always what I want. From hairline thin to thick, wet strokes.

I always carry this in my bag with my sketching items and the ink lines are gorgeous on a nice sketch paper.

I'll always own one of these until I'm pushing up daisies. They're just worth it.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Excellent! Has a very..., January 23, 2013
Excellent! Has a very black ink, not washed-out or grey. The brush is springy yet soft enough to be bent down into a fan of bristles on the page if you so desire. Has a wet flow when moving slowly, and a charismatic, dry-bristle look if you go faster than the ink has time to refill the tip. Easy to refill as well. I recommend storing this pen on its side - it can leak into the cap if stored brush-down, and will take time to start if stored brush-up.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I used a Pentel pocket..., June 6, 2013
I used a Pentel pocket brush pen to ink my comics for years and years. My brush finally frayed after 2 years of heavy use (about 120 pages of comics). I ordered a replacement pen and to my dismay, it frayed within 6 pages! I figured I might have gotten a bad batch, ordered a second and had the same problem. I bought a third from Utrecht Art and ran into the same problem.

It's unfortunate that the quality has declined, as this was my go-to pen for a long time. Now I'm on a hunt for another brush pen. If you get a good one, though - oh man is this pen amazing.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This pen does great when..., March 25, 2012
This pen does great when I'm filling areas that need to be inked, especially the larger ones and a few effects. I got Micron and Faber Castell brush pens, but after using them for a bit, they start to leave clumps behind, so I only use them for emergencies and small areas.

I recommend this for anyone who draws!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This pen is awesome...., July 8, 2011
This pen is awesome. I've tried some "brush pens"- that is, felt-tipped pens trying to be brush-shaped- before, and they just don't compare. The range of line width that one can get with this pen is amazing, from hairline thin to big, wet lines. I find that if I try to do long, fast strokes, I get some skipping, but then again, that's not really a problem for me since I tend not to draw in long strokes and was only doing that to test the pen out. Others might be a little disappointed with that, though. That's the only con this pen has; the tip is incredibly responsive, the ink is nice and dark, and the variation in line width is wonderful.

That, and it's kind of cool to watch the ink seep into the brush when you put in the first ink cartridge :D
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This pen is absolutely..., June 29, 2010
This pen is absolutely wonderful! A sythetic hair brush tip with good spring, it gives graceful, dramatic line variation from tiny hair strokes to bold flourishes. I've never had problems with the ink overflowing or drying out; I've even left the pen unused for weeks at a time and it's still ready to go the instant I pick it up again. All this, and the ink, a nice rich black, is waterproof. I still want to explore other brush pens too, but this is my favorite drawing tool.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  If you want something..., May 5, 2010
If you want something for calligraphy this is the pen you should get.

This is most likely the best pocket sized brush pen on the the market. Great brush tip, sturdy construction and refillable huge cartridges.

This is part of where I knocked off one star, you have to use cartridges, their is no converter to allow you to use other inks. This is mostly a environmental concern because the Pentel ink cartridge is huge, it is about 80% the length of the barrel.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is one of the most..., July 14, 2014
By aou...
This is one of the most wonderful (and waterproof!) brush pens I have come across.

The ink comes out sleek and precise, and beautifully black. You can both draw the finest of lines as well as nice, medium~thick ones. I would say this one works a little better for kanji than for western writing, at least when writing cursive, it can be a little tricky to write accurately. The colour is very rich and thorough, but probably works best on smooth paper. When writing on thick, rough paper (say, for water colour works), the ink will be sucked up a little bit around the edges, so it won't be as crisp anymore.

I also use the Pentel Standard Brush Pen (tsumi tip: http://www.jetpens.com/Pentel-Standard-Brush-Pen-Tsumi-Tip/pd/2416). Both are very similar, but here's for some minor differences: The Standard seems a tiny bit blacker. When writing calligraphy, the font gets a little wilder feeling to it, and it can also give you the effect of a drying brush (small white spots) around the edges of your writing, something the Pocket Brush rarely does.

However, and this might be important to some of you: I found the Pocket Brush Pen to be ABSOLUTELY waterproof, while the Standard Brush Pen smudged even after minutes of having it let dry.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The tip is very very..., August 15, 2013
The tip is very very soft. Very light pressure is all that is required. Good for Asian characters calligraphic drawing. As I don't do that I'm wondering why I got this. (:
It makes great palm fronds and leaves. Ink is very black and waterproof..which is great..so far that I've only tested it on cheap sketching paper and very slight bleed which I expected. I'm pretty sure on bristol or watercolor paper it will bleed less if any.
Leaves a nice rough edge and long pointy line if used in the right manner.
Seemed a little pricey compared to pilot and other versions but I generally like Pentel stuff so I went for it and many strong reviews of this pen.
If Asian influenced calligraphic drawing is your thing I believe this is an excellent tool. May also be good for filling in wide patches of black in pen & ink. The black ink cartridges are really black..compared to dr ph martins matte black which is great.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  El Brush Pen este de..., May 9, 2009
El Brush Pen este de Pentel es la caña, sinceramente.

No se parece en nada a cualquier otro "rotulador con punta de pincel" que hayas podido probar, como los Pitt Artist Pen de Faber-Castell, ya que verdaderamente tiene un pincel por punta. Esto permite trazos realmente finos, seguidos de otros muuuy gruesos, como gustes. Es cómodo y fácil de manejar, también.

La únicas pegas que le pondría son la intensidad del negro con que dibuja, que dista mucho de la fabulosa tinta china de Winsor & Newton (también son cosas diferentes), y la no resistencia al agua.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The Pentel Pocket Brush..., February 28, 2009
The Pentel Pocket Brush is just extraordinary.

The quality of the line that is attainable with this instrument is just amazing!

It's like an old friend--without the worries about knocking over a bottle of Higgin's India Ink.

You can work rapidly, without having to constantly dip into the bottle.

JetPens sent this out really quickly. Thanks for such a great product!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  After having owned the..., February 7, 2008
After having owned the Sakura brush pen and Faber-Castell Pitt artist penn for several years, I can easily say that the Pentel Pocket Brush Pen is far superior to both. A felt tip brush pen just doesn't compare to the level of control and detail thats possible with this pen. This pen is flexible because actual bristles, unlike felt, can effortlessly vary from a literal hairline to the broadest stroke. Its in a league of its own really. The pitt pen is worthwhile, although less versatile. It is certainly an adequate trainer pen, if you need something to practice your technique. The sakura pen was somewhat crude in comparison to both. This pen, if it can be found, and if you can use it, is surely worth the price.
  The only thing keeping..., July 2, 2014
The only thing keeping me from giving this pen a full five stars is the length of the bristles. They just make it a bit hard to control this pen's line sometimes. I'm used to a much shorter brush tip, I suppose. But the line widths range from super, super fine to extremely wide! The long, soft fibers are more suited to expressive strokes than controlled ones.

The ink is probably the most waterproof ink of the all the brush pens I've ever used. Once dry, it will. not. budge. So if you have a very practiced hand, you could use this pen to permanently ink over your sketches. Of course, you can always refill the cartridges with your own ink. I plan to use Noodler's Heart of Darkness when the cartridge this guy came with runs out.

Despite it being waterproof, you can get some interesting effects on paper that has been pre-wetted. The sketches I made came out rather ghostly, or haunting. It's pretty neat.

In all honesty, I prefer my Kuretake brush pens, but this one's really nice as well. The margin between them is very minimal.. I'm glad I went ahead and bought this one. :3 Though I'll more likely use it for calligraphy purposes than art purposes, as I was hoping to do originally.
  Excellent pocket style..., April 28, 2013
By roqz
Excellent pocket style brush pen, looks and feels like another pen. Easy to produce different strokes and ideal to practice calligraphy in other languages.
  This pen also restores..., February 4, 2013
This pen also restores honor- but only if you buy it with the refills.
  This is an Amazing pen!!..., November 26, 2012
By kat...
This is an Amazing pen!! It writes very well and is great for making really nice Japanese - looking drawings! A great Buy!
  This pen, with some practice,..., November 9, 2012
By ter...
This pen, with some practice, has become my absolute favorite to ink an image with. I don't know what I'd do without it honestly! The range of line width is incredible. It requires a confident hand however if you're doing super thin varied lines. Completely in love with this pen.
  The perfect cartooning..., February 22, 2012
By cos...
The perfect cartooning tool. Great for inking lines, slight and thin touch-ups, and large fill-ins of solid black.
  I won this in a contest..., August 18, 2010
I won this in a contest a while back, and I do love it for making varied thick and thin, smooth lines--the ink cartridge lasts quite a while, I'm still on the first one!
The brush is the perfect size, not too thin, not too thick, and the fact that you can cap it up and use it to draw anywhere doesn't hurt either!
  When I opened the pack..., August 6, 2010
When I opened the pack and first saw the brush tip I was a little skeptical. however, after using this pen for a few days to practice writing Kanji, Katakana, and Hiragana, I was surprised by the quality of the brush tip and the ink. The flow of the ink is very smooth and is smear proof within a second or two. It is truly one of the most enjoyable writing instruments I have ever used. I am still on the first ink cartridge so I can't speak to the longevity but so far I am very happy with this pen.
  I love this pen. It's..., August 1, 2010
I love this pen.
It's good to have since I can't carry a brush, ink and water with me all over. It's waterproof, so great for watercolor washes. I like how it looks pretty classy, so I'm not ashamed to bring it out and goof off, and I also liked how the sturdy barrel can't be squeeze, so no scare of squishing the ink out.

And my brother who studies japanese loved it too, I ordered him one and he likes to show off the beautiful lines he gets for his calligraphy.