JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (31 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 29, 2012
I bought all 3, fine,...
Verified Purchase
I bought all 3, fine, extrafine and broad. These pens are great, as others have said it is indeed "like writing on glass!" One thing is that all 3 of these pens occasionally the first pen stroke will be very light, but then it will "catch" and flow normally. My solution is to make a tiny scribble on scratch paper first. No big deal!!
As for running out of ink, obviously this broad tip will lay down a LOT more ink per pen stroke, so yeah, it will run out faster than the the fine or extra fine. But the pen writes so beautifully, and if you are just addressing envelopes with it, the pen will last.

by the way, I addressed all my Thank-You cards from Xmas with the broad pen, and the lady @ the post office complimented the nice dark ink. She thought it was still wet ink at first! It really is best for addressing envelopes because the slightly reflective, super-dark ink is easier for the robotic mail sorters to read (says the post office lady)

6 people found this helpful
misterjuju
 
July 21, 2011
It writes beautifully,...
Verified Purchase
It writes beautifully, smooth as butter. The ink is a deep rich black - superior to any other gel ink pen I've ever tried. It looks like India ink, for anyone who has done pen and ink work. And the ink is absolutely waterproof. The pen writes rather wet, but it dries quickly. It's a terrific bargain.

6 people found this helpful
ebenfatto
 
April 25, 2012
For comparison - I would...
Verified Purchase
For comparison - I would link these to Sharpies as a good way point to something similar available to US consumers. They are very dark and just a little bit smelly!

I love broad pens, but I found this to put down a very thick line, almost a little to thick for me! I found it to feather quite a bit as well, the smaller nibs are not as likely to do this, so I would take that into account if you are looking at this broad version.

I loved the way the ink went down on the paper though, the pen definitely feels like it glides across the paper.

It could be just me, but I find that these pens (all sizes) DO bleed through paper. If I use them as they intend, as envelope pens, I make sure I write out the envelope prior to inserting the card, bill, etc. so that I am sure that the ink will not bleed through and mark up whatever is inside.

I would rate them higher if they didn't bleed through to the other side of the page.

4 people found this helpful
moverde23
 
January 19, 2012
Perfect. I've never...
Verified Purchase
Perfect.

I've never before used a pen this awesome. It lays down a thicker and way darker line than the similar Ohto Fude and it literally glides across the writing surface.

4 people found this helpful
 
April 26, 2012
OMG, I love this pen!...
Verified Purchase
OMG, I love this pen! It writes _beautifully_ on envelopes and heavier paper -- just glides across the surface like a dream. (It's not so hot on lighter paper, but that's not what it was designed for.) As soon as the broad size is back in stock, I'm ordering a couple in every size.

2 people found this helpful
l8bloomer
 
February 12, 2013
This pen writes well...
Verified Purchase
This pen writes well and the ink is quite nice (too bad there isn't a blue ink option).

However, please be warned that you probably shouldn't buy many extras if you want to stock up and use them later.

I bought a couple dozen of these pens, in all point/tip sizes last March (2012). In the past month, I've tried using them and they've all dried out except for one of the medium/broad point pens.

It's unfortunate that the cap or the body fail to keep the pens properly sealed. I'd suggest getting replacements every couple of months and not storing them for more than a few months, at most.

FYI, I did try a few things to "re-activate" the pens after trying to write with them on various types of paper. I soaked the tips of a couple of pens in 90% rubbing/isopropyl alcohol and then in some warm water, both for a few hours, testing the pens every 15 minutes, or so. Nothing helped.

Twenty plus pens worth nothing now...


1 person found this helpful
davemccollum
 
January 25, 2013
Purchase one (Broad)...
Verified Purchase
Purchase one (Broad) used a couple of times and then dried out... feel disappointed. Not sure if purchase again, writes ultra butter smooth, dries faaaast.

1 person found this helpful
 
November 20, 2014
Such a fun pen. I use...
Verified Purchase
Such a fun pen. I use it exclusively for addressing everyday envelopes.

furthermorepress
 
November 5, 2014
Does what it says on...
Verified Purchase
Does what it says on the tin. I bought this to do exactly what the description states is its purpose. Ink is solvent-based, so it isn't good on most paper. Very black, slightly glossy. Ink stays put through foul weather too. If you have to write on a lot of boxes or kraft envelopes, then this pen will get the job done.

ronald.copley
 
September 12, 2014
Great pen!! Super glossy...
Verified Purchase
Great pen!! Super glossy and bold. Makes it easy to review my handwritten documents. Bought all three sizes, stocked up on broad tipped.

nanacao888