1 - 10 of 26 |  | 
One of my all-time favorite...
October 23, 2010
One of my all-time favorite pens. Many here seemed disappointed that they were unable to vary the line width, but I have never had that problem. The key to making the pen alter widths is, first off, start with a very light touch. If you twist the pen gently while writing, you can create shading and different line width. Most of all, though, I just love the way this pen makes contact with paper. I tend to write quickly, and, as such, rollerballs tend to move too quickly across the page, and I literally "lose control" of them, and my handwriting suffers. Put the fiber-tip used in the Pental Tradio provides a great deal of friction, and, as a result, I end up writing slower, and with much greater control.

I first used this pen when it was marketed in the US as the "Pentel Fountain Pen", which was subsequently discontinued. (I was so disappointed, I actually called the public relations office at Pentel, and an extremely nice woman there went into her boss's private reserve stock, and sent me a half dozen of the pens for free!) The refillable version's has some issues...the clip has a tendency to break, and they refills seem to run out of ink faster than the old disposable kind.

Other than those minor issues, I love this pen.
4 people found this helpful
I find product reviews...
May 11, 2012
I find product reviews fascinating because the same product can receive such a wide range of ratings and impressions. Sometimes, it's almost impossible to account for the apparent discrepancy. With the Tradio there is little uncertainty about why so many may react so differently. The way we hold the pen and the way we apply pressure and move it across the page can vary so dramatically that no single mechanism for delivering ink to paper can please us all. What we really need in reviewing pens is some way of characterizing our respective writing “styles.” I'm not going to try to do that here. But I will say that this pen appeals to me for much the same reason that a Varsity does. Not its partial disposability, which I find sad, but the fact that I can grab it and write impulsively and rapidly without annoying skipping or excessive ink. I don't look for a wide range of line variation, but there is no question that I can get substantial variation if I write slowly. I don't write slowly.

Maybe these reviews would benefit if those of us who take the time to write them could make more explicit comparisons of the pen we are reviewing to those we find to be preferable. Who knows, maybe one day we can create a writing instrument genome the way Pandora is creating a music genome. Of course, we would need to collect… well, I think that should be obvious.

3 people found this helpful
Sorry, I made an error...
May 11, 2012
Sorry, I made an error in my Tradio review. I wrote "Of course, we would need to collect… well, I think that should be obvious. " Instead of "collect" I should have typed "name it..." Great way to spoil a punch line, eh? BG
1 person found this helpful
I've used the Pentel...
June 29, 2010
I've used the Pentel Arts "Stylo" JM20, which appears to be a non-refillable version of the Tradio for the American market; the unique tip looks exactly the same, except on the Stylo the plastic part containing the felt nib is ivory-colored. I'm not excited by it myself. The line variation it gives, while not dramatic, is an advantage over other felt-tip pens, and the plastic nib does seem more durable than many felt brush pens. I haven't noticed bleeding, but I have had the problem of the plastic flicking little hair-lines of ink. For me, it can't compare to a flexible metal nib or a hair brush.
1 person found this helpful
This is, I'm sure, a...
September 28, 2015
Verified Purchase
This is, I'm sure, a really great pen, and a fantastic idea - a point that can be manipulated to leave different line widths in a given stroke. Do you hear the "but" there? Yeah: I just can't train my hand to use it to the fullest of its abilities. I don't fault the pen. I get the theoretical goodnesses of the pen well enough - enough to have enthusiastically purchased it, and to keep using it, despite the fact that my script & printing, normally even and praise-worthy, look horrible, uneven, uncontrolled and so unprofessional that I'd be embarrassed to use it for work (I do "independent calligraphy/illustration for hire"). It's a fine grocery list, note-leaving, bold print reminder, to-do list pen for me. If that's okay for you, if you've got klutzy hands like I seem to have, then buy without reservation. Likewise, if you've used & mastered one of these before. I shan't be trying another, but playing with this one is fun, if I'm not invested in the out come.
I agree with the reviewer...
August 18, 2015
Verified Purchase
I agree with the reviewer who said pen reviews mean nothing because we all have different ways of using them. I have tried to figure this pen out and it baffles me. I cannot get a feel for the thing so I filed it under bad purchase.

Judging by other review some people have a better experience but compare to the tradition fountain pen feel this one does nothing for me.
Writes well, comfortable...
July 3, 2015
Verified Purchase
Writes well, comfortable to hold, decent clip. I like the little window you can see the tip with.
Depending on how I write...
June 12, 2015
Verified Purchase
Depending on how I write with it, it causes tiny splatters. But once the tip wore down it became my go to pen for drawing. Copic marker proof. Will be buying more
Love this pen. Works...
June 5, 2015
Verified Purchase
Love this pen. Works perfectly whether drawing or writing
Pentel's Tradio line...
May 22, 2015
Verified Purchase
Pentel's Tradio line is a stroke of genius, a flare tip that feels like the closest thing to writing like a quill pen, without the need to ever "dip" the pen. And like a quill, it can be "sharpened", tweaked or modded, if desired. There are now energel pens, mechanical pencils and medium nib tipped fountain pens with the same Tradio body and with as many colours, contributing to the genius of the Tradio pen.
Some people don't like the Pulaman's feel while writing, because it's not like a felt tip, nor a metal nibbed fountain pen. Some say it's to “plasticky” or cheap. For first time users it might be a "wow" or "meh" experience, it may take a little time to get used to writing with or even change the way one writes.
Professional scribes, calligraphers artists and sketchers will probably enjoy this pen the most of all people as their primary daily writing instrument. Think of it as a maintenance-free, mass-produced "quill pen". I think Pentel got it right with the Tradio and hope they never stop the production of this pen, or the other Tradio products for that matter.
I also recommend the Pentel Tradio Mechanical Pencils for all you who like quick-click feed side button vs. top button feed.
For all you others that say the pulaman it feels "cheap", maybe Pentel should come out with a limited edition heavy metal body version, or maybe a set, say flare tip,fountain pen, mechanical pencil and energel package to satisfy those and a delight to the Tradio "cult" following.

Being almost half a century old and having used the Tradio's in half of that time, I hope to be able to obtain them long in the future as well.
1 - 10 of 26 |  |