x
1 - 10 of 11 |  | 
High Quality and Comfortable...
November 8, 2011
Verified Purchase
High Quality and Comfortable

Looks are subjective so I won't get into that.
I am an Engineering student and can say with confidence that this is a very well designed and high quality mechanical pencil. As a engineering student I spend well over thirty hours a week writing. I have long
fingers and even though the Kerry looks short and stubby in the photos, it is amazingly comfortable in my large hand. This is my go-to-pencil when I have to spend hours at a time writing homework.

In writing configuration the pencil is about 5 3/16" (13.2 cm) long and about 4 15/16" (12.5 cm) when capped up. The grip is a bit thicker than you would suspect from the photos, tapers from about 10mm to 8mm, and has a nice hefty feel to it.
Overall the Sharp Kerry feels well balanced in the hand, has a medium weight and rock solid when writing.
The 0.7mm graphite-lead is held solid in place, no slopping around when you're writing.
The Sharp Kerry reminds me of a luxury version of a #2 pencil.

The lead advance is also precise letting small increments of lead with each push of the button. The lead advance mechanism is very clever having the button located at the tip of the dual-purpose removable cap/pocket clip. The internal barrel push button pushes out the retractable cap button when the cap is moved to the top of the barrel for writing. When packed away the cap protects the lead-end tip.

I'm glad I have one.
10 people found this helpful
These are fantastic,...
May 21, 2015
These are fantastic, durable, and useful pencils. The cap allows you to practically carry it about in your pocket. The tension on the lead is nice, the mechanism is reliable, and the finish is good for what is really just a well designed, plastic pencil.

I liked the first one so much that I bought another in case I lost the first. I've used mine quite a bit and they still work after a Lamy and a Kaweco (both .7mm) failed.
5 people found this helpful
I've owned this pen for...
May 25, 2014
I've owned this pen for at least a couple of years now, so it's time for a review.
As far as the build goes, it's solid and tight. If it were a car, it would have that satisfying muffled thunk of a luxury car door closing. Another reviewer noted the small incremental lead advance...so I compared about 25 clicks of the Kerry vs. a 7mm Koh-I-Noor Rapidomatic that I like, and, sure enough, the Kerry lead was shorter by a millimeter...vs. an Alvin Draftline, even shorter. So okay, I'll agree it's a plus.
The feel is good, and the heft is moderate, but not to the point of fatigue.

Overall, it's a fine mechanical pencil.
4 people found this helpful
sharkbait99501
I've used the Kerry pencil...
November 18, 2015
I've used the Kerry pencil for more than 30 years. My dad had one and when I was in junior high, I used any excuse possible to use his 0.5mm Kerry pencil. When I was a junior in high school, my dad gave me my own 0.5mm Kerry pencil which I still have today. I thought I lost my original Kerry pencil around the turn of the century, so I was pleased when, in 2005, the Kerry appeared in an office supply catalogue and I ordered it immediately. I later found my original 0.5mm and passed my new 0.5mm Kerry to my son. Today, I keep my original Kerry stored safely away and am using exclusively the 0.7mm pencil; I tend to write in a heavy-handed manner and I've found the 0.7mm is perfect for my style of writing for work and I have yet to encounter any fatigue while using this pencil. Good writing instruments are definitely a worthy investment.
3 people found this helpful
oldschoolskater
Have been using Pentel...
August 31, 2015
Verified Purchase
Have been using Pentel mechanical pencils for years, and this is another fine addition to the collection.
1 person found this helpful
Vvalkyrie
Its eye candy and delightful...
November 30, 2013
Its eye candy and delightful to write with for extended periods of time but during exams or stressful situations could be a bit uncomfortable if your hands begin to sweat there is no gel or knurled grip to save you.
1 person found this helpful
jayescobedo
I love this mechanical...
June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase
I love this mechanical pencil! The removeable cap prevents the point from ruining my dress shirts. The mechanical components work flawlessly.
1 person found this helpful
ATPoole2004
These are by far the...
February 2, 2016
Verified Purchase
These are by far the best looking mechanical pencils on the market today. In my opinion. They are streamlined, space age and have a beautiful candy lacquer finish. The cap comes off, like a fine pen, and posts on the barrel with a nice confident click. After it is posted the lead advances with the cap's end button. Very cool, well thought out and very ergonomic. There is an eraser in the end that is covered up by the cap when it is posted which is a bit of a pain if you go to the eraser often.......if you go to the eraser often you should probably have a block eraser nearby anyway because most mechanical pencils have tiny anemic erasers and this one is no exception. I have large hands and I find this pencil a real pleasure to use. It is lightweight enough so it doesn't pull down on a shirt pocket.....I think it actually adds a little style to a shirt pocket. The lead is inside a guard tube which is always good but with the cap on it won't stick into your tender chest bits.
arudolph88
Very nice writing pencil,...
December 22, 2015
Verified Purchase
Very nice writing pencil, compact design looks nice and is easy to take with you.
shawn46060
This is a great looking...
June 22, 2015
Verified Purchase
This is a great looking pencil. It just doesn't have the weight of the Retro 51 Hexomatic
mwmckee21
1 - 10 of 11 |  |