JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (22 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 29, 2009
I've tried to use the...
I've tried to use the Hi-Tec-C gel pens. They start out really nice, smooth, and inky. As I continue to write with them, however, the lines become more faint and eventually I cannot use them at all - I am left with a nearly filled ink cartridge. ): I've tried my best to revive my pens, and I have not yet been successful. Maybe it is because I write with more pressure? Or it is because my pens come from Taiwan? o_O I don't know. But, my Sliccis never do this to me - so now I use Sliccis exclusively. So 5 in the beginning (because it writes so well and smooth), a 1 in the end (because it is useless and makes me feel sadpanda).

3 people found this helpful
gloomfilter
 
October 29, 2010
Great pen, writes well,...
Verified Purchase
Great pen, writes well, desperately needs a better grip for extended writing.

One of the better pens I have used, but I frequently run into problems with the ink drying up and requiring a fews seconds of scribbling before ink starts running again.

The tip of the pen is definitely intimidating, but it produces a minor scratching feeling whenever used to write, and that may turn some people off. A little annoyance for me, but no real big deal.

Don't expect to write with this pen for too long, as the barrel is very thin, and the design just starts to hurt your writing hand after a short while.

1 person found this helpful
hippocheese14
 
April 30, 2009
Too scratchy when writing....
Too scratchy when writing. Plus, at times, the .5mm one gives out way too much ink....

i am wondering why everyone was in love with this pen and after haivng tested a few hi tec c's with varying tip sizes, i've concluded that people have been following the herd as opposed to buying this pen for it's quality/writing ability.

i wish i could send these back =/ i bought 4 of them.

1 person found this helpful
breaker021
 
July 19, 2008
Okay, so I just got this...
Okay, so I just got this pen from a friend who went to Japan and brought back some pens.
First of all, I would like to say, that this is a bit scratchy.
It writes EXTREMELY well though.
It flows well, it has good consistent ink, and it does not smear.

The irks in this pen, at least for me, lie in the barrel and the point.
The point feels delicate, so it just doesn't feel natural sometimes.
The barrel feels somewhat cheap, and I don't really like the grip. It is just raised plastic, so if your hands ever get sweaty, then it gets uncomfortable.

Still, it is very recommended!

1 person found this helpful
chenthebigot
 
February 3, 2006
THESE ARE THE BEST But...
Verified Purchase
THESE ARE THE BEST
But i must confess ^ that they do get clogged up with dried ink bits and paper, that happens when you buy the ones in taiwan. My aunt bought me a set of Hi-tec-Cs and pentel hybrid technicas, both clogged up, and found out the ink was old. lol believe it or not, sometimes pens get old. So what i do is get a cotton ball of rubbing alcohol, poke it with my pentip for about 30 seconds, and its good as new. Flows great after!

1 person found this helpful
bleungzorz
 
October 4, 2012
An overall solid pen...
An overall solid pen that i don't mind writing with.

These pens are good at laying down a nice, consistently thin line, which is nice when i have to write in hangul or tiny in general. They tend to write a little scratchy, but nothing I can't tolerate.

The tips are pointy and delicate. I've had several of these pens ruined after they rolled off my desk tip first onto an unforgiving industrial tile floor. I guess they're a bit like drafting pencils in this regard, so do be mindful of the tips.

B+ would draw nude pictures of girls on public transport with this pen again.


foxymophadlemama
 
July 23, 2012
This pen puts the Uniball...
This pen puts the Uniball Signo .28 to shame...

wmcam2012
 
July 23, 2012
If you're looking for...
If you're looking for a super-fine point under 0.4 this is the pen! Look no further...

wmcam2012
 
August 28, 2008
I like this series of...
Verified Purchase
I like this series of gel pens. I have all 4 nib sizes. The nib, some say, is fragile but I don't believe that is the case, at least not in my experience. I don't have to press hard to get them to make a mark so I am less likely to break the nibs than someone with a heavy hand. If you treat these pens right they perform just fine.

The 0.25mm nib of course makes the finest line and the 0.5mm the widest. However, and it should come as no surprise, the smaller the nib the "rougher" the pen feels when writing with it. However the nibs being smaller in diameter than other pens their nib size they make for excellent drafting/drawing pens when you use a straight edge such as a triangle or ruler. Again one does not have to press hard to get these pens to produce a line.

The ink in these pens is dark and the pens write without skipping or the ink running out unevenly. The ink supply is typical of such pens, maybe a tad more generous. The clear plastic barrels have a ribbed surface for grasping near the nib. The are as comfortable as any plastic barreled pen or pencil. The only thing that could make these pens any better is to make the retractable.

hartzog2000
 
June 25, 2008
shipped product does...
Verified Purchase
shipped product does not have a rubber grip.

jealyencho