JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (22 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 17, 2011
PLEEEEEEASE restock Jetpens! ...
Verified Purchase
PLEEEEEEASE restock Jetpens!

Seriously, this is the best highlighter by far for me. In fact, with these around, I think using a different kind of highlighter would be settling for second-best :-) Here's what sets these apart from other highlighters, even other erasable ones:

1) the erasing function actually does what it says. Not only does it not leave a trace (even on my usual writing paper, cream-colored index cards), it allows for repeated erasing and re-writing (which lets you change colors - great for color coding stuff that is changeable, eg prioritizing a to-do list; it's not just for mistakes). Other erasables work like the classic fountain pen ink eraser: you can only erase once.

2) good build: the materials don't feel cheap and brittle, they're sturdy, including the clip. Best of all, the eraser is really more of a rubber stopper, which doesn't wear as you erase like with many other erasable pens: so you can be sure it won't wear down to nothing ages before the ink runs out in the highlighter.

3) the shape: it's like a pen, rather than the classic short and flat highlighter. Sure Jetpens only has the pen type (only the best for Jetpens customers i guess), but those other ones are overall more common. The pen style makes it more comfortable to hold, and easier to fit in a pencil case: these are about the same bulk as a 'good' pen (eg fountain pen) so they are perfect if you like a roll/wrap-style pencil case or the kind that turns into a pen pot, but still have to carry highlighters.

4) The ink: the colors are distinct (with other pens, sometimes the green and yellow look a bit similar, same with pink/orange & blue/purple - not so here), and they are vivid enough to highlight, but not excessively loud to the point of making what's written underneath hard to discern, even with the darkest colors (eg purple). Best of all, they work fine with inkjet and fountain pen ink, no smudges at all - another rarity.

I hope I've sung the praises of these things enough that Jetpens will see their way to restocking these asap. I really wanted a second set to keep in my ready-to-go pencil case so i don't have to keep transferring them from my desktop holder and risk forgetting them :-/

7 people found this helpful
gddysunshine
 
April 2, 2011
These are so amazing!...
These are so amazing! I love them so much. I use them in my bible and they are the only highlighters to not bleed through. THey also erase very well ( just make sure its dried) they are great to use at school when you might need to erase somthing! They work great !!!

6 people found this helpful
jdintegrity4art
 
July 23, 2010
I've tried the orange,...
I've tried the orange, green and blue. They all erase surprisingly well The orange and green work well for me, but the blue is too dark. However, with all these highlighters I've noticed the following: If I highlight over pencil and then erase, the highlighter disappears, but I can't erase the pencil marks that were underneath.

6 people found this helpful
ericajwhitaker
 
September 16, 2011
I always like to color-code...
Verified Purchase
I always like to color-code things in my planner - but sometimes I'm only half paying attention because I'm in a hurry. I love these highlighters because I can erase them if I accidentally use the wrong color. My only complaint is that it is a little harder to re-highlight something that has been previously erased with the FriXion highlighter.

4 people found this helpful
mrs.tattershall
 
November 17, 2013
This items works great!...
Verified Purchase
This items works great! I still have the highlighter that I bought in Japan. I am very happy I found this site. It highlights and erase. You just have to wait for the area to dry to properly erase it. Just be careful of it being expose to heat/sun for a long time. It will disappear but nonetheless, I love this item!

2 people found this helpful
bwhitepearl
 
February 1, 2013
These DO erase cleanly...
These DO erase cleanly from both inkjet and laser-printed texts.

Like another reviewer, I was initially disappointed by the performance of these highlighters; when I tried to erase the highlighter ink from inkjet or laser-printed papers, it badly smeared the text's ink, resulting in very noticeable grey smudges around the previously highlighted area.

However, I later realized that this smudging did not occur AT ALL if I gave the highlighter ink ample time (half a minute or so) to dry before erasing. While this wait may seem like a turn-off to some, I think that the advantage these types of highlighters definitely outweighs any potential annoyance at having to resist the urge to erase immediately.

Unlike many other erasable highlighters (such as the office max brand, which employs a second clear ink to erase the initial highlighter ink), the FriXion highlighters allow you to re-highlight the same area after erasing. For people like me who happen to have the unfortunate combination of being both indecisive and obsessive about my color coding, the ability to highlight, erase, re-highlight, erase, etc... is invaluable.

It might also be worth noting that other 'regular' erasers (such as Hinodewashi erasers sold on this site) can sometimes give better erasing results than the FriXion erasers, depending on the type of paper/ink being highlighted.

I do agree that the ink "sits on top" of the text you highlight, as another reviewer pointed out, but I don't find this to be significantly detracting from their overall functionality.

Another strange quirk I noticed is that, while they do erase cleanly from pencil (HB lead), any pencil marks that get covered by the highlighter ink become un-erasable from then on, even if/after the highlighter ink is erased and regardless of what type of eraser is used. Again, not a big deal to me, but it might be to others. (This result is obviously not true for marks made by other FriXion pens, so I might suggest using an erasable pen instead of a pencil if you want to be able to erase the written text after highlighting it).

2 people found this helpful
 
July 14, 2011
They erase well but,...
They erase well but, I find that if you highlight pencil and try to erase, it smudges the pencil! The blue is also very dark and the ink doesn't come out very well...

3 people found this helpful
buzzing_fly1122
 
March 5, 2014
I absolutely love these...
Verified Purchase
I absolutely love these highlighters! They erase clean and without a trace. So many people want them and now they are "out of stock". Please restock quickly so my office staff will stop using mine. :) I would also like to add to the review that I have ordered multiple times from this company and every order that I have submitted have delivered within three days using their free shipping service.

1 person found this helpful
lori.gerratt
 
July 31, 2012
I've been using these...
I've been using these on my textbooks, and they work great on most printed materials. I'd suggest testing erasing them on the text first as it will smear the words on some. If it does smear the text, use a normal eraser instead (I'd recommend one of those erasers that are in pen-like barrels, not a big bulky one, so you can be more precise). Overall, I love these highlighters and will get them again once they run out. =]

1 person found this helpful
tam2003_12
 
March 18, 2010
I bought the pink and...
Verified Purchase
I bought the pink and blue highlighters from this set individually and they really erase. They erase well from printed type, but smear with pen or pencil-written words. This is ok for me because I color code my notes with colored pencils. I recommend these to any college or highschool student who likes to highlight their textbooks but also want to sell them back at the end of the semester.

1 person found this helpful
leslie.lafleur