My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (39 customer reviews)
Write Review
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  A fantastic pen. Have..., March 23, 2010
By info
A fantastic pen. Have a Kaimei and a Kuretake, this simply out performs them in quality and price...and ease of use. Cartridges are refillable, do not believe what ya read on the net. When I bought mine a few years ago from Jet, it came with water soluble ink, not sure if they do now. Only thing to be careful of is the "weight"of the ink you use. Too thin = greys not blacks, too heavy and you loose the sharp tip.

Jet also has the best price for them and the ship was quick to here in the Midwest.
  I love to draw. Mostly..., March 6, 2010
I love to draw. Mostly with pencil and occationaly with a micron pen. I was looking to try something completly different. I wanted something with more variety in its stroke. I thought about a brush and paint or ink. However, I am a clutz and would undoubtedly make to much of a mess. Plus i really hate cleaning up. I have used fountain pens but this still did not produce the free flowing feeling i wanted.
This pen is insanely awesome!! it fit the bill perfectly. I do not usually write reviews but I have enjoyed using this pens so much that felt I had to share. After 5 months of use so far no mess. By experimenting i have been able to produce a variety of strokes. When drawing I can apply a light prsesure to produce small details and added pressure and more of an angle to create increased coverage to fill in an area. I know it says for calligraphy but give it a try. I still use the old pencil and micron pens but this pen has earned a place beside them. Now if only i could find a decent pencil case i could be happy with Ive tried 6 so far and they all have their issues.
  I bought this because..., January 21, 2010
By Apr...
I bought this because I'm a artist and I like to get my hand on all sorts of tools.
I've always sorta of liked painting with ink and a brush, but sometimes the hassle of getting out the tools made it troublesome, and I could never do it on the run.
I got this particulallar pen because it looked, nice, simple, and was waterproof, considering I have a tendency to add watercolor to my sketches.

It's so much fun to draw with and it's handy and I take it absolutely everywhere, should inspiration suddenly hit. I'm eager just bringing it out.
My brother takes Japanese and when he borrowed the pen, he loved it for the bold look it gave and he really liked that the ink dried fast enough to keep from making messes. I'm ording him one now.

Overall, we both recomend it.
  Plenty of reviews here..., November 6, 2009
By rlr...
Plenty of reviews here already. Let me just say "I agree." This is a terrific product.
  my very first good quality..., October 27, 2009
my very first good quality brush pen.
it's smooth and the tip holds its shape.
can easily manipulate lines from super fine to thick.
easy replacement of ink.
  by far my favorite drawing..., August 11, 2009
by far my favorite drawing instrument, and one i've used almost daily for over five years. fantastic for extremely fine lines, beautiful thick lines, scratchy shading, and everything in-between. these aren't terribly easy to find.. i really hope jetpens gets them back in stock soon.
  I decided to pick one..., January 24, 2009
I decided to pick one of these up, after trying the other Pentel brush pens. I really love it! The ink flows well, and you can easily get multiple line variations. It's also a very convenient and portable size. It's also great that the ink is waterproof.

I think like any of the nylon brush style pens, if you are not as experienced with painting or inking, it might take a bit to get accustomed to. You won't get the same type of control as with a felt based brush pen.

I think this is a great quality pen like the other Pentel brush pens so I would recommend it.
  I love this pen! It arrived..., December 12, 2008
I love this pen! It arrived less than a week after I ordered it (USA to Germany, 5 days) and I've already gotten a lot of use out of it. Much more flexible brush-tip than i'm used to, but easy to get accustomed to, and it seems to magically retain its sharp and very fine point. Good for thick opaque lines or hair-thin detail. Feels good in the hand too.
I'm marrying this pen.
  For a true pocket brush..., December 3, 2008
For a true pocket brush pen, seriously - this is a wonderful product. It not only comes with 2 cartridges (1 for use, 1 for refill), but the brush point is truly a brush point with synthetic bristles!

I would consider the point "fine", but depending on how heavy (or light) a hand you use when inking/drawing, the line quality varies a lot. The point stays sharp so all stroke starts are clean and pointed.

The ink is pigment-based and waterproof, but I find it a little lighter/thinner other ink pens.

I wouldn't necessarily recommend this particular pen to someone just getting started with inks and brushes with hopes of drawing. To get the type of line you'd like would probably take a some practice and patience. For Japanese/Chinese calligraphy, this would be an excellent pen for penmanship practice as the point has a nice flexibility and drag when practicing loose-handed strokes.

As for water-proofing, this one holds up the best when dried and washed over with a wet brush. There is very little smearing, if any - and little deterioration of color.
  I have tried -- and fallen..., October 30, 2008
I have tried -- and fallen in love with -- many different brush pens, but I really could have stopped with the Pentel Pocket Brush Pen. The nice, lightweight plastic body is sturdy and well-balanced. The synthetic hair nib is longer and more flexible than non-Pentel brush nibs I have tried, which first meant less control but -- with practice -- means more range and variation. If you are not the collector that I am and you want only one drawing brush pen, then go with this one.
  The black Pentel Brush..., August 16, 2008
The black Pentel Brush Pen had been my favorite tool for brush sketching on the go until I found this item! Because it looks and feels just like any other pen, this pocket brush pen is perfect for keeping in bags, travel artist satchels, and even your pocket. Even though it has a smaller nylon bristle tip than it's bulkier big brother, this pen delivers everything the Pentel Brush Pen could do, and because the ink cartridge is located safely inside the barrel of the pen, there is no danger of accidentally squeezing and spilling ink. Definitely a good buy for a great price.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  i really do like this..., March 2, 2014
By ran...
i really do like this pen. it works in all the ways all the other revierws say, just my one problem is that i wanted to change the ink and get something a bit lighter in it for washes. i soaked my nib in water over night and everything, but it isn't sucking up the new ink i put in. my nib was old but i bought a new one so we'll see. it isn't the ink as i put it in the platinum refillable pen and that one is soaking it up just fine.
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  it restored my manho..., March 24, 2010
it restored my manhood.
0 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  Please restock!..., August 7, 2008
Please restock!