My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (22 customer reviews)
Write Review
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  PLEEEEEEASE restock Jetpens! ..., April 17, 2011
By mil...
PLEEEEEEASE restock Jetpens!

Seriously, this is the best highlighter by far for me. In fact, with these around, I think using a different kind of highlighter would be settling for second-best :-) Here's what sets these apart from other highlighters, even other erasable ones:

1) the erasing function actually does what it says. Not only does it not leave a trace (even on my usual writing paper, cream-colored index cards), it allows for repeated erasing and re-writing (which lets you change colors - great for color coding stuff that is changeable, eg prioritizing a to-do list; it's not just for mistakes). Other erasables work like the classic fountain pen ink eraser: you can only erase once.

2) good build: the materials don't feel cheap and brittle, they're sturdy, including the clip. Best of all, the eraser is really more of a rubber stopper, which doesn't wear as you erase like with many other erasable pens: so you can be sure it won't wear down to nothing ages before the ink runs out in the highlighter.

3) the shape: it's like a pen, rather than the classic short and flat highlighter. Sure Jetpens only has the pen type (only the best for Jetpens customers i guess), but those other ones are overall more common. The pen style makes it more comfortable to hold, and easier to fit in a pencil case: these are about the same bulk as a 'good' pen (eg fountain pen) so they are perfect if you like a roll/wrap-style pencil case or the kind that turns into a pen pot, but still have to carry highlighters.

4) The ink: the colors are distinct (with other pens, sometimes the green and yellow look a bit similar, same with pink/orange & blue/purple - not so here), and they are vivid enough to highlight, but not excessively loud to the point of making what's written underneath hard to discern, even with the darkest colors (eg purple). Best of all, they work fine with inkjet and fountain pen ink, no smudges at all - another rarity.

I hope I've sung the praises of these things enough that Jetpens will see their way to restocking these asap. I really wanted a second set to keep in my ready-to-go pencil case so i don't have to keep transferring them from my desktop holder and risk forgetting them :-/
6 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  These are so amazing!..., April 2, 2011
By jdi...
These are so amazing! I love them so much. I use them in my bible and they are the only highlighters to not bleed through. THey also erase very well ( just make sure its dried) they are great to use at school when you might need to erase somthing! They work great !!!
6 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  I've tried the orange,..., July 23, 2010
I've tried the orange, green and blue. They all erase surprisingly well The orange and green work well for me, but the blue is too dark. However, with all these highlighters I've noticed the following: If I highlight over pencil and then erase, the highlighter disappears, but I can't erase the pencil marks that were underneath.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I always like to color-code..., September 16, 2011
I always like to color-code things in my planner - but sometimes I'm only half paying attention because I'm in a hurry. I love these highlighters because I can erase them if I accidentally use the wrong color. My only complaint is that it is a little harder to re-highlight something that has been previously erased with the FriXion highlighter.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This items works great!..., November 17, 2013
By bwh...
This items works great! I still have the highlighter that I bought in Japan. I am very happy I found this site. It highlights and erase. You just have to wait for the area to dry to properly erase it. Just be careful of it being expose to heat/sun for a long time. It will disappear but nonetheless, I love this item!
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  They erase well but,..., July 14, 2011
By buz...
They erase well but, I find that if you highlight pencil and try to erase, it smudges the pencil! The blue is also very dark and the ink doesn't come out very well...
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I absolutely love these..., March 5, 2014
By lor...
I absolutely love these highlighters! They erase clean and without a trace. So many people want them and now they are "out of stock". Please restock quickly so my office staff will stop using mine. :) I would also like to add to the review that I have ordered multiple times from this company and every order that I have submitted have delivered within three days using their free shipping service.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  These DO erase cleanly..., February 1, 2013
These DO erase cleanly from both inkjet and laser-printed texts.

Like another reviewer, I was initially disappointed by the performance of these highlighters; when I tried to erase the highlighter ink from inkjet or laser-printed papers, it badly smeared the text's ink, resulting in very noticeable grey smudges around the previously highlighted area.

However, I later realized that this smudging did not occur AT ALL if I gave the highlighter ink ample time (half a minute or so) to dry before erasing. While this wait may seem like a turn-off to some, I think that the advantage these types of highlighters definitely outweighs any potential annoyance at having to resist the urge to erase immediately.

Unlike many other erasable highlighters (such as the office max brand, which employs a second clear ink to erase the initial highlighter ink), the FriXion highlighters allow you to re-highlight the same area after erasing. For people like me who happen to have the unfortunate combination of being both indecisive and obsessive about my color coding, the ability to highlight, erase, re-highlight, erase, etc... is invaluable.

It might also be worth noting that other 'regular' erasers (such as Hinodewashi erasers sold on this site) can sometimes give better erasing results than the FriXion erasers, depending on the type of paper/ink being highlighted.

I do agree that the ink "sits on top" of the text you highlight, as another reviewer pointed out, but I don't find this to be significantly detracting from their overall functionality.

Another strange quirk I noticed is that, while they do erase cleanly from pencil (HB lead), any pencil marks that get covered by the highlighter ink become un-erasable from then on, even if/after the highlighter ink is erased and regardless of what type of eraser is used. Again, not a big deal to me, but it might be to others. (This result is obviously not true for marks made by other FriXion pens, so I might suggest using an erasable pen instead of a pencil if you want to be able to erase the written text after highlighting it).
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I've been using these..., July 31, 2012
By tam...
I've been using these on my textbooks, and they work great on most printed materials. I'd suggest testing erasing them on the text first as it will smear the words on some. If it does smear the text, use a normal eraser instead (I'd recommend one of those erasers that are in pen-like barrels, not a big bulky one, so you can be more precise). Overall, I love these highlighters and will get them again once they run out. =]
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I bought the pink and..., March 18, 2010
I bought the pink and blue highlighters from this set individually and they really erase. They erase well from printed type, but smear with pen or pencil-written words. This is ok for me because I color code my notes with colored pencils. I recommend these to any college or highschool student who likes to highlight their textbooks but also want to sell them back at the end of the semester.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The FriXion erases very..., March 31, 2009
The FriXion erases very well. IN the past (many years ago) when I have tried erasable highlighters, markers, etc., you would always be left with traces of color, but not so with this brand. Pilot has really done well, with all of their erasable pens. I would urge anyone, especially students who like highlighing their books and at the end of the semester dare try to return them in tip top condition, to try these pens. No one would be the wiser that highlighters were used...
  These highlighters work..., October 13, 2013
These highlighters work as advertised and are extremely easy to erase. I don't think I will ever use any other kind of highlighters.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Oh dear. I really wanted..., November 25, 2012
By aur...
Oh dear. I really wanted these to work out! Unfortunately, the ink is WAY too dark and, while it does erase completely, it smudges my laser-printer book's print so badly, I can't read the text. I tested it on several printer works and it's all the same. The color goes away, but the black ink rubs off and smudges terribly. Can't use these at all. Bummer.
  I love these highlighters...., June 4, 2012
By myg...
I love these highlighters. I use them in my Bible and they don't show thru. Many others say they don't bleed thru, but you can still see the color thru the page (on the back side of the page). These rarely show on the back side of the page and only if you press down real long and hard. I also love the Pilot Erasable gel pens they work the same!!!
  These are great if you..., January 3, 2012
By kri...
These are great if you tend to get a little highlighter-happy like me. Just make sure the line is dry before you try to erase!
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Does anyone else find..., October 27, 2011
By jla...
Does anyone else find it strange that it is more expensive to purchase the pack of 6 rather than buy them separately? Of course ten cents is not much but it is pretty strange. I guess the plastic case is the extra cost.
  Very cool highlighter..., July 8, 2010
Very cool highlighter but they are so light, could use a little more darkness. But a very good highlighter especially with those cruddy TUL and sharpie ones that bleed through. Excellent Product
  I bought a single orange..., December 5, 2009
I bought a single orange highlighter.

It works wonders erasing highlighter COMPLETELY from printed materials. Absolutely no trace of color is left behind. And even better, I can re-highlight where I erased, and erase it again, repeat repeat repeat. I wasn't able to do that with previous highlighters which seemed to put down a highlighter neutralizing chemical which resisted re-highlighting. It's a minor miracle.

HOWEVER, it smears like crazy when erasing highlighter from ballpoint or pencil.

That seems to line up with what others have reported. Since I don't ever highlight over pencil or ballpoint, I think this will work well for me.

I'm rating this 4/5 stars because of the limitation over pencil and ballpoint ink.
  The best erasable hilighter..., August 24, 2009
The best erasable hilighter out there on the market! I've tried many eraseable products before and this one actually stands up to it's description. Awesome!
  hmm, i don't know. i..., August 9, 2009
hmm, i don't know. i really like these highlighters, they're bright enough but you can still see your writing clearly and they erase well but erasing over highlighted pencil smears. i guess this highlighter is meant for ink only. i still get some eraser residue as well for all six of these highlighters as well as the regular frixion .05 mm pens. maybe i'm using them incorrectly but i consistently get little bits of residue. i'm not sure if its from the ink or the rubber end, perhaps from both but it does bother me a little. my only complaint is that i can't erase highlighted pencil and it doesn't truly erase with no eraser residue. i'll try buying the .04 frixion pens and another pack of these highlighters. perhaps i've left these pens and highlighters in storage too long (2 months) and they've gone bad. i didn't think that was possible but i'm willing to give these a second chance. after all, they are really good at erasing and the colors are vibrant.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  these highlighters are..., June 14, 2012
By hir...
these highlighters are awesome! the colours are bright and colourful, ink flow good, and the price is reasonable. the best thing is, they are erasable. the ink vanishes almost magically, theyre are sooo cool! definately reccomended.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I'm glad that I found..., June 8, 2011
I'm glad that I found these. I want to go back to school just so I can use these highlighters more often. This highlighter doesn't smear and erases very well.