My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (17 customer reviews)
Write Review
10 out of 11 people found the following review helpful
  When I was a child, my..., March 15, 2011
By ohn...
When I was a child, my dad, who was a technical illustrator, always had pencils in his breast pocket. When we'd go out to eat, and I'd inevitably want to draw on the placemats, I always secretly hoped he'd pull this pencil out of his pocket for me.
This is a pencil that creates glowing childhood memories. Dad's was black, I got mine in olive, but hey, I'm my own person. I use this pencil to awaken people who have, perhaps, allowed themselves to succumb to the culture that regards pencils as equivalent in importance to, say, toilet paper or plastic cutlery. It never fails in its ambassadorship. This pencil speaks for pencilkind. Buy this pencil.

(star rating should be considered logarithmic)
7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  If you are looking for..., January 4, 2011
By dar...
If you are looking for a high quality, professional pencil, the Sharp Kerry is it. I have every color of this pencil, including the ones made in the 1970s that have the characteristic "5" imprinted on the cap instead of "Kerry." It is perfectly balanced while writing and will improve the handwriting of anyone. I am an engineer and it works well with templates. Overall, this is the world's best pencil, in my opinion. I don't go anywhere without one. While in school, I would have multiple people ask me about it. When I would let them write with it, it was not long before I noticed they had picked at least one up for themselves. (Usually, they would buy at least 2). Once you own one of these, it is hard not to want the other ones....! GREAT PENCIL!!
4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  It's all that! There..., July 21, 2011
By sha...
It's all that! There are numerous glowing reviews of this pencil, but if you don't own one already you may be asking yourself "Is this pencil really that good?" The answer, in a word: it's better (ok, that was 2 words, or maybe 3 I'm not sure how you count contractions. Call it 2.5)

I have this pencil in black, blue, red, and now Olive! And I must give a BIG shout out to JetPens (& Elizabeth) for customer service that rocks! Short version: (1) an issue arose with my order, (2) JetPens pulled out all the stops and fixed it! Price, selection, and CUSTOMER SERVICE means JetPens is my go to source for office-ernalia. Now, if I can just find a way to tell the world about JetPens without my wife finding out I'm still buying mechanical pencils...
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Several months ago, I..., March 1, 2011
By eve...
Several months ago, I was looking for a new mechanical pencil. I had been through many different types and I'd finally found a favorite in the Pentel P205 - a superb, well-balanced pencil - but it was time to try something different.

I learned of the Kerry through davesmechanicalpencils.blogspot.com - I read the review and decided to order one. I was a little hesitant at first with the two piece design as I had never had a pencil with a cap before, however, this has quickly become my favorite pencil. I absolutely love it! It has a nice balance and a sophistication to it that I just don't seem to find in other pencils. I only wish they made it in a .3 mm or .4 mm version.

This is a superb pencil - very hard to go wrong with this beauty!
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Hate to be "that guy,"..., September 1, 2013
Hate to be "that guy," but it really bugs me that the body color of this pencil doesn't match the cap. They tried to match the colors, but being made with two different processes, they don't get it right. You can see remnant swirls of the injection pattern of the pearlescent olive plastic in the body. The cap, on the other hand, has a nice metallic finish which appears to be what they were trying to mimic with plastic. The function and feel of this pencil is really nice, but if you're the type of person who spends this much on a pencil, you might be annoyed that the body doesn't match the cap. Perhaps go with the black one as it is less obvious.
  If I could give this..., July 11, 2013
If I could give this pencil more than 5 stars, I definitely would. I have written reviews on other colors of this pencil. It is my absolute favorite, and I own one of each color offered here!
  Truly beautiful pencil,..., October 31, 2012
Truly beautiful pencil, incredibly cool cap with the ratchet button clicking through when posted. Pentel absolutely NEEDS to make matching Kerry rollerball and fountain pens, I'd buy in a heartbeat. Only taking a point off since the only lead size is 0.5mm in this color, and I prefer 0.9mm or 2.0mm.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  The pencil itself is..., October 4, 2012
By oik...
The pencil itself is quite good. Very well made and the cap design is clever. I used the free shipping and it came quick (I live in Hawaii). The only downside was that the Pencil itself did not come in any package. It was just loose in the shipping envelope with the other Items I had purchased. My local store carries only the blue one and so I know it is suppose to be in a Factory package. But it works, just feels like I received a Demo, for 21.50 you would hope for an item that is unopened and in its own packaging.
  After all the rave reviews..., June 10, 2012
By sso...
After all the rave reviews about this pen I decided to take the plunge. I use this simply for note taking and keep it clipped in my front shirt pocket. It runs a little small for my hand but it is very light weight and I can use it for long periods without issue. After about two weeks I noticed the outside of the cap displayed signs of small scratches. Then the erasure cap fell off somehow and is now lost. I bought a set of Z3-1 replacement erasures at the time of purchase. The first replacement fit very well. For some reason the subsequent ones are not fitting in snugly so they slip out. For a $20+ pencil, I expect far better quality. Needless to say, I'm not happy with it after only 5 weeks of light use.
  I just ordered this :D..., June 22, 2011
By edw...
I just ordered this :D because my friend had a few and I WANTED ONE myself! -_- IT seems like a great pencil. You can spin it on a desk and it will simultaneously spin on the same spot! <--- Seems fun when your bored during class! I hope this pencil doesn't get the led stuck like those of the DR GRIP's < Horrible -_-
  I've had this pencil..., November 29, 2010
By cor...
I've had this pencil for 25 years. Still going strong! I just ordered a pink one 'cause I wanted to have a new color. This thing does not quit or jam and holds lots of leads. Perfect for my work.
  I think it's amazing..., November 12, 2010
I think it's amazing how a pencil that appears so plain and simple can be so wonderful and so perfect. It doesn't matter what lead I use in this, it writes wonderfully. For some reason I hold this pencil more properly than I do others, and it's natural. WONDERFUL, and anyone on JetPens should be required to own one
  I seriously doubt I will..., May 6, 2010
I seriously doubt I will hold a mechanical pencil better than the Pentel Sharp Kerry Mechanical Pencil. There is just everything right and nothing wrong with this writing instrument. I feel naked only owning one. I will buy at least two more.
  Such a genius pencil..., February 1, 2010
Such a genius pencil!
  Please Restock! Doesn't..., December 27, 2009
By bli...
Please Restock! Doesn't appear this can be purchased anywhere other than from Japan.
  When I bought this, I..., March 17, 2009
When I bought this, I had no idea just how nice it would be. It has a very retro feel and look. I love how the click lead advance works with, and without the cap posted. The olive color is very vintage looking, and it's my hands-down favorite mechanical pencil for looks and feel. I so wish they would make a matching roller ball, ball point, or fountain pen to go with this, so that I could have a matched set.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Does anyone know what..., February 17, 2011
By lba...
Does anyone know what type of lead is included with the originally purchased Pentel Sharp Kerry Mechanical Pencil - 0.5mm?