JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
February 4, 2013
I purchased Pilot Neox...
Verified Purchase
I purchased Pilot Neox High-Purity Graphite Pencil Lead - 0.5 mm - HB, Uni-ball NanoDia Low-Wear Pencil Lead - 0.5 mm - HB, and Pentel Stein Enhanced Silica Pencil Lead - 0.5 mm - HB in one order, after looking at reviews for all the 0.5mm lead available on JetPens, trying to find the one that erased the best and was longest lasting. I compared all three in a Rotring 800, on Rhodia 80g paper(A very smooth paper), without twisting the pencil(So they were all worn to the same point when I wrote with them). This was my least favorite of the bunch, being significantly harder to erase(Harder compared to the perfect Pilot and near perfect Uni-ball. It still erases well!). It leaves a slightly lighter line than the Pilot, on par with the Uni-ball. This was the longest lasting of the bunch, with the Pilot lasting half as long, and the Uni-ball lasting about 3/4 as long. It's very hard to break, I was able to write easily with about 7mm outside of the pencil at once(Uni-ball was about 7mm, Pilot got a full 10mm). All in all, all three were good leads that I would recommend to anyone. If you prefer long lasting, get this. If you prefer easy to erase, get the Pilot. If you want the best of both worlds, get the Uni-ball.

16 people found this helpful
timsandtoms
 
October 13, 2011
This is the HB lead I've...
Verified Purchase
This is the HB lead I've been looking for all my life. Smooth, very little smear if any, and strong! I just ordered the HB Soft and B as well. I annotate in the margins as I read, and prefer to use pencil on the books that have thin paper (my scriptures). This lead is the best for that purpose that I have found.

11 people found this helpful
stitchinmaniac
 
November 17, 2012
the lead is very strong...
the lead is very strong but writes really smoothly, i prefer the nano dia because it feels crisper while writing, it all depends on if u like the lead crisper or smoother

4 people found this helpful
bobbobbobbob0987654321
 
May 15, 2013
I ordered this lead and...
Verified Purchase
I ordered this lead and Pentel Stein 2B lead. I'm used to writing with Hi-Polymer HB lead and I think this lead scratches the paper slightly more than the Hi-Polymer. I'd suggest ordering the HB soft or B (since this lead is relatively strong) if you like Hi-Polymer HB.

3 people found this helpful
vkapoor3141
 
August 24, 2013
I still have this :)...
Verified Purchase
I still have this :) It hasn't run out yet and I am so excited for it to come here!!

2 people found this helpful
joany_grl
 
November 18, 2014
Great...
Verified Purchase
Great

lee.hoffpauir
 
January 2, 2014
Extremely good HB lead...
Verified Purchase
Extremely good HB lead to write with. It feels smooth when you are writing and is very strong. Also, it is easy to erase. I use the lead in my Rotring 800 and it writes perfectly. If you are looking for a lead that writes smoothly and doesn't break, then this is the lead for you. I recommend it to you for use in any .5mm mechanical pencil. This is what I'm going to be using in all my mechanical pencils from now on.

 
May 15, 2013
I have been using the...
Verified Purchase
I have been using the Pentel Stein Enhanced Silica Pencil Lead in my Zebra M-301 0.5 mm mechanical pencils for about six months, and the difference is obvious. I have two notebooks filled with Chemistry notes, and the fluidity on even the most basic of paper is markedly different than the standard M-301 lead. It's great for making notes on my small calendar; no smearing or grittiness. When I purchase a replacement M-301, I dump the lead and put this in immediately.

My husband has even noticed the difference and has asked me for "my pencil" to make notes on his calendar, in the checkbooks registers, etc. It especially shines when writing 'small.'

deanna.rasch
 
April 27, 2013
Slightly harder and lighter...
Verified Purchase
Slightly harder and lighter than others of the same grade. Case makes difficult to pull out the leads, it twists on itself and opens a small hole on the top.

 
July 31, 2012
I love this lead. I use...
Verified Purchase
I love this lead. I use it as a replacement lead in my trusty Zebra M-301 and it's by far my favorite lead. Even my husband looks for my Zebra now when he wants to draft something.

1 person found this helpful
deanna.rasch