JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (21 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 16, 2012
If you are looking for...
If you are looking for the equivalent(and probably even better version) of the High tech C try the Uni-Ball Signo DX 0.28mm or the zebra sarasa 0.3 mm. Both are absolutely fantastic pens in all respects, and are even better because they're cheaper than the high tech c. Both also come with a grip and do not have a fragile needle point like the high tech c.

5 people found this helpful
artist_40k
 
December 14, 2010
A good pen, ink can actually...
Verified Purchase
A good pen, ink can actually be the same or thinner than the 0.18 uni-ball. It is better for long, straight lines (eg. cross-hatching) than for short, sketchy ones that the uni-ball is good at. Its ink is much thinner than the Slicci, which is also 0.25. Sometimes the ink seems to stop flowing and things get a bit scratchy. Note: this pen is not waterproof, and will bleed strange purplish tones if exposed to water. The 0.18 uni-ball is waterproof.

Everything has its use, though. I use this pen to write small notes, and for cross-hatching in comics. It's good at both of those.

2 people found this helpful
 
November 21, 2012
Hands down my favorite...
Verified Purchase
Hands down my favorite pen. I bought every gel pen on Jetpens under .4 mm, and in one clean swoop decided that this is by far the best. The tip size is very small, however if you have a light hand the ink will continue to flow well. At first, expect to have a hard time with this pen, but after a little writing it will be a very enjoyable experience.

1 person found this helpful
Ryan.Dix.2018
 
October 12, 2011
At first I thought that...
Verified Purchase
At first I thought that I really liked this pen (I bought this pen along with the uni-ball signo bit .28), but not long after I started using it the ink stopped flowing consistently and then pretty much refused to write more than one word without choking up. I bought this pen over a year ago and test it periodically to see if it has decided to work... but it still won't. My uni-ball, however, is still my primary note-taking pen and I have never had a problem with it. I suppose that it is possible that I simply recieved a defective pen, but I have ordered dozens of products from Jetpens and never had a similar problem

In summary; disappointing pen!

2 people found this helpful
sheepdogg325
 
September 19, 2014
I bought this pen with...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen with the intention of drawing with it. It worked really well at first, it produced surprisingly black lines for how this they were. Over time the ink flow became a lot less consistent to the point where it is really hard for me to use and be confident in it, although, with coxing it work well again at times. Because the nib is so small it can be a challenge to write or draw with the pen without it feeling like you are stabbing the paper. Along with that, I did find that it is a bit fussy with some paper. The nib can clog with fibers sometimes if you are using a paper that has even a little bit of tooth to it.
I am left handed and since this pen falls under the "left handed" tag, I wanted to say I did not have any issues with smearing, but writing was little frustrating because of how small the nib is.
Overall good, but I would recommend the 0.4 mm before this pen

 
July 8, 2014
This pen is great for...
Verified Purchase
This pen is great for a pencil-like experience on high-quality paper (I have several Rhodia pads), but even then the tip can give me the sensation as though it's cutting into the paper. I barely press down when I write, so it's not a pressure issue on my end. If you intend to use this pen on not-fancy paper its best application is that of a fine-edge knife. The pen is snobby, I suppose. Other reviewers who suggested to buy a size or two up are spot-on; I have several Hi-Tec .4's that provide the same lines as Signo .28's or Slicci .25's. If you like a pencil-quality line in ink, and you use smooth, high-quality paper, you and this pen will be very happy together.

lauren.ciechanowski
 
August 19, 2012
I was really hoping to...
Verified Purchase
I was really hoping to LOVE LOVE LOVE this pen because it was .25 mm and I'm a huge fan of super fine pens. BUT I was kind of disappointed because I found the barrel to be really uncomfortable to write with because it was so small.

Pros:
Super Fine Tip
Smooth Lines
Good, Well Known Brand
Sure to Impress Others

Cons:
Uncomfortable, No Grip
Kind of expensive for something that doesn't try to be aesthetically pleasing... Then again I kind of like the simple design.

I'm going to try using other pens of similar fineness but different brands so I'll probably post an update later...

Overall it's a very nice pen to have and use, I can't get enough of the fine point. I will most likely buy this pen again just because I feel happy just knowing I have it in my JetPen stash... (I'm kind of obsessed)

suwan.mai
 
May 12, 2011
I first used a H-Tec-C...
Verified Purchase
I first used a H-Tec-C Cavalier almost 10 years ago, I think. and I'm waiting impatiently for them to come back into stock. Until then, the basic stick is a pleasure! It is a little scratchy, which I like, something like a very sharp 4H drafting lead, and it's a nice feel for me. The truly fine point sure beats those 0.5 paintbrushes, ick! Thanks, Jetpens!!!

1 person found this helpful
 
November 22, 2010
THis needs a better barrel....
THis needs a better barrel. I would buy more if it was better.

But other than that great!!!

oliviaheaner
 
November 22, 2010
I've been using this...
Verified Purchase
I've been using this pen for years and just love it. I agree with a previous writer that if you have a heavier hand it may not be the right one for you. This is one of the best pens on the market and will continue to order them as long as Jet Pens continues to carry them. Thank you JetPens!

C from South Carolina, USA