1 - 10 of 25 |  | 
I love this refill....
April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase
I love this refill. I have it in one slot and the eraser refill in another -- How this works isn't clear right off and I threw out the first one because I didn't know how to advance the lead. I assumed it was defective - You have to click down on the grey tab to advance (the tab that sets the refill into position.) The eraser works the same way. I did a video on it a few months ago, if you'd want to see how to do it http://youtu.be/7IKO-jqJqPY
7 people found this helpful
tracyreinhardt
Please disregard most...
November 24, 2011
Verified Purchase
Please disregard most of my review below. When I first got this item, it didn't work, the lead was stuck inside and didn't advance at all. After I took it apart and dislodged the lead (which was not a very easy thing to do), it worked OK, but the advancing mechanism is still clumsy. You have to push down pretty hard to get it to go, and often after I advance the lead, the whole mechanism jumps up to its retracted position and I have un-retract (de-retract?) it again. It's ok if you don't use pencils much and just need one once in a while, so you don't have to carry an extra writing instrument for nothing. If you use pencils a lot, I think this is going to be annoying.
8 people found this helpful
elihacohen98
I love all sorts of multipens,...
November 6, 2009
Verified Purchase
I love all sorts of multipens, but I'm so happy pilot has come out with a pencil component for the hi tec c coleto! My favorite multipen is the style fit multipen though, because they offer room for 5 refills, offer 16 different gel ink colors and a pencil. But, I digress from the point of my review: this pencil refill contains two pieces of lead and can be refilled by detaching the entire white plastic portion from the metal portion. It may feel like you're breaking the refill, but you're not. If you exert the proper amount of force, you will not snap the refill and instead the white part will pop right out of the metal cylinder. As with the review I wrote for the Style Fit pencil component, I recommend no more than 3-4 pieces of lead to be kept in the refill at one time. Lead jams can be avoided this way.
3 people found this helpful
chris6283kim
Great pencil. The lead...
August 27, 2015
Verified Purchase
Great pencil. The lead has hardly dulled.
daysummer77
I would skip the pencil...
August 19, 2015
Verified Purchase
I would skip the pencil in the coleto. It's hard to explain but it just wasn't my favorite pencil. And the clicker portion of the pencil is thick... to the point it becomes obtrusive. It sticks out significantly more than the selector of the pen inserts. The same goes with the eraser components selector piece.
Awesome product...
August 12, 2015
Verified Purchase
Awesome product
As an engineering student,...
August 7, 2015
Verified Purchase
As an engineering student, I love this mechanical pencil component. Although I prefer ink, solving math and physics problems require pencils. Having pen and pencil in the same pen is definitely a plus. Also, buying ink refills can be pricey, and shipping can take some time. During that time, I can trust my handy mechanical pencil.
The gray push tab part...
July 31, 2015
Verified Purchase
The gray push tab part is so flimsy!
It feels like it may break at any moment and even does a 360 turn.
For the other components the push tab is nice and sturdy on the tube.

But watching the video on how to refill the pens the one used in the tutorial was flimsy as well. Maybe all of them are like that and there may be a reason I am not aware of.
I don't like it though.

It does it's job though.
wiggles/moves around...
July 20, 2015
Verified Purchase
wiggles/moves around too much :\
I was -really- hopeful...
July 13, 2015
Verified Purchase
I was -really- hopeful for this pencil component, but upon using it, it's a bit clunky. The clicking motion is difficult to get at first. I struggled to figure it out, even with the video tutorial. It just takes clicking it harder than you think you might need to. But the biggest problem I have with these Coleto pencil components is that the metal barrel spins within the plastic lead-holding tube part. Basically it results in the whole pencil component rotating towards the flat side of the mechanical pencil lead. It's impossible, no matter how I turn the whole pen, to write with the sharp tip of the pencil because the metal always rotates within it's own component. I'm relatively heavy handed, but even writing lightly with it has the same result over time. I also own the .3mm mechanical pencil component and it does the same thing.
thirdpotato
1 - 10 of 25 |  |