x
1 - 10 of 30 |  | 
I am writing this review...
August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase
I am writing this review to discuss how this pencil is at one particular task: doing math. I study a lot of math in my spare time in preparation to eventually go to graduate school for math. I have filled hundreds of notebook pages with equations and calculations over the past several months using a variety of pencils, but I always seem to come back to the Pilot Delful Double Knock pencil.

Being left-handed, it is hard to a find a pencil that is comfortable and forgiving while keeping my work neat. Yet there is something about the weight balance of this pencil that makes it incredibly comfortable to do hours of calculations without any fatigue. I like to hold my pencil very close to the tip and the rubber grip extends farther than most pencils making it comfortable to hold without slipping. I find that my numbers, fraction lines, and symbols come out looking neater with this pencil compared to other pencils, maybe due to its wider grip.

The shaker mechanism is excellent and extends the perfect amount of lead with two shakes. This pencil makes a great combination with a high quality softer lead like 2B or 3B for crisp, dark numbers because the lead is so easy to advance. As for the retractable tip, I don't use this feature often as I just leave the pencil on my desk when not in use, but I imagine it would be useful when taking the pencil with you. I also don't use the traditional lead advance very often, but it's nice to know that there is a backup in case the shaker mechanism fails. But honestly, if that happens I will probably just order a replacement Delful as I like the shaker mechanism so much.

I recommend this pencil to anyone wanting a quality reliable pencil for doing math or physical sciences with lots of pencil and paper calculations involved. I have used the original Uni Kuru Toga, the Kuru Toga Roulette Model, the Pentel Smash, the Alpha Gel HD Shaka, and the Pilot Opt I and Opt II pencils and I keep going back to this one. I love this pencil.

Pros
-perfect weight balance (slightly tip-heavy)
-firm rubber grip
-excellent shaker mechanism
-wide body for more comfort
-writes very smoothly
-holds plenty of lead
-good eraser
-very durable
-excellent value for price

Cons
-limited color variety (black with orange would be nice)
-the eraser cover is easy to lose
-doesn't love me back
7 people found this helpful
This pencil is a must...
October 3, 2010
This pencil is a must buy it has every thing. It its a shaker pencil and it has an on and off for putting in new lead. Another pro is how perfectly its wheighted for writing. I like writing in a thin line and this pencil is perfect for the neat freak because it wont get writing on the bottom of your pencil case. All my other pencils are more thick. This one is thin and perfect for writing essays. The price is great too for a whopping 7.50$ it's a must buy. I have used obly this pencil for a 2 month's now.
4 people found this helpful
Arelshoua
Love this line of pencils....
March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase
Love this line of pencils. Picked up one right away when there were only a couple of colors and quickly added more once more variations became available.

I agree with all of the other reviews so no need to repeat them, but do have a solution that works for me for those complaining of the lead extending when closing the pencil down.

When I am ready to put it away, I first push down the cap enough to extend the lead, then without releasing, I push the lead all the way in (as with a regular lead pencil), then with the same motion, continue to press the cap to activate the double action which will allow the pencil to close without any lead extended.
2 people found this helpful
uss-enterprise
I like the...
December 8, 2011
I like the looks, but there are only a few small problems I had: After you shake to advance the lead, it goes back into the tip slightly due to the looseness of the metal tip. It drives me crazy, but I can live with it. Another thing is that when you retract the pencil, a small amount of lead is advanced so there is a worrisome bit of lead still sticking out. But, this pencil is overall a good instrument for writing, etc., even though the grip is a little uncomfortable.
2 people found this helpful
smilyface097
well built pencil. The...
April 6, 2011
well built pencil. The tip doesn't wobble at all, which is an issue with some retracting pencils. I've never dropped it or anything, but the lead tends to break WAY too easily. Makes me wonder if the lead isn't supported at the tip of the metal outlet, or if my tip is bent.

I've never dropped it though. I use the exact same lead in other pencils and it never breaks.

I'm giving it four stars because it may just be me using excessive force. It's a wide pencil and I do find myself pushing harder than i do with other pencils.
2 people found this helpful
This is one of the best...
March 22, 2011
Verified Purchase
This is one of the best pencils that you will ever find. I bring this everyday and never let's me down. If anyone that does not write lightly and writes really fast will need to buy a lot of lead. In mine I put like 3 extra sticks of lead just to make sure I won't run out. The double knock action is just awesome. This pencil is very hard to find. I have never found this in a store. The green on this one is like an apple green. The other one with the blue looks good but not like this one. Overall this is the best pencil you can find at this price. It basically has everything you need for this price. For me I give this a 4 1/2 but I will round it up to a 5 stars
2 people found this helpful
This is easily the best...
November 24, 2010
This is easily the best mechanical pencil I have ever owned. I don't regret paying $7.50 for it at ALL, and plan on buying a couple more when the stock turns over. I have the pink and orange one, but I'd like to get the black and pink one, as well.

The weight of the pencil and its shape are my favorite parts; I have large hands and it's exceedingly easy for me to use. I can write pages of notes without my hands getting tired.
2 people found this helpful
phoenix.kiss
The Pilot Delful mechanical...
September 23, 2010
Verified Purchase
The Pilot Delful mechanical pencil is absolutely wonderful. The double knock design comes from one of Pentel's pencils named the Technica-X which has been a long time favorite of mine. Much to my delight, Pilot took this concept a step further in incorporating their famous shaker mechanism. This pencil has a great outer casing and feels light but sturdy. All the mechanisms are solid and move smoothly to provide a seamless writing experience. This is definitely my new favorite mechanical pencil, and all for only $7.50. The Pilot Delful is a must buy for anyone looking for a great new pencil and a minimum price.

Some things I would still like to see incorporated in the future:
- Pilot should use their better Dr. Grip grip on this pencil
- I would love to have an extend-able eraser
- Stock more colors (I want to buy at least one more, but there are only two colors to choose from currently.)
2 people found this helpful
Geoff.Bianchini
I had high expectations...
October 9, 2014
Verified Purchase
I had high expectations for this pencil, but it fell flat. It's tiring and uncomfortable to draw with; the weight makes it feel unbalanced and the grip is too large and firm for me. A real bummer, because it looks cool and has a retracting tip.
1 person found this helpful
Absolutely love it! When...
April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase
Absolutely love it! When I read the reviews on this mechanical pencil and hearing how good it is, I wanted to try it out for myself. Now since I purchased one, it is now my favorite. I love how smooth it is when I write and how cool it looks. It's also very comfortable to me, rather than the older mechanical pencils I grew up using.
1 person found this helpful
tinakeopaseuth
1 - 10 of 30 |  |