My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (17 customer reviews)
Write Review
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  This is a very nice pen...., July 30, 2010
By rot...
This is a very nice pen. It looks great and writes great. Not too thin or heavy for me at all. I'm also happy to say that it takes the Pentel Energel 0.7mm refills (LR7-A) just fine which is one of the smoothest refills I've used. In addition it also takes the Pilot G-2 ( I tried both the 0.38mm and 0.5mm refills ), the Uniball Jetstream SXR-7 refill, and while it was just a very small bit tight screwing the pen back together, the Zebra Sarasa Push Clip refill, JF-04, also worked fine. I'm definitely happy with it and it's pretty likely I'll be getting another soon. I just wish the other colors would come back in stock. :-)
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I love this pen!! I was..., August 6, 2011
I love this pen!! I was hesitant to pay the $ for a capped pen. (I tend to prefer retractable pens, and didn\'t bat an eyelash at paying $ for the G2 Limited.) However, upon receiving this pen, it has quickly become my favorite. Though I enjoy the supplied 0.4 needle point ink cartridge that is supplied, I preferred my 0.38 G2 refill, which fits in the Cavalier perfectly. I switched the 0.4 Hi-Tec-C refill to my Dr. Grip Gel, and both seem like a better fit this way.

I really wish that the Cavalier came in a gray color (similar to my G2 Limited and Dr. Grip Gel - I like consistency), but the silver is nice.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The Pilot Hi-Tec-C Cavalier..., December 5, 2010
The Pilot Hi-Tec-C Cavalier is in a class of its own. For its small size it has excellent: weight, balance, and preformance. Its outer petite shell has an glossy tough finish which only adds to its value when one considers durability. In the hand it quickly becomes a part of you as you discover the ease at which it glides accross the page. I was hesitant at first about the: size, finish, refills, et cetera... before buying this product, but I'm glad I've resolve those issues by buying it; I soon found myself discovering that it was more than what I expected--The epitomy of excellence given form. The Cavalier is in a class of it's own because it just is. If your thinking about getting one, think no longer--buy it!! You be glad you did.
  My favorite pen, ever...., June 24, 2013
By chase
My favorite pen, ever. I desperately hope JetPens will bring this color back: I'd buy five.
  Absolutely love this..., January 8, 2012
By toi...
Absolutely love this pen!
  Almost perfect. My favorite..., December 6, 2010
By bill
Almost perfect. My favorite pen (along with my Rotring Rapidograph .13mm) and the one that gets daily use for sketching and drawing. The ink is fairly water resistant - almost waterproof really - I lay a watercolor wash over most of my drawings and the ink will run a little if it is not completely dry. The only flaw in the design that I have found is that the barrel/cap wears out over time from repeated uncapping/capping so one of my pen's (my beloved red one) caps will not stay on tightly and will comes uncapped very easily and I end up getting stabbed by the needlepoint tip (I use the .3mm). Still worth every penny though. I wish the red/green/blues were available though.
  The thing I like most..., September 28, 2010
By joe...
The thing I like most about this pen is the heft. Small, but good weight/balance. The body looks like its brass. The silver is paint, and has held up well. A friend of mine has the blue, and the paint has flaked off some. The refill is awesome, writes very smooth and consistent. Price is reasonable, making this pen a decent buy.
  I love the simplicity..., September 14, 2010
By bart
I love the simplicity of this pen's design - it's very sleek. It's also very slim, but I prefer a smaller diameter pen for writing. It's about the same diameter as a wooden pencil. The ink flows smoothly, and the tip is very fine. The 0.4mm cartridge included is as small as I would want (the 0.3mm cartridges must write like spider silk!). If this pen ever shows up in the metallic blue body I'll buy 3 of them immediately!
  I love these pens - have..., August 27, 2010
By don...
I love these pens - have 3 of them. Please bring back the other colors!
  I admit that it looks..., January 29, 2010
By khb...
I admit that it looks good, but it is not ergonomic, feels solid, and too thin for a normal adult man's hand (6 feet tall).
  I love the Hi-Tec-C pens!..., November 28, 2008
I love the Hi-Tec-C pens! I have a question, are the pen refills for the Cavaliers the same as Hi-Tec-C refills??
  This is the last pen..., October 9, 2008
This is the last pen that I will ever buy... except for the one just like it that I have to buy for my husband to keep him from taking mine!
I like to write very small and was looking for a nice, comfortable, refillable pen with a fine tip, and this is it. Perfect for me.
  I was disappointed. It..., June 12, 2008
I was disappointed. It looks so sleek and slim. I'd give it a full score for appearance.

This is an issue that I have with the Hi Tec line, but the tips seem to yield to pressure too easily. Writing with the Cavalier 0.4 pens, I've broken at least 2 tips just from dropping the pen on the floor by accident. Although, later I noticed that I've only ever dropped these by accident, and not other pens. Maybe because it is so heavy? Or maybe I only notice and remember dropping this one because it often results in a broken tip...

Plus, I have some kind of crisp, black line obsession that isn't satisfied by this pen. The lines produced by this pen are too fuzzy along the edges, and aren't carbon black.

But, for most of the world, this pen probably isn't all that bad.

At least the ink dries very quickly, so, Lefties: rejoice!
  Beautiful asthetically..., December 28, 2007
By betty
Beautiful asthetically pleasing pen that looks like an expensive pen. The ink for this pen is also great.

The only downside that the pen feels top-heavy. Doesn't feel very balanced. Otherwise, nice pen.
  this is an awesome pen...., December 25, 2007
this is an awesome pen. well balanced. writing is flawless with this pen!
  I've been a huge fan..., August 27, 2007
I've been a huge fan of Hi-Tec-C pens for many years. It is one of the best pens among my collections. However, I always wanted to upgrade the plasticky feeling of the regular Hi-Tec-C pens to a more fine writing instrument.

This Cavalier Executive Pen series is the perfect one. I love the slick, metallic, well weighted design with the very same smooth fine line ink/feel of the original Hi-Tec-C. I love how it opens and closes!

For some, price may seem a bit stiff, but I would say it is worth of every penny!
Good: slim body, metalic finish, refillable, it's Hi-Tec-C!
Bad: weight balance a bit off to the cap, price.
Verdict: a super-hero custom for your Hi-Tec-C!
  Sleek, nice weight, writes..., March 13, 2006
By gweedo
Sleek, nice weight, writes wonderfully. Very well constructed, not cheap. If you like the Hi-Tec C but you want something a bit sleeker looking, this is it.