JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
June 4, 2014
I've had this pencil...
I've had this pencil for over 25 years. I've replaced them once when my original got scratched up over the years. It is my favorite mechanical pencil by far. Okay, so I don't have large hands so some of the comments about it being small don't apply. But the feel and durability have been a blessing. I still have my original drafting pencils but when I need a pencil that protects the metal tip, this has been great. Years ago, I dropped my backpack from my shoulder to the floor and the metal tip bent. And there went the pencil. I put an extra one of these in my bag and don't even worry.

And as for the eraser ... using the eraser on mechanical pencils is just silly. I learned from my drafting days to always carry a separate eraser and that's that.

1 person found this helpful
 
March 10, 2014
I love this pencil. ...
Verified Purchase
I love this pencil. It feels and looks great but broke in two days. Fixing it was no hassle at all. Super glue did the trick and to this day I have no regrets. Might buy a different color soon.

jdavoodzadeh9598
 
February 16, 2013
Just a note about the...
Just a note about the eraser. It does exist. It is hidden in the top of the cap. You have to post the cap on the pencil to access the eraser.


carol.kohn
 
April 30, 2012
This pencil is pretty...
This pencil is pretty good and it looks really classy. To be honest, it's not ergonomic at all and your hand gets cramped after a long use. I personally think it's because the pencil is really small. I think this pencil is a must have for the fact that it looks really classy. Overall, I would rather buy the alpha gel or a kuru toga.

 
March 15, 2012
I love my Pentel Sharp...
I love my Pentel Sharp Kerry. I just can't help but be impressed every time I whip out this baby. It's so visually appealing and such a pleasure to write with that it sparked my growing enthusiasm for mechanical pencils.

PROS:
+ The metallic, midnight sapphire color of this pen is gorgeous and classy. The silver complements the blue beautifully. An inscribed Kerry and Pentel logo really completes the design.
+ The cap locks on securely with a satisfying "click" and protects the unique, stylized tip from harm.
+ Thanks to the arched clip, the Kerry can slide onto multiple pieces of paper without catching.
+ My Kerry has yet to jam or slip. It works with both HB and B lead.

CONS:
- The metal texture on the body of the pen seems to be there for appearances only. It's too high on the body to be a real grip. The body unscrews there.
- When writing with the cap on, the long clip sometimes digs into my hand. The cap can also chafe, although it's definitely bearable.
- A part on the cap rattles when shaken, but that's because of its design.
- The eraser is pitifully small and a little difficult to get to. The eraser cap comes with no grips and is sometimes hard to remove.
- It only comes in 0.5 mm.

These are minor complaints; the pros overwhelm the cons. Otherwise, I have no qualms about this pen. These pens are well worth their price. I hope to obtain an olive version soon!

copicarker
 
February 20, 2011
This is a very small...
This is a very small pen,sterdy and strong. It is the finest pen I've ever had.

jaimevel2011
 
May 17, 2010
My dad had a few of these...
My dad had a few of these that were over 20 years old. They weren't called Kerry, but it's the exact same pencil. We were surprised to find that Pentel was still making them and they are actually pretty easy to find. Highly recommended if you want a classy mechanical pencil that writes well while looking good.

 
November 30, 2009
great pencil! all metal...
great pencil! all metal except barrel. cap is all metal. all the inner parts like lead extender and barrel are metal. very nice wait and well balanced. narrow grip looks uncomfortable but i can write with this pen for hours and have no cramps. i get hand cramps with normal pencils

 
July 9, 2009
Since the body is made...
Verified Purchase
Since the body is made of plastic and the cap is of metal, the colors don't match exactly, but this is not a real a issue.

When the cap is placed at the other end of the pencil, an ingenious mechanism allows you to advance the lead by depressing the top of the cap.

Stylish and affordable.

Fast shipping to Canada, very reliable seller, thank you!

 
November 2, 2008
The pictures of the Kerry...
The pictures of the Kerry are nice, but one cannot fully appreciate the good looks of this pencil until they see it in person. The body is plastic, but really looks metallic until you actually pick it up and hold it. For its size, it's got a nice weight to it, but is well balanced. The cap is metal and contains the eraser. The inner barrel that holds the lead is also made of metal. Since this pencil is capped, it is pocket safe, which gives it a good advantage over many other pencils. Overall a great pencil.

wlawmiller