JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (17 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 15, 2011
When I was a child, my...
When I was a child, my dad, who was a technical illustrator, always had pencils in his breast pocket. When we'd go out to eat, and I'd inevitably want to draw on the placemats, I always secretly hoped he'd pull this pencil out of his pocket for me.
This is a pencil that creates glowing childhood memories. Dad's was black, I got mine in olive, but hey, I'm my own person. I use this pencil to awaken people who have, perhaps, allowed themselves to succumb to the culture that regards pencils as equivalent in importance to, say, toilet paper or plastic cutlery. It never fails in its ambassadorship. This pencil speaks for pencilkind. Buy this pencil.

(star rating should be considered logarithmic)

11 people found this helpful
 
January 4, 2011
If you are looking for...
If you are looking for a high quality, professional pencil, the Sharp Kerry is it. I have every color of this pencil, including the ones made in the 1970s that have the characteristic "5" imprinted on the cap instead of "Kerry." It is perfectly balanced while writing and will improve the handwriting of anyone. I am an engineer and it works well with templates. Overall, this is the world's best pencil, in my opinion. I don't go anywhere without one. While in school, I would have multiple people ask me about it. When I would let them write with it, it was not long before I noticed they had picked at least one up for themselves. (Usually, they would buy at least 2). Once you own one of these, it is hard not to want the other ones....! GREAT PENCIL!!

7 people found this helpful
darrendickson
 
July 21, 2011
It's all that! There...
Verified Purchase
It's all that! There are numerous glowing reviews of this pencil, but if you don't own one already you may be asking yourself "Is this pencil really that good?" The answer, in a word: it's better (ok, that was 2 words, or maybe 3 I'm not sure how you count contractions. Call it 2.5)

I have this pencil in black, blue, red, and now Olive! And I must give a BIG shout out to JetPens (& Elizabeth) for customer service that rocks! Short version: (1) an issue arose with my order, (2) JetPens pulled out all the stops and fixed it! Price, selection, and CUSTOMER SERVICE means JetPens is my go to source for office-ernalia. Now, if I can just find a way to tell the world about JetPens without my wife finding out I'm still buying mechanical pencils...

4 people found this helpful
shanehenrycpa
 
March 1, 2011
Several months ago, I...
Verified Purchase
Several months ago, I was looking for a new mechanical pencil. I had been through many different types and I'd finally found a favorite in the Pentel P205 - a superb, well-balanced pencil - but it was time to try something different.

I learned of the Kerry through davesmechanicalpencils.blogspot.com - I read the review and decided to order one. I was a little hesitant at first with the two piece design as I had never had a pencil with a cap before, however, this has quickly become my favorite pencil. I absolutely love it! It has a nice balance and a sophistication to it that I just don't seem to find in other pencils. I only wish they made it in a .3 mm or .4 mm version.

This is a superb pencil - very hard to go wrong with this beauty!

3 people found this helpful
everygodforhimself
 
July 11, 2013
If I could give this...
Verified Purchase
If I could give this pencil more than 5 stars, I definitely would. I have written reviews on other colors of this pencil. It is my absolute favorite, and I own one of each color offered here!

felicia.davis
 
October 31, 2012
Truly beautiful pencil,...
Verified Purchase
Truly beautiful pencil, incredibly cool cap with the ratchet button clicking through when posted. Pentel absolutely NEEDS to make matching Kerry rollerball and fountain pens, I'd buy in a heartbeat. Only taking a point off since the only lead size is 0.5mm in this color, and I prefer 0.9mm or 2.0mm.

luke.davulis
 
October 4, 2012
The pencil itself is...
Verified Purchase
The pencil itself is quite good. Very well made and the cap design is clever. I used the free shipping and it came quick (I live in Hawaii). The only downside was that the Pencil itself did not come in any package. It was just loose in the shipping envelope with the other Items I had purchased. My local store carries only the blue one and so I know it is suppose to be in a Factory package. But it works, just feels like I received a Demo, for 21.50 you would hope for an item that is unopened and in its own packaging.

1 person found this helpful
 
June 10, 2012
After all the rave reviews...
Verified Purchase
After all the rave reviews about this pen I decided to take the plunge. I use this simply for note taking and keep it clipped in my front shirt pocket. It runs a little small for my hand but it is very light weight and I can use it for long periods without issue. After about two weeks I noticed the outside of the cap displayed signs of small scratches. Then the erasure cap fell off somehow and is now lost. I bought a set of Z3-1 replacement erasures at the time of purchase. The first replacement fit very well. For some reason the subsequent ones are not fitting in snugly so they slip out. For a $20+ pencil, I expect far better quality. Needless to say, I'm not happy with it after only 5 weeks of light use.

ssommer19
 
June 22, 2011
I just ordered this :D...
Verified Purchase
I just ordered this :D because my friend had a few and I WANTED ONE myself! -_- IT seems like a great pencil. You can spin it on a desk and it will simultaneously spin on the same spot! <--- Seems fun when your bored during class! I hope this pencil doesn't get the led stuck like those of the DR GRIP's < Horrible -_-

edwin_voong
 
November 29, 2010
I've had this pencil...
I've had this pencil for 25 years. Still going strong! I just ordered a pink one 'cause I wanted to have a new color. This thing does not quit or jam and holds lots of leads. Perfect for my work.