My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful
  The last time I used..., August 23, 2011
By alb...
The last time I used these pens was in college over twenty five years ago. I bought them in the college bookstore until they ran out of stock, and I haven't seen them since. The plastic 180 degree nib takes a little getting used to, but once you get the hang of it you will wish you had bought a box of the refills. Like I said, I used them to take notes in college, and when they were gone, there was no way to replace them. Until now. Thanks, JetPens!
7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  I love the line I can..., August 9, 2011
I love the line I can get from this. It's definitely a felt tip marker, not a fountain pen, but the beautiful fine, wet line I can get from the tip is exactly what I want, and the control I can get with it, turning, pushing, or even just light sketch strokes, is exactly what I want. I love just writing with it, but find it exquisite for doing line work on drawings as well.

It doesn't have the flexibility of a finely tuned flex metal nib, but it's not *supposed* to, as it's a felt pen. *laughs* You won't get the wide variation of a copperplate nib, but I can get lovely variations in width by direction, strength, and speed of stroke I can't get with a nib or other styles of pen. I love this thing and I'm buying my third one.
7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  Being a vintage fountain..., December 26, 2007
Being a vintage fountain pen fan, I scoffed at these the first time I saw them. Now I want to smack myself in the forehead for waiting so long to try them. It's light, it's responsive, and the ink is beautiful. And I'm no longer afraid to use a fountain pen at work. (I do abstracting in a courthouse records room, where pens rolling off the tilted work surfaces onto hard, tiled floors is a constant hazard.)
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  I love my Tradio, even..., October 9, 2007
I love my Tradio, even though it's more of a marker pen than a fountain pen. I can write with either hand, and even though it's not a true fountain pen, I like it better in my right hand for some reason. Writing left-handed with fountain pens is of course useless.

As a marker pen I find it better than extra fine Pilot Razor Points or Staedtler Triplus Fineliners. It has a nice shape and without the cap it's pretty balanced and lightweight. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I first found these heavenly..., July 11, 2012
I first found these heavenly and addictive writing instruments in a Victoria, BC bookshop. I bought two pens and two refills; I should have bought two dozen of each. Thank you JetPens for finally making these wonderful pens available online.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  being a lefty and a lover..., September 25, 2011
By dra...
being a lefty and a lover of the fountain pen, I found this pen to be AWESOME!!!! I am stocking up because I never want to write without my TRADIO!!!!!!!
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I first discovered this..., September 17, 2009
I first discovered this pen during a recent trip to Switzerland and it is absolutely outstanding. It is sooooooo smooth. I immediately bought several more from JetPens. The closest thing to a fountain pen - that isn't a fountain pen. For some reason, the Swiss version I got has a copper barrel - very attractive. Maybe you can get some of those. Also would love other colored inks - green and brown would be great.
  Love the feel and line..., January 3, 2013
Love the feel and line that comes from this pen. Scratchy and loud, it's not a stealth pen. I take notes and draw with this a lot...love the refills, keeps me going and going.
  I just got the pen and..., October 30, 2012
By bla...
I just got the pen and have recently tried it, maybe is just the way I write but the ink comes out a lot, unless you are writing on thick paper...
It's quite expensive for a pen who doesn't do the job that well,
the picture shows a really nice writing maybe is just the way I write that makes the pen hrorrible?
1 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I've used the Pentel..., June 29, 2010
I've used the Pentel Arts "Stylo" JM20, which appears to be a non-refillable version of the Tradio for the American market; the unique tip looks exactly the same, except on the Stylo the plastic part containing the felt nib is ivory-colored. I'm not excited by it myself. The line variation it gives, while not dramatic, is an advantage over other felt-tip pens, and the plastic nib does seem more durable than many felt brush pens. I haven't noticed bleeding, but I have had the problem of the plastic flicking little hair-lines of ink. For me, it can't compare to a flexible metal nib or a hair brush.