JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 9, 2013
One of my all-time favorites,...
One of my all-time favorites, ever since I was in single digits and appropriated them from my Dad's pencil-mug. In spite of all the excellent writing utensils at my disposal, I always seem to come back to this pencil, the 0.7mm leads hold up quite nicely to my heavy-handed writing habits and the pencil holds up to abuse quite well.

2 people found this helpful
 
October 10, 2014
Not my favorite- too...
Not my favorite- too light in weight. Has been banished to the cup of abandoned writing devices.

biffybeans
 
October 10, 2013
I got hooked on these...
I got hooked on these pencils many years ago, in art school. While not a "recommended" pencil for class, I found them great for quick sketches. The only drawback is the eraser--press too hard & you get more lead exposed. I quickly discovered that having an eraser stick at hand is quite useful. I've tried other mechanical pencils, but keep coming back to these; they're very sturdy & hold up well.

 
July 6, 2013
A no nonsense mechanical...
A no nonsense mechanical pencil for both drafting and writing. I like the 0.7mm leads for writing as they don't break as easy as the thinner leads. Feels good in the hands and priced right. Eraser is a bit small like most mechanical pencils, so I'd recommend a small to medium eraser to go with it.

silkcut63
 
March 1, 2013
Heres my review on this...
Verified Purchase
Heres my review on this pencil.


Pros:
Length - Decent, not real long, not real short, it works.
Pipe Length - About standard, not enough to make a difference on how I hold it for writing.
Tip - Works well enough, no gripes.
Grip - Has one.
Body - More of a solid piece, dont really have to worry about it unscrewing at the tip, works well.
Clip - Standard, works well enough.
Cap - One mine, they've never slipped off, so thats a HUGE plus in my book.
Eraser - Has one, but I really dont use it. Some have the needle for clearing, never needed it personally.
Finish - Kinda shiny, doesnt show scratches really, the shiny metal makes it more appealing to the eye. The different body colors makes it easy to see what lead size the pencil is.
Weight - On the lighter side, not a problem in my book, weight isnt really ever an issue with me in pencils.
Lettering - Pretty decent, they placed it a good spot where it really wont get rubbed off from using it consonantly.


Cons:
Tip - Has unscrewed before while writing, nothing major, and again, this is the pencil I've used the most in my writing.
Lead Indicator - Doesnt have one, I just write whatever lead softness I'm using and tape it on the body below the cap.
Grip - Biggest problem, not that its a huge problem, but it tends to get slippery when writing for hours. Wish the grip groves were more pronounced.

Overall:
I love this pencil, I've gotten more used to other drafting pencils with better grips and other features, but I wouldnt feel right not having one of these. For the price, definitely worth having. I own the 0.5mm, 0.7mm and the 0.9mm

ericgustafson2004
 
September 3, 2012
I have quite a few drafting...
Verified Purchase
I have quite a few drafting pencils and somehow or another this one ends up in my hands the most! It simply fits perfectly in my hands. It's light, but not cheap feeling and it's very well balanced. It's just perfect for drawing and sketching.

nocturnal9696
 
August 15, 2012
Used for mathematics,...
Used for mathematics, note taking, and writing.
smooth pencil. like the previous reviewer said, plastic always makes me go "well, i don't know" but it's sturdy. i've thrown this pencil in bags, pockets, onto table tops, dropped it. it just keeps going... you won't be disappointed.

 
February 27, 2012
For the price, this pencil...
For the price, this pencil is excellent. Clean, simple, and sturdy design. Though I usually shy away from hard plastic pencils, I have been very pleased with the Pentel Sharp.