JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.0 (26 customer reviews)
Write Review
June 1, 2011
Oh Slicci. How do I love...
Oh Slicci. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. Or at least write a little review blurb.

Seriously, this is the best pen I've ever written with. I am a pen junkie (like I suspect many of you are). I love my Hi-Tec-Cs, I love my Sakura Microns, I love my Staedtlers...but the .25mm Slicci is a dream come true. Right now I have 8 colors, and I have 10 more on the way. I'm writing this review for the black pen because a) it was the first Slicci I bought and b) I use it most.

Things I love about the .25mm Slicci:

1. Super-fine tip that is also sturdy.
2. Ink flows very well, rarely skips.
3. So many colors!
4. My tiny hands love the thin barrel.
5. Very lightweight; easy to use for extended periods of time
6. With the superfine tip and gel ink, lines drawn/written are VERY precise. I've drawn incredibly intricate things with the Slicci that I never would've been able to with my other pens.
7. All this for only 3 bucks.

In the interest of fairness, I'll say the following:

The purple Slicci disappointed me a little bit. It's a fuchsia-ish shade, and I like rich royal purples. Also, something about purple gel inks, for some reason they never flow quite as well as other colors. Just my bad luck? Maybe. I mean, the purple Slicci is still a wonderful pen, but it could use some tweaking.
Caveat to my number 4 above: Yes, I love the thin barrel, but I recognize that it isn't for everyone. I have an...unconventional...way of holding pens that is most conducive to thin barrels. Those of you who find it too thin, perhaps a rubber grip thingy would help?
Yes, I've had a couple Sliccis (even black ones) die on me. Chances are some of them actually ran out of ink, knowing how much I use them. For the ones that still had ink, if I set it aside for a few days, it'd usually start up again. Some of them might just have had screwy tips. Clearly my few uncooperative pens haven't dampened my love for the Slicci in general!

I realize I've basically written a dissertation here, so I'll sum it up in two words: EXCELLENT PEN. :)

2 people found this helpful
owlesque5
 
November 18, 2011
Just what I'd expect...
Verified Purchase
Just what I'd expect from a Slicci-Sharp clean lines while delivering a smooth experience for the point size. First couple sentences I wrote with it, I had to do some scribbling, but ever since, it's preformed flawlessly. The skipping is barely noticeable and I'm pretty picky. I have yet to find this crisp sharp line from another pen, and I may never. This puts an end to all of my problems-its pretty much everything I need. The only concern I have is that I've heard these die out. This pen writes so well though that I am going to have to overlook it. The skinny barrel is another thing that people complain about, but after a week of use, it feels normal to me. As far as coming out of a package and having amazing results, this is a five out of five. I would definitely try this out if you like a sharp, clean, and consistent line. This pen is definitely my pen of choice.

1 person found this helpful
spam.blakney
 
September 8, 2011
The line is suitably...
Verified Purchase
The line is suitably fine but I find the pens dry out very quickly and I have never been able to use one up before it clogs on me.

1 person found this helpful
anniemac43
 
September 22, 2009
Yep, this is my pen of...
Verified Purchase
Yep, this is my pen of choice. I've been studying japanese lately and needed a pen to write kanji small but discernable- this does the trick. Strong tip, hardly every skips during writing, and the ink is actually black.

Get you a 5mm ruled notebook with graph paper on the left hand sides (for larger kanji memorization and writing practice) and get your study on with this bad boy! The only con is that it is skinny so it will hurt your hard if you grip it too hard. Be delicate, or get a gripslip for it. 5 out of 5!

1 person found this helpful
 
April 25, 2008
This is my favorite pen!...
Verified Purchase
This is my favorite pen! Smooth line, never skips. You do need a light hand to use this fine of a tip. I drive people I work with nuts with my super fine point pens. I've used the black, blue, orange, green and purple slicci 0.25's and only had trouble with the purples. The rest are my tried and true go-to pens for everyday and everything.

1 person found this helpful
 
October 31, 2014
This is the best pen...
Verified Purchase
This is the best pen I've ever had. It makes no blobs or skips, and it doesn't slip around as I write (as the cheap pens do). I use it especially to make notes in the margins of books and to make notes to myelf. I can make my writing small but still legible. It's also great for letters and notetaking.

 
October 20, 2014
Love this pen. Durable...
Verified Purchase
Love this pen. Durable and lightweight, and very consistent flow. Will buy again, and again, and again.

 
October 12, 2014
Worked great when new,...
Verified Purchase
Worked great when new, skips badly now after just 2 weeks. Other colors working great. Like the Slicci a lot, the black one must have been a dud.

 
February 28, 2014
Wow, I was really surprised...
Verified Purchase
Wow, I was really surprised by this pen. I thought that the price was a little high for a seemingly basic ink pen, but now I understand. I use this for all of my sketches now, the ink is very fluid but doesn't blob up at all, the pen is very light-weight and think so it feels great to hold for long periods of time. Well worth the money!

ajagee24701
 
December 1, 2013
In general, I don't just...
Verified Purchase
In general, I don't just love Slicci pens, I LOVE them. Love. However, I would steer you toward the 0.3, 0.4 (my fave) or 0.7mm which I have given a 5 out of 5 stars (but would love to give them a 10 out of 5 stars if possible!). The 0.25mm Slicci skips a lot, always feels on the verge of dried out, and with the least amount of pressure, bends the tip rendering it useless. It feels strange giving any Slicci 2 out of 5 stars, b/c I use this brand the most of ANY pen I own (and I own more than most here can imagine) but the 0.25mm doesn't do the name justice, and I think they need to either improve its function/design or just stick to what they do better than well, wider width tips. Buy the Slicci, just not the 0.25. 0.3 and 0.4 are plenty fine - and the 0.3 seems to write like a 0.25 of other brands, so you won't sacrifice in fine-ness, but will get significantly better quality if you just size up. Slicci is a bargain for the quality, and once you find the width that works, buy a lot, but watch out if you store the refills - I've had issues with ink drying even in fully packaged refills, but that's for another review! :)

CamillaDog