JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (47 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 10, 2012
the only downside of...
Verified Purchase
the only downside of it is the cap. the body of the pen had some scratches from the capping and recapping. anyone faces this problem? I didnt realise this problem the first few days of usage.

2 people found this helpful
chuafiona
 
September 14, 2011
I bought this pen more...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen more than a year ago and really like its weight and balance. Thin pens typically cause fatigue in the forefinger and thumb over prolonged use, but not with this one. But it does have couple of other issues :
1) All needle points are a little scratchy, but this one is a little more scratchy - probably because the needle is a tad bit longer.
2) This needle point tends to gather more paper fibers than other needle points, causing some clogging and ink buildup at the tip. When this happens, a quick wipe of the tip does the trick.

When the original refill ran out, I replaced it with a 0.38 G-Knock refill. It is comparable to the original 0.4mm point, the fit is perfect and the traditional conical tip is stable and smooth. Both the above issues were resolved.

Some other reviewers have asked about refill interchangeability - I can confirm that all Pilot gel refills fit this pen. I have even hacked a Uniball Signo RT refill to fit this pen.

Overall, I like this pen a lot - very elegant and professional looking, yet compact and easy to carry. Do be careful though, when uncapping or recapping the pen - the clearances are really close and any tilt will cause the edge of the cap to scratch the plastic grip on the pen.

2 people found this helpful
 
August 25, 2011
I write notes everyday...
Verified Purchase
I write notes everyday and am very particular with the weight and diameter of my pens. My prior favorite pen was the Cross classic due to the weight, small diameter and build quality. After reading various blogs and seeking advice fromThe Pen Addict blog. I purchased this pen from Jet Pens and was extremely pleased with the Hi-Tec Cavalier.

If you work in a corporate setting, and want something better than the usual cheap plastic BIC pens, look no further. The gel ink dries fast, I haven't noticed any smearing and its super black.Take pride in your writing insrtument.

Furthermore, I recently went into a pen specialty shop to browse around, luckily I was carrying my pen in my shirt pocket and asked them for something compareable and they offered me a few Lamy which were decent, but I much preferred my Cavalier.

2 people found this helpful
the_avesta
 
October 2, 2010
This is currently my...
Verified Purchase
This is currently my favorite daily writing pen. It's slightly thinner than a normal sized pen but still has a good weight and heft. The only catch, as a previous reviewer mentioned, is that i MUCH prefer to write with it without the cap at the butt end. Adding the cap adds quite a bit of weight that become uncomfortable when writing for long durations.

I also didn't really care for the default ink cartridge and replaced it with the Ohto 0.7mm Gel cartridge. Works wonderfully.

2 people found this helpful
 
February 16, 2013
This pen is amazing!...
Verified Purchase
This pen is amazing! I love the way it feels in my hand-good weight and everything. The fact that they refills are basically a brand new pen is perfect for me. I use it to draw with mainly and it's exactly what I needed.

1 person found this helpful
irishfan_23
 
December 28, 2011
The Pen itself is excellent,...
Verified Purchase
The Pen itself is excellent, good weight and balance, excellent to write with, and everything I was looking for.

A cautionary note, this pen does not take regular Hi Tec C or G Tec refills (Particularly of note for those in england), it will use BLS-G2-5 refills and BXS-V5RT refills, both of which are slightly thicker than the regular cartridge supplied with the pen, but fitting perfectly with the pen itself.

1 person found this helpful
john_automatic
 
July 17, 2011
Pilot does not make a...
Pilot does not make a 0.5 refill for this pen. I've already asked. The refills from the disposable range, I think, will not fit into this pen as the sizes are different. That's why I asked the question if anyone else is interested in a 0.5 refill so as to hopefully coax Pilot into making them if enough people ask for them and it becomes worthwhile for Pilot to make them. Personally, I think the demand is there, it's just that either Pilot don't realise it or just don't want to manufacture them for whatever reason! I think it's the latter.

2 people found this helpful
constantine10
 
September 21, 2010
Best pen I've ever owned....
Verified Purchase
Best pen I've ever owned. Smooth, weighty, no blotting. Sophisticated, always getting compliments on it. I want to own more. Please come out with other body colours!

1 person found this helpful
 
August 18, 2010
This has replaced more...
Verified Purchase
This has replaced more expensive pens as my favorite every day pen. Looks great, writes superbly on all types of paper. Lastly it has done something I don't expect of a pen- improved my social life! I am more relaxed when someone picks it up to look at (as compared with one 2 or 3 times it's price) so I actually am making friends instead of protecting my pen. And I have still not had it walk off.

1 person found this helpful
sjstromquist
 
March 1, 2010
I am addicted to fine...
Verified Purchase
I am addicted to fine stationery, and although not normally a needle point sort of fellow, this pen is amazing.

It has some heft to it, its not a light plastic thing that's going to break on you. The weight of it feels wonderful in your hand.

You can also get some serious mileage out of the ink cartridges. I write at least 5 to 6 letters a week, usually three pages long. I've had mine for 3 months now, and I just had to change the cartridge today.

I actually cruised over here to buy another one of these pens for the wife.

1 person found this helpful
michael.f.nash