JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 25, 2009
I just purchased this...
Verified Purchase
I just purchased this pen and immediately switched out the ink for Uni Style Fit gel cartridges (which fit perfectly) and I adore this pen. The ballpoint pens write nicely, I just prefer the gel ink. This is a wonderful pen, the weight is nice, it's very professional and the grip forces you to hold the pen correctly, which for me leads to better handwriting. I recommend it highly, with or without the pen hack!!

1 person found this helpful
rbschneider
 
October 26, 2014
Love this pen. Excellent...
Verified Purchase
Love this pen. Excellent grip balance. I also have a uniball jetstream multi pen. The uni is great in every way except the refills don't hold as much ink as the Pilot 4+1 and therefore is costlier to operate.
As far as refills go the best for the Pilot 4+1 is the pilot bvrf 8f acro. Excellent ink, smooth, no problems except it only comes in 3colors. The bkrf 6f also fits this pen but is crappy. Unistyle fit gel works in this pen but I'm not a fan of gel as it isn't as permanent. I think pentel slices work to but pentel prods aren't as good as pilot and uni.
So get this awesome pen. And just put the right ink in it! The bvrf8f. We just need more colors for this great refill, please!

ggladstone
 
October 19, 2013
I LOVE THIS PEN. Too...
Verified Purchase
I LOVE THIS PEN. Too bad I've written with Jetstream ink before. That ballpoint ink is the best. This ballpoint ink is meh. But this pen! The weight, the ergonomics, the aesthetics, the fact that I want it with me all the time in an age where I do all my journaling on my phone – that's what makes this pen worth having. It's not just about the ink. And I see that I can change the cartridges from all the reviews. I'll try that! Maybe that will make this pen the ultimate.

joanneignacio
 
September 20, 2013
I wanted a 4 + 1 pen...
Verified Purchase
I wanted a 4 + 1 pen that was all matte black including the tip. This pen has got the look I was going for! When using this pen... I always stop to admire the beauty of it hah.

I also have the White Zebra Clip-On 1000S 4 + 1 pen. I went for the Pilot Pen because the Zebra pen's tip was shiny metallic. It caused me to look for a pen that didn't have that metallic shiny tip like the zebra which led me to this pen.

Despite aesthetics, I felt the Zebra was a lot more sturdier and I loved how the switching mechanism felt over the Pilot Dr. Grip which felt a lot more fragile and not as sturdy, but I think it is good enough.

Both the Zebra Clip-On 1000S (sold out here) and this Pilot Pen are the best!

clamchowder01
 
July 25, 2012
I've had this pen for...
Verified Purchase
I've had this pen for about 4 yrs if not more. I LOVE it, it's perfect for note taking. I have bought this same line in different colors as gifts and the feedback and smiles it brings just amazing. Will be buying more for future personal use. Thank you Jetpens, your pens and pencils are awesome.

BTW, I've been asked if you offer this pen with a .7 mm lead for the pencil? Also I would personally love to have this pen with all .5 mm lead/refills, is that possible? Do you have .5mm pen refills that would fit this pen? Thank you again

 
June 16, 2012
By far my favorite color...
By far my favorite color of either the first or second series. This matte black version is a home run in the Pilot Dr. Grip 4+1 pens. It's well balanced and feels spectacular. The matte finish makes this one of the best looking versions of this model. You'll feel like you got a pen worth at least twice the price. The versatility is second to none in any field where you have to make notations or edits. Note: buy plenty of extra ink refills in the colors you think you'll use the most.

sayintentions
 
April 10, 2012
Pilot Dr. Grip 4+1 is...
Verified Purchase
Pilot Dr. Grip 4+1 is a good value for the money. It compares favorably with Coleto Hi TEC-C, the Zebra Clip-On Multi, and the Uni Style-Fit Meister. I appreciate the ability its compatibility with the refills from its other competitors. All the mechanisms are well-engineered and stand up to daily use. The finish is durable; the look under-stated. If you are partial to regualr ball pen refills in a multi-pen, Dr. Grip is worth trying.

andrewsteve
 
December 28, 2011
The Dr. Grip 4+1 is fantastic!...
The Dr. Grip 4+1 is fantastic! I have been looking for a good and classy multicolor fine point pen with a fine point pencil for a long time. This pen/pencil looks great and works great. After the first 2 arrived I ordered 4 more to give as gifts. It would be nice if the instructions were in English so I would know for sure how to change the refills. I pulled really hard and the refill finally came out, but was afraid I might break the pen.

 
November 22, 2011
This pen is AWESOME! It...
This pen is AWESOME!

It doesn't have as squishy a grip as the original Dr. Grips, but turns out that squishy doesn't equal better for your hands (arthritics, RSI's, carpal tunnelers). But larger grip size, is, because it means your hands/tendons don't have to cramp down as much. And in that regard, this style Dr. Grip still has a large and comfortable barrel. I use it to write several hand-written sheets a week, and it's still great.

The black and the white (pearly) look classiest, in my opinion.

Also, the Sliccies multi-pen refills also fit in these. You just have to remove the little plastic plug at the end. I like them as they are .3mm, and thick enough to be seen, but thin enough to conserve on the ink usage.

I LOVE THIS PEN!!!

maurice.chung
 
August 10, 2011
I bought this multi-pen...
I bought this multi-pen over at a Kinokuniya bookstore in NYC. From the moment I saw it, I knew it would have its usefulness for studying, as it has all of the basic ballpoint pen colors, PLUS, a PENCIL! When I'm studying or taking notes, I prefer to write with pencil for most things and write in pen for important things such as theorems or formulas. This is really great for a college student because instead of wasting precious lecture time by switching pens, you can do it on the fly. My only complaint about this multi-pen is that the grip isn't that great, and with the Dr. Grip series, you kind of expect that. However, the pen is already thick, so placing a nicer grip probably would have made it even thicker. As far as construction goes, this is a pretty sturdy pen, and doesn't creak even though it is made completely out of plastic.