My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.1 (11 customer reviews)
Write Review
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  Please disregard most..., November 24, 2011
By eli...
Please disregard most of my review below. When I first got this item, it didn't work, the lead was stuck inside and didn't advance at all. After I took it apart and dislodged the lead (which was not a very easy thing to do), it worked OK, but the advancing mechanism is still clumsy. You have to push down pretty hard to get it to go, and often after I advance the lead, the whole mechanism jumps up to its retracted position and I have un-retract (de-retract?) it again. It's ok if you don't use pencils much and just need one once in a while, so you don't have to carry an extra writing instrument for nothing. If you use pencils a lot, I think this is going to be annoying.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I just got the Coleto..., November 23, 2011
By eli...
I just got the Coleto 4-refill body with 3 ink refills and a pencil component. The inks are OK (the 0.3mm is kinda scratchy on the paper, but 0.4 and 0.5 are fine), but the pencil doesn't work at all! The lead doesn't advance when I push down, I have to open up the pen, take out the pencil component (which is a pain to do), manually push the point in to advance the lead, put it back in and then continue writing. If I were taking a test, I'd spend half my time advancing the lead. I don't even see how it's possible for the lead to advance, there's no ridge at the bottom of the pen to advance the lead. I'd give this a zero if it were possible, unless someone can explain how to work it.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I love all sorts of multipens,..., November 6, 2009
I love all sorts of multipens, but I'm so happy pilot has come out with a pencil component for the hi tec c coleto! My favorite multipen is the style fit multipen though, because they offer room for 5 refills, offer 16 different gel ink colors and a pencil. But, I digress from the point of my review: this pencil refill contains two pieces of lead and can be refilled by detaching the entire white plastic portion from the metal portion. It may feel like you're breaking the refill, but you're not. If you exert the proper amount of force, you will not snap the refill and instead the white part will pop right out of the metal cylinder. As with the review I wrote for the Style Fit pencil component, I recommend no more than 3-4 pieces of lead to be kept in the refill at one time. Lead jams can be avoided this way.
   I love this refill...., April 18, 2014
By mom
I love this refill. I have it in one slot and the eraser refill in another -- How this works isn't clear right off and I threw out the first one because I didn't know how to advance the lead. I assumed it was defective - You have to click down on the grey tab to advance (the tab that sets the refill into position.) The eraser works the same way. I did a video on it a few months ago, if you'd want to see how to do it http://youtu.be/7IKO-jqJqPY
  The 0.5 pencil works..., March 13, 2014
By mss...
The 0.5 pencil works beautifully. I have had no trouble at all, so perhaps the design changed at some point.
  I do not see why everybody..., December 6, 2013
By nic...
I do not see why everybody else says this does not work. For me, It worked perfectly fine. But I did give it four stars, only because the piece that connect the component to the tab was flimsy and while putting the component in it made me think of an octopus tentacle because of how flimsy it was. Other than that, I loved it!

P.S To make it not detract when extending the lead push the tab inwards, towards the center of the pen. That should help it.
  I ordered the pencil..., November 19, 2013
By 13c...
I ordered the pencil 0.5 to go in my Coleto multi pen. What I got was the 0.3 but didn't realize it until I tried to install it and the lead was so flimsy that it broke off and fell out of the cartridge. Then looking at the packaging, I saw that it said 0.3. I wasted my money on that, but I love the gel pen refills and my multi pen. May not order another pencil refill until the manufacturers are able to make it easier to install and use.
  Works without much problem,..., April 28, 2013
By roqz
Works without much problem, but because it has a self contained mechanism, it requires a protruding button on the top, that looks like a wing on the pen. This kinds of breaks the consistency with the other components, the eraser component has the same protruding button.

The mechanism sometimes doesn't work, it is very flimsy and I feel like I will broke it easily. So far it has persisted.
  I've not had the problems..., January 15, 2013
By joh...
I've not had the problems other reviewers have mentioned.

The mechanism works without trouble.

It requires a bit more pressure to extend the lead than on other mechanical pencils, but not substantially.

My only minor complaint is the top of the insert -- the part you push to deploy and to extend the lead -- is bigger than on pen inserts and compromises the aesthetic appeal a bit. Same is true of the eraser insert.

For me, though, the aesthetic compromise is worth the convenience of having pen and pencil at the ready.
  In my opinion this add-on..., July 27, 2011
By pur...
In my opinion this add-on detracts from the style and feel of the HI-TEC C COLETO Lumio. The transition form color to mechanical pencil is not as refined as it can be. This review is nit picking the smallest detail so if one needs a multi pen with a pencil component then its not bad. But for me I will stick with my Dr. Grip pencil.
  Nice idea, but the nib..., November 23, 2009
By smi...
Nice idea, but the nib separated from the casing inside the pen and was very hard to push back together. However, once back together, the rise and fall mechanism ceased to work and I had to use needle nose pliers to yank the thing out of my pen. Maybe a fluke thing....