My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (21 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  If you are looking for..., March 16, 2012
By art...
If you are looking for the equivalent(and probably even better version) of the High tech C try the Uni-Ball Signo DX 0.28mm or the zebra sarasa 0.3 mm. Both are absolutely fantastic pens in all respects, and are even better because they're cheaper than the high tech c. Both also come with a grip and do not have a fragile needle point like the high tech c.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  A good pen, ink can actually..., December 14, 2010
A good pen, ink can actually be the same or thinner than the 0.18 uni-ball. It is better for long, straight lines (eg. cross-hatching) than for short, sketchy ones that the uni-ball is good at. Its ink is much thinner than the Slicci, which is also 0.25. Sometimes the ink seems to stop flowing and things get a bit scratchy. Note: this pen is not waterproof, and will bleed strange purplish tones if exposed to water. The 0.18 uni-ball is waterproof.

Everything has its use, though. I use this pen to write small notes, and for cross-hatching in comics. It's good at both of those.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Hands down my favorite..., November 21, 2012
Hands down my favorite pen. I bought every gel pen on Jetpens under .4 mm, and in one clean swoop decided that this is by far the best. The tip size is very small, however if you have a light hand the ink will continue to flow well. At first, expect to have a hard time with this pen, but after a little writing it will be a very enjoyable experience.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  At first I thought that..., October 12, 2011
At first I thought that I really liked this pen (I bought this pen along with the uni-ball signo bit .28), but not long after I started using it the ink stopped flowing consistently and then pretty much refused to write more than one word without choking up. I bought this pen over a year ago and test it periodically to see if it has decided to work... but it still won't. My uni-ball, however, is still my primary note-taking pen and I have never had a problem with it. I suppose that it is possible that I simply recieved a defective pen, but I have ordered dozens of products from Jetpens and never had a similar problem

In summary; disappointing pen!
  I bought this pen with..., September 19, 2014
By t_hauf
I bought this pen with the intention of drawing with it. It worked really well at first, it produced surprisingly black lines for how this they were. Over time the ink flow became a lot less consistent to the point where it is really hard for me to use and be confident in it, although, with coxing it work well again at times. Because the nib is so small it can be a challenge to write or draw with the pen without it feeling like you are stabbing the paper. Along with that, I did find that it is a bit fussy with some paper. The nib can clog with fibers sometimes if you are using a paper that has even a little bit of tooth to it.
I am left handed and since this pen falls under the "left handed" tag, I wanted to say I did not have any issues with smearing, but writing was little frustrating because of how small the nib is.
Overall good, but I would recommend the 0.4 mm before this pen
  This pen is great for..., July 8, 2014
By lau...
This pen is great for a pencil-like experience on high-quality paper (I have several Rhodia pads), but even then the tip can give me the sensation as though it's cutting into the paper. I barely press down when I write, so it's not a pressure issue on my end. If you intend to use this pen on not-fancy paper its best application is that of a fine-edge knife. The pen is snobby, I suppose. Other reviewers who suggested to buy a size or two up are spot-on; I have several Hi-Tec .4's that provide the same lines as Signo .28's or Slicci .25's. If you like a pencil-quality line in ink, and you use smooth, high-quality paper, you and this pen will be very happy together.
  I was really hoping to..., August 19, 2012
I was really hoping to LOVE LOVE LOVE this pen because it was .25 mm and I'm a huge fan of super fine pens. BUT I was kind of disappointed because I found the barrel to be really uncomfortable to write with because it was so small.

Pros:
Super Fine Tip
Smooth Lines
Good, Well Known Brand
Sure to Impress Others

Cons:
Uncomfortable, No Grip
Kind of expensive for something that doesn't try to be aesthetically pleasing... Then again I kind of like the simple design.

I'm going to try using other pens of similar fineness but different brands so I'll probably post an update later...

Overall it's a very nice pen to have and use, I can't get enough of the fine point. I will most likely buy this pen again just because I feel happy just knowing I have it in my JetPen stash... (I'm kind of obsessed)
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I first used a H-Tec-C..., May 12, 2011
By rickb
I first used a H-Tec-C Cavalier almost 10 years ago, I think. and I'm waiting impatiently for them to come back into stock. Until then, the basic stick is a pleasure! It is a little scratchy, which I like, something like a very sharp 4H drafting lead, and it's a nice feel for me. The truly fine point sure beats those 0.5 paintbrushes, ick! Thanks, Jetpens!!!
  THis needs a better barrel...., November 22, 2010
By oli...
THis needs a better barrel. I would buy more if it was better.

But other than that great!!!
  I've been using this..., November 22, 2010
By c_c...
I've been using this pen for years and just love it. I agree with a previous writer that if you have a heavier hand it may not be the right one for you. This is one of the best pens on the market and will continue to order them as long as Jet Pens continues to carry them. Thank you JetPens!

C from South Carolina, USA
  this pens a good write!..., August 22, 2009
this pens a good write! my only complaint about this pen is the barrel design. i think if it was a bit more ergonomic id chose it over the signo .28mm. it doesnt feel like youre holding an awesome pen in your hand, infact, it feels more like youre holding one of those cheaper crystal pens you pick up at the office supply store that are 10 for a dollar. but i STILL really like it! heh.
  I love this pen. I..., November 23, 2008
I love this pen.

I wish it had a more egernomic barrel. I added a piece to make it fit my hand better and I am using the trainer to hold it in the correct position.

Can the refills be made in more colors. I espically like the violet.

Write on!
  I also find that these..., November 17, 2008
I also find that these pens are quite durable. Perhaps heavy handers might not want to purchase this type, but I have seen a few heavy hands write quite well with the .25 and the pen survived. I also have tried the unibit .18 and though the black and blue write well, I did not find success with colored ones, however, overall, I prefer the pilot hi tec as it seems more durable.
  I like this series of..., August 28, 2008
I like this series of gel pens. I have all 4 nib sizes. The nib, some say, is fragile but I don't believe that is the case, at least not in my experience. I don't have to press hard to get them to make a mark so I am less likely to break the nibs than someone with a heavy hand. If you treat these pens right they perform just fine.

The 0.25mm nib of course makes the finest line and the 0.5mm the widest. However, and it should come as no surprise, the smaller the nib the "rougher" the pen feels when writing with it. However the nibs being smaller in diameter than other pens their nib size they make for excellent drafting/drawing pens when you use a straight edge such as a triangle or ruler. Again one does not have to press hard to get these pens to produce a line.

The ink in these pens is dark and the pens write without skipping or the ink running out unevenly. The ink supply is typical of such pens, maybe a tad more generous. The clear plastic barrels have a ribbed surface for grasping near the nib. The are as comfortable as any plastic barreled pen or pencil. The only thing that could make these pens any better is to make the retractable.
  I have several of these..., December 12, 2007
I have several of these pens, and they have all broken before they had run out of ink. They do write well while they last, but each pen has a different feel and a different results under pressure -- and, authough perhaps very precise, these are perhaps the least 'expressive' pens to the extent that it's hard to vary the width by varying pressure.

Again, they are highly unusalbe. I would recommend many of the other thin pens on this site -- at least give them a try! -- such as the Pentel Slicci. Very durable, and very expressive
  Having used the Uni-ball..., May 8, 2007
Having used the Uni-ball Signo Bit .18mm I wanted to acquire a micro tipped pen without the mess or bleed of felt or drafting pens, but with a denser ink than the bit, the Hi-tec-c .25 mm fit the bill perfectly. A much more reproducible line is achievable with this pen than the Bit, and the nib is slightly more durable, the ink is vibrantly dark and abundant. My only complaint was with the wiggle in the pen because of it's disposable plastic construction, a stiffer construction could provide a more responsive drawing and writing experience. Four out of Five.
  these pen are just amazing!!!!..., October 23, 2006
these pen are just amazing!!!!
but it is such a huge problem to find them in european stores.
  excellent pens. Pilot..., June 7, 2006
excellent pens. Pilot knows pens, and the trick is in the ink. It is the best I've seen. I am a pen freak, and i write very small. These pens are a great buy. And from jetpens there cheaper than from places like kinokuniya, as well as from art supply stores.
  I've used these pups..., May 16, 2005
I've used these pups for more than 5 years.
They are still the best ones around...
Very Addictive...Can't use anything else now.
  I just ordered the 0.25mm..., March 7, 2005
I just ordered the 0.25mm pens in all different colors. These are amazing, such thin solid lines! I think I found a new obsession.
  hi! I just recently purchased..., March 5, 2005
By dikome
hi! I just recently purchased a few 0.25mm pes in both black and blue and I have to say, these litle guys are surprisingly amazing. The fine lines are great for sketching and perfect for journaling (i.e. Moleskine pocket notebooks).