My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (17 customer reviews)
Write Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  The only negative aspect..., July 26, 2012
By kme...
The only negative aspect of these Pilot Envelope Pens is that there are NEVER enough of them in stock to purchase when you want to. I had received an email telling me they were in stock (all three versions) and finally got a chance to get online to purchase them a mere HOURS later, and they were already out of stock!

I really do love the deep black line these pens create. I had expected, or hoped rather, that the ink would dry with a more obvious shine but was disappointed a little when it came down to it. While these pens have written their way into my top 5 favorite pens, I am still on a seemingly endless search for a shiny pen. I do feel the need to mention that you will be required to prime the pens on another piece of paper before writing on an envelope in the event you find yourself putting it down with the cap off for any length of time. This isn't a big enough irritation to warrant a lesser rating however, which is why the rating stands at a strong five. Also, I am extremely sensitive to fragrances, and these pens don't register to me enough to complain about. I have on the rare occasion smelled them, but the scent was gone as quickly as it had appeared. Mine do not seem to smell the entire time I use them.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Is bleeding through 90g..., December 5, 2010
Is bleeding through 90g Clairefontaine paper. Ink smells something awful. Nice black ink but I won't buy again.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This pen writes well..., February 12, 2013
By dav...
This pen writes well and the ink is quite nice (too bad there isn't a blue ink option).

However, please be warned that you probably shouldn't buy many extras if you want to stock up and use them later.

I bought a couple dozen of these pens, in all point/tip sizes last March (2012). In the past month, I've tried using them and they've all dried out except for one of the medium/broad point pens.

It's unfortunate that the cap or the body fail to keep the pens properly sealed. I'd suggest getting replacements every couple of months and not storing them for more than a few months, at most.

FYI, I did try a few things to "re-activate" the pens after trying to write with them on various types of paper. I soaked the tips of a couple of pens in 90% rubbing/isopropyl alcohol and then in some warm water, both for a few hours, testing the pens every 15 minutes, or so. Nothing helped.

Twenty plus pens worth nothing now...

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Great pen for everyday..., February 25, 2011
Great pen for everyday use. Ink is smooth and dark and the pen glides effortlessly over paper. It smells a little like a Sharpie, but I don't mind. It's cheap too!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Very nice gel pen, writes..., August 24, 2012
Very nice gel pen, writes very dark line and it does smells a bit only if you come extremely close to it I really do not care about the smell at all because I cannot even smell it. What really bother me was that the extra fine is not that fine because the paper that I wrote on absorbed all the ink and the lines became like a 0.7mm or 1.00
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This and the extra fine..., June 12, 2012
By pig...
This and the extra fine are my favorite pens of all time. I have a hard time finding comfortable pens (my hands cramp easily) and for some reason these are perfect for me! I love the smooth flowing lines, the fact that the ink dries very quickly (left-handed so I always drag my hand through whatever I am writing). I have been collecting pens and pencils for over 20 years, and this is my ultimate favorite. They do have a slight smell when you write with them, but all the oil-based pens I have used seem to have the same smell. I use them for any and all writing. They do have a tendency to bleed through (the extra the least, the bold the most) papers so I would recommend trying an extra fine to fine first.
Bold is perfect for larger packages and will not puncture packages/envelopes as you write the address. They all work great on homemade paper and thicker journal paper. they will bleed through on general paper, moleskines, etc.
It is a sad day when one of my Pilot Envelope pens runs out of ink :(
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pen was the dark..., September 22, 2011
By rad...
This pen was the dark horse of my order and immediately became my favorite. The body is a little wider than most and writes like a dream. The fine tip writes boldly but not too broadly. I'll definitely get a few more of these on my next order. It will bleed through, but
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I absolutely adore this..., November 19, 2010
By alc...
I absolutely adore this pen! The intensely rich, smooth black ink makes writing with it a pleasure. Since the gel is oil-based, it makes a great anti-fraud check writing pen. (Yeah, I'm old school.) The fast drying time is an added bonus. I prefer the "fine" pen for it's thick and juicy line. The line created by the "fine" pen is about 0.8 millimeters . I hope JetPens will continue to stock this pen as long as they are still being made! I'm always sure to add some of these pens to whatever I order!
  Nice writing pens that..., September 18, 2013
By dan...
Nice writing pens that lay down a lovely black line, but all of mine dried up pretty quickly. I bought all the tip sizes, tried them out writing a couple scribbles and a few lines in my notebook where I test new pens, and then stuck them in a drawer. I went back a couple weeks later and they were hard starting and and skipped. I stored them tip down hoping that would get them going again, but when I checked them the next time they were completely dead. I might buy them again if I have a lot of envelopes to do at one sitting, but otherwise they are not for me.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This pen has great black..., February 10, 2012
By sxe...
This pen has great black color and it does dry quickly however, it has bled through just about every thing I can think of to write on. I would have considered this pen again, but the nail in it's coffin for me was the stench. The ink in this pen WREAKS, and is noticeable as soon as you start using it. I hate stinky pens, so this one is a no go for future orders.
  I bought this pen like..., October 8, 2011
By gra...
I bought this pen like 2 months ago. It dried out. I always keep the cap on.

I loved it when it worked though.
  Very happy with this..., August 19, 2011
Very happy with this purchase! LOVELY SMOOTH INK PEN! Can't wait to draw with it! I bought the Fine, extra fine, and Broad pens. LOVE THEM!
  Fun pen to doodle with...., March 9, 2011
By slxbox
Fun pen to doodle with. Ink is quite nice and glides over paper.
  I love these pens. I..., December 28, 2010
By vlweir
I love these pens. I use all the tip sizes and love them equally. So smooth. Yummm.
  I send out a lot of mail,..., September 30, 2010
I send out a lot of mail, so I had to give this pen a try. It is perfect! Writes smoothly & the ink is very, very black. It has a slight marker/ink odor that I like cuz I'm weird. Then again, I am pregnant, so my sense of smell is very heightened. Anyway, super great pen that I will buy again!
  I must say that this..., August 1, 2010
By kin...
I must say that this pen is great! It is an intense black ink that does not "fade out" when it dries. This pen writes smoothly. Good investment for the cost.
  I love this pen! i..., June 2, 2010
By ipf...
I love this pen!

i use it everywhere!good for school..


yay!

pie+hotdogs= L&N