JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (40 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 5, 2011
I never thought I would...
I never thought I would feel this way about a pencil. I love it. It's balanced perfectly - how can it be both hefty and weightless? - and is exactly the right shape and weight for my hand. I write a lot and never tire of using the Smash. But as others have said, apart from this being an excellent pencil, there's something else, something indefinable about it. I have feelings for this pencil. Warm, emotional feelings. I love you, Pentel Smash.

10 people found this helpful
jane.hammond
 
May 6, 2009
All the other reviews...
Verified Purchase
All the other reviews are right on the money: this pencil is amazing, and the reason is quite perplexing. Sure, it's extremely comfortable, aesthetically delicious, and technically precise, but...there's just something there, something indescribable, and that makes all the difference.

5 people found this helpful
vg_emblem
 
September 25, 2011
i used to think this...
i used to think this was the best pencil in the world, (said in my previous comment) but things all took a turn for the worst after a few weeks of usage.
1. The paint started flaking
2. The tip was bending
3. The pencil was just not living up to the high expectations i had


3 people found this helpful
braniachernandez
 
May 12, 2011
OMG I LOVE THE PENTEL...
Verified Purchase
OMG I LOVE THE PENTEL SMASHHHH!!!!!!!!! Ok so this id=s the first day I've had it and I'm already in love with it. it has a great grip, style and just about everything else. Before I was a Pentel Graphgear 1000 user then I ordered a Uni Kuru-Toga. I was using it for about 3-4 months but just a couple week ago it broke. The lead wouldn't come out in small quantities, it would come out it huge pieces. (If you know how to fix this please let me know.) So then i returned to using my Graphgear. after a while I got sick of it and I was browsing through JetPens under the Pentel section (because that's my favorite brand) and I can across the Pentel Smash and the Pentel Graph 1000. I was torn between the two but after reading the reviews I decided to go with he Smash. This NOT a choice I regret. And considering the rareness of this pencil I HIGHLY RECOMEND YOU GET THE PENTEL SMASH!!!!

3 people found this helpful
unbiasedstone
 
April 24, 2013
I use this pencil for...
Verified Purchase
I use this pencil for over 8 Months now, nearly daily. I'm drawing with it and it seems I either take good care to my stuff or my Smash is way stronger than bra...'s. ^^;
Because, my Pencil has not any of the mentioned problems. I am pleased with its lightweight design and the grips. Before I laid my hands on this one I used to draw with a Pentel Graphgear. This one was too 'heavy' for me... and had a kinda cold appearance at all. My Hands welcome the Smash much more. After more than a half year I'm still very pleased with this product.

2 people found this helpful
 
July 13, 2011
this is another good...
Verified Purchase
this is another good review fro the pentel smash, its an amazing instrument sweet looking, balanced well blah blah bla.
i do technical drawing and alot of free hand sketching and this is my no. 1 tool, the grip is really nice but after a while i just took it out with pair of forceps and its different but a really cool grip as well. i love this damn pencil!

1 person found this helpful
akhk.4649
 
January 22, 2011
Hey! I love you spaceship...
Verified Purchase
Hey! I love you spaceship pencil! So strong and precise almost like Rotring 600! Your body is nice to look at! But you stab me if I let you into my pants!

1 person found this helpful
hueycobrahueycobra
 
October 13, 2010
BEST MECHANICAL PENCIL...
Verified Purchase
BEST MECHANICAL PENCIL EVER. All my life I've felt an empty void... until I found this pencil.

1 person found this helpful
 
February 27, 2013
This pencil is a real...
Verified Purchase
This pencil is a real gem. I can honestly say that it's the best mechanical pencil I've held and I can tell it's going to last a long time.

++ I love the design! I know knurled grips are all the fashion, but honestly, the little rubbery dots on the Smash are so much more adorable and far more comfortable. The gently sloping tip is a wonderful contrast to the uncomfortable, terraced tip of pencils like the Kuru Toga. For people who grip their pencils low, the Smash is going to be much more comfortable. I'm a death-gripper, so these are big pluses.

++ The lead indicator is fixed, whereas in the Rotring 500, the indicator is loose and slides around freely.

++ It's such a reliable pencil. I know it's not going to fail me. My Kuru Toga has already started lead slipping.

++ The Smash feels great in the hand. It's hard to believe that this pencil isn't made completely of metal! The inside is plastic, but the barrel is metal. The pencil as a whole has a satisfying weighty feeling. It's heavier than the Rotring 500.

++ I don't know if it's just the lead inside the pencil, but the Smash is a dream to write with. So smooth and dreamy; this pencil just glides.

I recommend the Pentel Smash over the Rotring 500. I initially bought a Smash for my friend's birthday present, but after using it once, I really didn't want to let it go. I gave it to my friend and bought a Rotring for myself. I wish I'd bought another Smash instead! The Rotring's knurled grip and dramatic tip was a punishment to my fingers and doubled the size of my pencil callus. The Rotring is definitely a solid pencil, but the Smash is so much smoother, feels more at home in the hand, and seems to have more metal parts (I think part of the Rotring's casing is plastic). I gave in and bought another Smash, and I'm so glad I did.

copicarker
 
November 1, 2012
Best pencil I own. I...
Best pencil I own. I prefer it in writing, graphing, drafting and doing equations. I prefer it even over my rotring drafting pencils. Just something about it that is just amazing. I'm ordering another just to keep a back-up incase anything happens to it. Just buy it.