JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (15 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 20, 2011
Very smooth and has good...
Very smooth and has good color but... it doesn't dry fast enough as my journal is full of smearing and smudges. The Uni-Ball Signo RT 0.38mm is my weapon of choice compared to this pen.

1 person found this helpful
terri.willing
 
June 27, 2009
This pen isn't bad. But...
Verified Purchase
This pen isn't bad. But I bought it along with the Uni-ball Signo DX UM-151 Gel Ink Pen (also 0.38 mm), and I've found that one to be much better, so I don't think I'll be using this one much.

Unlike this one, the Uni-ball doesn't stop making a line if you tilt it to the side a bit, only to suddenly give a thick one when you press a little harder or tilt it back upright. This pen is a bit fickle, in comparison - it doesn't have a lot of in-between, it either makes a line or it doesn't.

I think that it should be a pretty good pen for writing, actually, but not for illustration (which is what I bought it for). But the Uni-ball is a better pen all-around, good for writing AND illustration and it's almost the same price... so I'd recommend getting it instead.

1 person found this helpful
 
July 8, 2014
The G2 writes like an...
The G2 writes like an absolute dream before unexpectedly exploding ink in a most dramatic way. In fact, my hands are currently stained blue from cleaning up the violent death of the black G2's cousin yesterday. I was tempted to give the product 2 stars because the pen's demise is incredibly precise. That is, a black pen exploded two days ago and I instantly picked up another black pen from the same four-pack which also exploded as soon as I clicked it open. Last night I picked up a blue pen from a four-pack I purchased the same day as the black pens and I now look like a participated in a democratic election in the Middle East. I tossed my remaining 3 G2's because it's simply not worth it. Try a Uniball Signo or a Pentel Slicci if you want paper to wear the ink instead of your hand.

lauren.ciechanowski
 
October 3, 2013
This pen has become more...
This pen has become more and more popular. The uniball is good but this much better for writing. It is hard to write with a wider pen once you have used it for a few minutes.

hpcummings
 
September 5, 2013
A decent and affordable...
A decent and affordable gel pen - that's pretty much what you're getting here. I'm one of those people who finds the 0.5 mm G-2 annoyingly inconsistent. The 0.38 mm is much better, but it still falls short of the magnificent Sarasa, Signo, and Hi-Tec-C pens. Nonetheless, thanks to its massively filled cartridges you effectively get 90% of the performance for less than half the cost of the others. Not bad at all.

thesociir
 
August 19, 2012
Growing up in America,...
Verified Purchase
Growing up in America, my favorite pen all throughout middle school was the Pilot 0.7 Pen because of its dark ink and smooth lines. When I found out they had a 0.5 I immediately grew attached to those because I naturally have small handwriting. In high school I eventually switched to the Zebra Sarasa pens just because they were more smooth but thats beside the point...

BUT when I started working at the froyo place called BerryCup, they had these pens and I was like "woah, these are so cool". So I went to staples to try and find them. Much to my demise, I couldn't find them so I was kind of like... "where did my bosses get these cool pens?" so I googled it and TADAAAA I came here and fell in love with Jetpens because it is an amazing site.

Pros:
Darkkkkkk ink
Thin for pilot G2 standards
Would look good on a handwritten application for a job or something professional
Good for small handwriting, makes large handwriting look neater
Fairly cheap (in comparison to Hi-Tech-C but of course not as thin)

Cons:
Writes scratchy on thin pieces of paper

Overall, I'm glad I finally found these pens. I love the blue color and the red is super bright! I'm a huge fan of pilot pens and wish they sold this stuff in american stores...

suwan.mai
 
June 6, 2012
A few notes about my...
A few notes about my writing style:
I write quickly with a light touch and my normal print fits nicely on college ruled paper. I’m a righty and my handwriting is mediocre at best, so I tend to choose finer point gel/ball point pens to help with legibility. I don’t use liquid pens because they tend to spew ink when I twirl them while I’m thinking.

This is my go-to pen when I'm studying. 0.38mm is really the perfect balance between fineness and smoothness, especially with Pilot pens. I've gone through over a dozen refills with this platform and haven't had any complaints. The grip starts nice and low which is important to me because I hold my pens relatively close to the tip. The click is satisfying and the pen itself is of the highest quality. I hate losing pens but at less than $2 each, I didn't get upset when one walked away. In my opinion, this is the best ultra-fine gel pen available but I've recently started experimenting with newcomers and old time favorites, so this might soon change!

 
December 13, 2010
This pen is fantastic....
This pen is fantastic. The ink is waterproof on my sketchpad. It is a very fine point with no variation, and I use it to ink some drawings and to take fine notes.

cub789456
 
September 21, 2009
I bought this pen as...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen as a replacement for a dong-a black .38 pen for my journaling and so far it's been absolutely beautiful. Thick black lines, no scratching, no bleeding. If anyone else has suggestions for fine-tip gels for journalling, by all means, shout it out.

 
May 23, 2009
I like this pen very...
Verified Purchase
I like this pen very much, it is very nice to write with. One little thing though, don't buy too many at once, I had some pens become unusable because the tip dried out/got blocked after 1 year.