My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (27 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  It writes beautifully,..., July 21, 2011
By ebe...
It writes beautifully, smooth as butter. The ink is a deep rich black - superior to any other gel ink pen I've ever tried. It looks like India ink, for anyone who has done pen and ink work. And the ink is absolutely waterproof. The pen writes rather wet, but it dries quickly. It's a terrific bargain.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I bought all 3, fine,..., January 29, 2012
By mis...
I bought all 3, fine, extrafine and broad. These pens are great, as others have said it is indeed "like writing on glass!" One thing is that all 3 of these pens occasionally the first pen stroke will be very light, but then it will "catch" and flow normally. My solution is to make a tiny scribble on scratch paper first. No big deal!!
As for running out of ink, obviously this broad tip will lay down a LOT more ink per pen stroke, so yeah, it will run out faster than the the fine or extra fine. But the pen writes so beautifully, and if you are just addressing envelopes with it, the pen will last.

by the way, I addressed all my Thank-You cards from Xmas with the broad pen, and the lady @ the post office complimented the nice dark ink. She thought it was still wet ink at first! It really is best for addressing envelopes because the slightly reflective, super-dark ink is easier for the robotic mail sorters to read (says the post office lady)
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Perfect. I've never..., January 19, 2012
By iva...
Perfect.

I've never before used a pen this awesome. It lays down a thicker and way darker line than the similar Ohto Fude and it literally glides across the writing surface.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  OMG, I love this pen!..., April 26, 2012
By l8b...
OMG, I love this pen! It writes _beautifully_ on envelopes and heavier paper -- just glides across the surface like a dream. (It's not so hot on lighter paper, but that's not what it was designed for.) As soon as the broad size is back in stock, I'm ordering a couple in every size.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  For comparison - I would..., April 25, 2012
By mov...
For comparison - I would link these to Sharpies as a good way point to something similar available to US consumers. They are very dark and just a little bit smelly!

I love broad pens, but I found this to put down a very thick line, almost a little to thick for me! I found it to feather quite a bit as well, the smaller nibs are not as likely to do this, so I would take that into account if you are looking at this broad version.

I loved the way the ink went down on the paper though, the pen definitely feels like it glides across the paper.

It could be just me, but I find that these pens (all sizes) DO bleed through paper. If I use them as they intend, as envelope pens, I make sure I write out the envelope prior to inserting the card, bill, etc. so that I am sure that the ink will not bleed through and mark up whatever is inside.

I would rate them higher if they didn't bleed through to the other side of the page.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pen writes well..., February 12, 2013
By dav...
This pen writes well and the ink is quite nice (too bad there isn't a blue ink option).

However, please be warned that you probably shouldn't buy many extras if you want to stock up and use them later.

I bought a couple dozen of these pens, in all point/tip sizes last March (2012). In the past month, I've tried using them and they've all dried out except for one of the medium/broad point pens.

It's unfortunate that the cap or the body fail to keep the pens properly sealed. I'd suggest getting replacements every couple of months and not storing them for more than a few months, at most.

FYI, I did try a few things to "re-activate" the pens after trying to write with them on various types of paper. I soaked the tips of a couple of pens in 90% rubbing/isopropyl alcohol and then in some warm water, both for a few hours, testing the pens every 15 minutes, or so. Nothing helped.

Twenty plus pens worth nothing now...

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Purchase one (Broad)..., January 25, 2013
Purchase one (Broad) used a couple of times and then dried out... feel disappointed. Not sure if purchase again, writes ultra butter smooth, dries faaaast.
  I ordered the broad and..., February 21, 2014
I ordered the broad and fine versions of this pen, and they're pretty similar. The broad is really broad. The ink is very smooth. Maybe too smooth, as I found it kind of skating across the envelopes. It's also super-dark when you get full-coverage of the paper. I found that I had a sort of trough in the middle of my letters from where the ball touches the paper. It does tend to bleed and feather, but only on regular paper. You don't probably want to write with these all the time. It's just fine on an envelope. I use the Broad on bubble mailers all the time and it's satisfying.
  this pen is very very..., January 28, 2014
By jas...
this pen is very very inky. a lot of ink come out, but thats a good thing. i feel that it has a strong chemical smell, like sharpies; so i try to use it in small intervals. i use this to write my headings on my notes to make them more visible. it would be really good for artists who want to put down a really thick inky looking line or two.
  Love the flow and smoothness!..., January 3, 2013
Love the flow and smoothness! I have ordered a ton of these, the broad tip is wonderful. Writes and draws on anything with a line that is to die for.
  LOVE THIS PEN! Very..., August 19, 2011
LOVE THIS PEN!

Very happy with this purchase! LOVELY SMOOTH INK PEN! Can't wait to draw with it! I bought the Fine, extra fine, and Broad pens. LOVE THEM!
  can someone post a youtube..., April 20, 2011
By nat...
can someone post a youtube video how it writes?
please!
  Incredibly dense ink..., April 16, 2011
By dre...
Incredibly dense ink and generous flow as well as very fast ink drying time (2-3 seconds?). As good as a Uniball Signo except with less skipping which (in my mind) says a lot.
  I bought about 10 items..., March 28, 2011
I bought about 10 items from jetpens.com to see which pens i like the most and i have got to say with is my favorite pen out of all 10 i bought.
  Super smooth!..., December 29, 2010
Super smooth!
  ordering all three ,..., December 20, 2010
By ipf...
ordering all three , once again! jet pens supplies all my artistic supplies!
  writes very smoothly,..., October 15, 2010
By dgy...
writes very smoothly, consistent ink flow, writes on plastic.
  Very smooth with generous..., September 25, 2010
Very smooth with generous ink flow. Broad tip is a little too broad for everyday writing. Excellent replacement to scratchy fine tip markers.
  I LOVE these pens. I..., June 30, 2010
By ali...
I LOVE these pens. I bought about 10 of them and use them for everything. The ink smells like Sharpie's ink, but I don't care. The pen writes smoothly, it is thick and rich. The tip is shaped in a strange way so the ink comes out in a way where you can add embellishments to your letters. Even if I write sloppily, the way the ink appears on the page adds a calligraphic flair to it. This might have to be The Pen I Use. I WISH it came in more colors. I use RED all the time at work (it's a requirement) and I would only use this pen - blac, red and blue. That's all I'd need!
  I really enjoy writing..., May 1, 2010
By cha...
I really enjoy writing with this pen. It is VERY smooth, almost like writing on glass. However, I have a feeling this pen will go through ink very quickly. Highly recommend this pen.
  At first test on regular..., April 19, 2010
By dolces
At first test on regular paper,...this pen seemed to blotch in every stroke. It took about 30 seconds to dry,..but writes super smooth. Like writing on glass. Not sure if I like this pen due to the blotching issue with every quick pen stroke. I will test on better paper next week.
  Fantastic broad gel ink..., April 19, 2010
By wol...
Fantastic broad gel ink pen. Soooo smooth! Please carry this in different colors. It's awesome
  To the person who has..., February 21, 2010
By sch...
To the person who has learned how to refill this pen. I would love to learn more on how to do that. Any additional info. would be appreciated as this is such a cool pen but it does run out of ink quickly.
  A nice bold pen. Mine..., February 18, 2010
A nice bold pen. Mine ran out of ink after about 20 pages of writing. It uses a modified Pilot Precision style refill (with the fluted end). I was able to refill this with a G2 refill by carefully trimming the refill down about 1/4 of an inch and putting the Precision style plug on the end of the old G2 refill. Now I have a cappable G2!
  Great pen and inexpensive,..., February 6, 2010
Great pen and inexpensive, wish it was refilable. But all around great pen.