JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.3 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
November 24, 2011
Please disregard most...
Verified Purchase
Please disregard most of my review below. When I first got this item, it didn't work, the lead was stuck inside and didn't advance at all. After I took it apart and dislodged the lead (which was not a very easy thing to do), it worked OK, but the advancing mechanism is still clumsy. You have to push down pretty hard to get it to go, and often after I advance the lead, the whole mechanism jumps up to its retracted position and I have un-retract (de-retract?) it again. It's ok if you don't use pencils much and just need one once in a while, so you don't have to carry an extra writing instrument for nothing. If you use pencils a lot, I think this is going to be annoying.

7 people found this helpful
elihacohen98
 
November 6, 2009
I love all sorts of multipens,...
Verified Purchase
I love all sorts of multipens, but I'm so happy pilot has come out with a pencil component for the hi tec c coleto! My favorite multipen is the style fit multipen though, because they offer room for 5 refills, offer 16 different gel ink colors and a pencil. But, I digress from the point of my review: this pencil refill contains two pieces of lead and can be refilled by detaching the entire white plastic portion from the metal portion. It may feel like you're breaking the refill, but you're not. If you exert the proper amount of force, you will not snap the refill and instead the white part will pop right out of the metal cylinder. As with the review I wrote for the Style Fit pencil component, I recommend no more than 3-4 pieces of lead to be kept in the refill at one time. Lead jams can be avoided this way.

2 people found this helpful
chris6283kim
 
April 18, 2014
I love this refill....
Verified Purchase
I love this refill. I have it in one slot and the eraser refill in another -- How this works isn't clear right off and I threw out the first one because I didn't know how to advance the lead. I assumed it was defective - You have to click down on the grey tab to advance (the tab that sets the refill into position.) The eraser works the same way. I did a video on it a few months ago, if you'd want to see how to do it http://youtu.be/7IKO-jqJqPY

1 person found this helpful
 
November 23, 2011
I just got the Coleto...
Verified Purchase
I just got the Coleto 4-refill body with 3 ink refills and a pencil component. The inks are OK (the 0.3mm is kinda scratchy on the paper, but 0.4 and 0.5 are fine), but the pencil doesn't work at all! The lead doesn't advance when I push down, I have to open up the pen, take out the pencil component (which is a pain to do), manually push the point in to advance the lead, put it back in and then continue writing. If I were taking a test, I'd spend half my time advancing the lead. I don't even see how it's possible for the lead to advance, there's no ridge at the bottom of the pen to advance the lead. I'd give this a zero if it were possible, unless someone can explain how to work it.

2 people found this helpful
elihacohen98
 
October 21, 2014
works nicely...
Verified Purchase
works nicely

luxurianthue
 
March 13, 2014
The 0.5 pencil works...
Verified Purchase
The 0.5 pencil works beautifully. I have had no trouble at all, so perhaps the design changed at some point.

 
December 6, 2013
I do not see why everybody...
Verified Purchase
I do not see why everybody else says this does not work. For me, It worked perfectly fine. But I did give it four stars, only because the piece that connect the component to the tab was flimsy and while putting the component in it made me think of an octopus tentacle because of how flimsy it was. Other than that, I loved it!

P.S To make it not detract when extending the lead push the tab inwards, towards the center of the pen. That should help it.

nicknguyen4945
 
November 19, 2013
I ordered the pencil...
I ordered the pencil 0.5 to go in my Coleto multi pen. What I got was the 0.3 but didn't realize it until I tried to install it and the lead was so flimsy that it broke off and fell out of the cartridge. Then looking at the packaging, I saw that it said 0.3. I wasted my money on that, but I love the gel pen refills and my multi pen. May not order another pencil refill until the manufacturers are able to make it easier to install and use.

13couponsavings
 
April 28, 2013
Works without much problem,...
Verified Purchase
Works without much problem, but because it has a self contained mechanism, it requires a protruding button on the top, that looks like a wing on the pen. This kinds of breaks the consistency with the other components, the eraser component has the same protruding button.

The mechanism sometimes doesn't work, it is very flimsy and I feel like I will broke it easily. So far it has persisted.

 
January 15, 2013
I've not had the problems...
Verified Purchase
I've not had the problems other reviewers have mentioned.

The mechanism works without trouble.

It requires a bit more pressure to extend the lead than on other mechanical pencils, but not substantially.

My only minor complaint is the top of the insert -- the part you push to deploy and to extend the lead -- is bigger than on pen inserts and compromises the aesthetic appeal a bit. Same is true of the eraser insert.

For me, though, the aesthetic compromise is worth the convenience of having pen and pencil at the ready.

john.pull