My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (20 customer reviews)
Write Review
7 out of 8 people found the following review helpful
  YES, this converter will..., February 11, 2010
YES, this converter will work with most pilot fountain pens including pilot parallel and decimo. The only thing that I don't like, since the front body part of parallel is semi-transparent, the ink will stuck in there after you dip the nib into ink. It's kind of annoyed me. The BEST solution and probably cheaper solution is Private Reserve Cartridge filling units (24CAR). You can refill any ink cartridge with any bottled ink. For parallel, you still have that small ball inside the cartridge to stir the ink and it hold much more ink than this converter too.
For other pilot fountain pens, this converter works wonder.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I have one of these and..., December 5, 2007
By khadge
I have one of these and they DO NOT work with he Pilot Cavalier fountain pens. You can install them on the Cavalier but then you cannot close the cap because the pen is thinner than this converter. The converter itself works well just be careful what you are installing it on.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  This fits both my pilot..., March 29, 2013
By gui...
This fits both my pilot penmanship and pilot plumix perfectly. With this, I can just refill my pens without buying cartridges.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I would like to re-review..., December 25, 2010
I would like to re-review this item and up the stars ^_^;;...after a few tries, it's working great now. I find it easier using a dropper to fill the converter and then inserting back into my pilot pen.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  At first, I thought the..., August 14, 2011
At first, I thought the Con-50 would not hold much ink because of its unique design - the plunger does not go past the first half inch of the barrel. This means you have to suck up and purge ink through the pen a few times to completely fill the converter. Overall, not a bad investment if you want to move into the wonderful world of bottled FP ink!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I'm using the CON-50..., November 5, 2010
I'm using the CON-50 with my Pilot Duo and a Pilot 77 Muyrex, works like a dream, fits well, no leaks. I love it. Personally I prefer it over the Con 20 with the Sac refill. Not sure what the issue with Cavalliers is, but I think my Duo has the same physical dimensions and works great.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  So far I've used this..., January 23, 2013
So far I've used this with no trouble. My only gripe is that it's quite small compared to other converters. However the suction of the piston is very good and fits securely into my Pilot Metropolitan pen. I would recommend this for that pen if you're not a fan of the squeeze converter that it comes with.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The Con-50 converter..., January 21, 2013
The Con-50 converter does fit in the Pilot Cavalier Duo-Body, a fountain pen which is slighter wider than the Cavalier.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I found that this converter..., September 10, 2010
By gwe...
I found that this converter had a bit of trouble getting suction when installed on a pen that has never had cartridge ink run through it. I eventually got it to fill about 1/4 of the way, then wrote for a while, which apparently gave the ink a chance to distribute through the fins in the feed tube (visible through the barrel of the clear body Penmanship), after which it could be filled at least 3/4 of the way with Noodlers' standard ink.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I have a converter for..., April 19, 2010
I have a converter for my Lamy which works wonderfully. I purchased this Pilot Converter to go with the Pilot Penmanship Fountain Pen. They do not work well together and gave me so many problems and spillage.
  The ink capacity could..., June 26, 2014
By ros...
The ink capacity could be greater, but I always carry a bottle of ink with me so that's not really a huge problem. It works well with my Metropolitan. It's easy to disassemble and clean, it does what it's supposed to do... what more can you ask for?
  If you plan on foregoing..., June 10, 2014
If you plan on foregoing Pilot’s ink refills and using your own ink, then obviously use these converters. Works well, and hasn’t leaked any ink into my pen so far.
  I really like these converters..., March 30, 2014
By the...
I really like these converters. I wish they held more ink, but less capacity is a fair trade for being able to see when you're going to run out, in my opinion. They're easy to fill, easy to install, and easy to clean. I like it a lot better than the converter included in my Pilot Metropolitan. The little agitator does seem to push ink down towards the feed, though I'm not entirely certain how necessary it is. They may be more expensive than the CON-20's, but I think it's a very worthwhile investment. I will definitely continue buying them if I get more Pilot pens.
  The new CON-50 converter..., December 30, 2013
By red...
The new CON-50 converter design with the moveable 'weight' is superior to the original piston converter which had problems. With the old design, ink would often get stuck up at the wrong end of the converter and ink flow was affected. Now, with the help of the small, cylindrical weight, gravity will pull the ink down towards the feed nipple when a Pilot pen is moved into the writing position.

Montblanc and Montegrappa also modified their converters in this way several years ago. The weight makes up for a flow problem that often occurs with converters that inhibit the intended exchange between air and ink (L. Waterman realized this need). Many converters are not designed or made correctly and extra air leaks into a converter throwing off the special balance between ink going out and air coming in to replace the ink. If the ink doesn't move back and forth in the converter the way water moves back and forth in a carpenter's level, something is wrong! The new CON-50 helps make up for a converter deficit.

The redesigned CON-50 should fit most cartridge/converter Pilot/Namiki fountain pens, like the 'Capless/Vanishing Point' and Pilot Prera fountain pens.
  I have just spent half..., December 9, 2013
I have just spent half an hour thinking my brand new Pilot Con-50 converter was faulty until I read the above instructions. I kept repeating the steps and slowly realised that there was a lot of air and slowly but surely it kept filling. I'm so happy. Now I can use my new Prera. Thank you Jet Pens <3
  A well-made and reliable..., April 1, 2013
A well-made and reliable converter that fits perfectly in many Pilot pens. The only downsides are that it is on the small side for ink capacity, and it is a bit expensive.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I purchased this converter..., December 31, 2011
By jch...
I purchased this converter for my Pilot Decimo. The CON-50 converter fits great, and it doesn't leak or anything, but I'm having trouble getting the converter to fill up with ink all the way. I've been dipping the pen nib into the ink and using the converter to pull up the ink thru the nib, but despite pulling the plunger back and then forward to try to get the last little bit of air out, there's a space in the clear section of the converter that I can't manage to fill with ink. So, I'm giving this a halfway decent review because the space in the converter means that I have to refill it more frequently.

Also, I have a Pilot Cavalier fountain pen, and this converter DOES NOT FIT WITH THE PEN BODY SHUT, as mentioned by a previous reviewer. It would be ideal if this were just a little bit less wide, because I have a love-hate relationship with the CON-20 (with the balloon/sack). To be clear, this converter fits in the nib part, but you can't close the pen body with this converter.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I have no problem with..., April 23, 2011
By 619...
I have no problem with this converter. I strongly suggest following the instructions on using converters following the link above.
  The way I fill my converters..., March 17, 2011
By shb...
The way I fill my converters is to remove them from the pen, and hold the end of the converter into the ink while I unscrew the piston. That saves ink and makes for a lot less mess. However, I found that unlike other converters I've used, this converter doesn't narrow down at the tip, so if you turn it upside down with ink in it, the ink runs out in a gush! Still it works fine with my Prera.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Would this converter..., June 17, 2009
By pt
Would this converter work in a Pilot Parallel Calligraphy pen?
The "converter" that comes in the package works for cleaning the pen, but not
for ink refills.

Love the Pilot Parallel. Awesome pen.
-