JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 25, 2011
I bought this brush pen,...
Verified Purchase
I bought this brush pen, alongside others, to test whether there was anything better than my so-far-favourite Pentel Pocket Brush Pen (PENTEL XGFKP-A)
Although the size of this pentel standard tsumi tip might be surprisingly big for some, I do like quite the feel of it. It makes kanji strokes look beautiful and artistic with the light "spring" in the tip, I adore that. The ink is nicely black as well, however all in all I still prefer the Pentel Pocket Brush pen. For one, ots ink seems to come out a bit more regularly and "completely". With the Standard Brush Pen, when writing on normal printing paper, the ink is a little "runny", or rather, the contours aren't smooth. Another point is, that when water is applied to the paper, the ink will run a little, and the background will colour lightly pink. With the Pentel Pocket Brush Pen however, nothing happens. It's absolutely water proof.
Hope I could be helpful to some!

4 people found this helpful
aoutorihan
 
October 8, 2011
This is a great product,...
This is a great product, I never really used brushes before but now I use this all the time for rough sketching as it forces you to be less detail obsessed and loose. I have the standard tip but I plan on picking up the fine tip to see how it fairs on detailing finished illustrations. At the moment I mainly only use it on finished inking for the bold outer lines or to block in shadow regions.

Also, I feel like I need to correct a couple of the reviews above that are mistakenly thinking the little white (or other colours depending on the tip) ring is a seal. It is not a seal and is meant to be discarded (the instructions show this), the pen should look like it does in the below test illustration, the ink reservoir simply attaches directly to the clear plastic grip section.

I hope this is helpful as I have read others marking this product line down for "flow issues" when I am afraid they are actually assembling it incorrectly.

Just to reiterate, this is an excellent product, much less annoying/ messy than an actual brush and ink and please ignore the reviews that mention flow issues, it's actually not a real flaw or problem.

REMEMBER FOLKS, ALWAYS READ THE INSTRUCTIONS.

3 people found this helpful
oliverbown
 
August 18, 2010
I'm not an artist, but...
Verified Purchase
I'm not an artist, but I use this for the random occasions when I feel like doing a little calligraphy and don't want to pull out my ink, brush, and inkwell. The ink is dark, and dries a little lighter than expected, but the control on this is fantastic. Squeeze a bit for some ink and relax to let it flow out. The ink's lasted me a while (a year), before I had to install a refill.

2 people found this helpful
ada.dancer14927
 
October 8, 2011
This is a superb product...
This is a superb product which I now use constantly for idea sketching as well as for larger lines and areas on finished illustration. On a lighter fine grain paper or bristol board it gives a very smooth line but on rougher sketch paper you get more of a visible, ragged edged look. I think it also depends on how absorbent the paper is but regardless this product is great because you can regulate flow by applying pressure to the ink reservoir.

This brings me to my other point, which is that one of the reviews here states that the plastic ring (white on this pen, coloured on others) is some kind of seal. In actuality, this is meant to be discarded and it used I believe as a spacer while the pen is in it's packaging, to prevent the cartridge from being punctured. In other words you discard this item and attach the ink refill directly to the clear plastic grip section (this can be seen if you look closely to the photo with the test brush strokes).

I hope this helps as I was also a bit puzzled at first and I can see it would seriously impact this products quality to make this mistake. I plan on ordering the fine tipped version soon for fine detailing as I have really fallen in love with the feel to the point where my dip pens have been permanently retired.

1 person found this helpful
oliverbown
 
July 14, 2014
This is a wonderful brush...
Verified Purchase
This is a wonderful brush pen. Along with the Pentel Pocket Brush Pen (http://www.jetpens.com/Pentel-Pocket-Brush-Pen-for-Calligraphy/pd/1793) it is my favourite pen for calligraphy.
You can achieve anything from a super fine line up to a very thick one. Some reviewers seem to have trouble with the flow - I don't see that at all. The only thing I suppose might be seen as "flow issue", is the "drying brush" effect this pen at times achieves around the edges of your writing. I quite like the effect though, so that's entirely fine with me.

The only thing that might be a downer is, that this brush pen is NOT waterproof. It smudges even after quite some time of drying, while it's brother, the Pocket Brush Pen, is entirely waterproof. If you're looking for that, buy the Pocket one, a wonderful brush pen (I wrote a lengthy review on that one, if you'd like to read about my experiences with it)

An upper: the bristles seem to be a little easier to control than the Pocket BP, so writing western characters is a bit more controllable.

aoutorihan
 
January 9, 2014
This has become the primary...
Verified Purchase
This has become the primary tool in my sketching kit. It allows me to do everything I would normally do with ink and brush, but portable and without the mess. The line variation is excellent and allows for great sloshy, energetic inking. It works well on smooth and textured paper, but I think I prefer it on smooth paper, as it allows me to do tiny details without switching tools, whereas on toothy paper it tends to run a little dry. I know some people find the tip a little large and unwieldy, but that's a matter of drawing style. If you're used to working with watercolour or liquid ink, this is actually a fair bit more forgiving. You don't need an inhumanly feather-light hand to get hairline marks out of it.

I have been using my brush HEAVILY for the past three months, and the tip is still pristine. I definitely get more out of the hair brush than I have out of its felt tip equivalents.
Overall, I highly recommend it!

spindlewit
 
September 10, 2013
This is a big brush pen...
Verified Purchase
This is a big brush pen and I'm not sure it would be the best for travel (although it is certainly an option). But for home/studio use, it's amazing. The Tsumi brush tip is soft and springy enough to give smooth, expressive lines. It isn't totally waterproof, but that works for me where others might prefer the pigmented versions of these pens. They hold plenty of ink (yes, I purchased all six pens), and the sides are easy to squeeze for more ink, but not so soft that you are giving up control over the ink flow. I am for sure buying more of the Tsumi, since I can see myself using this one on a daily basis. For me, it's exactly the right combination of brush length and density, springiness and ink flow. Love it!

thisissuzy
 
July 27, 2011
It was very nice when...
Verified Purchase
It was very nice when I used it, but after a while the mid seal just couldn't take many uses and spurt ink out.



The Pros:
Has a very nice very black ink. It works really nice in making brushstrokes.

The Cons:
The white ring is the part where it screws into two pieces. It has a very weak seal grip so if you squeeze it too hard you will get ink all over your hands. The two pieces don't screw together tightly.

1 person found this helpful