My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.8 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  So I actually used one..., June 15, 2012
So I actually used one of these pens for day to day writing until it stopped working, and simultaneously used a Uniball Signo 0.28mm for the same purposes until it ran out of ink. I filled up one Doane pad, and two Clairefontaine pads with notes. I'll compare the two:

-The Uni-Ball pen lays down a thick, smeary river of ink, while the Pilot pen is far more sparing. I used both pens at about the same rate, and the Uni-Ball ran out when the Pilot was at about 2/3 expired.

-Both pens stopped working at around the same time. The Uni-ball ran out of ink, but the Pilot's tip just stopped functioning for some reason. There was no obvious mechanical failure, but with about 1/3 of its ink reservoir remaining, lines became spotty, faint, or not inked at all. I'm not very hard on these pens-- My writing style does not put very much pressure on the tip.

-The Pilot pen made the better line. Lines had superior definition, and smudged less overall.

-The uni-ball pen made a much more consistent line. It smudged more easily, and had poorer definition, but it performed in exactly the same manner until it ran out of ink. The Pilot pen sometimes took a few lines of writing until it started acting normally, and the quality of the line varied from day to day and line to line.

-Both pens were very nice to write with. The Pilot pen had a slight advantage, but both felt very good compared to other pens.

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This pen lays down an..., April 24, 2009
This pen lays down an amazingly fine line. However, I usually write with the pen at a heavy slant (I'm a lefty) and the Hi-Tec-C doesn't like that one bit. When taking notes in class, the ink frequently sputters which is, needless to say, annoying. They work just fine for my girlfriend though.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  It performs excellently..., December 30, 2013
It performs excellently when you first buy it; the lines are finer, the writing crispier, and writing in general gives a much better control in comparison to Ball pens and speed in comparison to traditional Fountain pens.
But as the weeks pass by, its quality starts falling. The writing ink becomes inconsistent; for example, if you have to write "following", it will write "foll" well, then skip "ow" and again write "ing", and this problem happens a lot. Secondly there is this problem with the ball at the tip; I have bought two Pilot pens till date, in both cases, the ball just disappeared one day! And since there is no refill that you can change, basically your whole pen becomes useless because of the ball falling off (or going inside, because sometimes if you keep the pen lying useless for a year or so, the ball comes back in place). Thirdly, the pen is just not the same as time goes on. I mean, by the time the ink runs out and you have to do a refilling, the tip becomes quite blunt, so the crisp writing is no more and it starts feeling like a ball pen. Add to that the inconsistency, and you have a quite frustrating experience. Finally, I made the mistake of washing the pen couple of days ago, since the ink dried up after not using it for so long. Now the pen doesn't write a single word. Fill it up with as much ink as you want. It will start leaking from that small hole, but still it won't write.
Overall, the idea behind this pen was creative and innovative. But it gets old way too quickly, and the problems are serious and common. I will give it a 2/5 rating.
  This is my absolute favorite..., July 5, 2014
This is my absolute favorite pen. Ink flow is a bit iffy at first but once you start using it, it runs just fine. Other reviews complain about the scratchy feel but to be quite honest I rather like it, it has a similar feeling to a pencil; a couple people I showed the pen to actually thought it was a mechanical pencil of sorts.
Hoping to purchase more sizes and colors in the future. My only nitpick is the ink is water based, so watercolor and such isn't usable - a shame. (trust me, i've tried many times)
  When I first started..., November 21, 2013
When I first started writing, this pen was great. Nice fine line, consistent ink, did three pages of notes without trouble. The next day (today) I go back to my notes (pen has been capped and stored point down, as I keep all my pens) and 3/4 of a page in, the ink is drying out. It's inconsistent, and only picks back up when I shake the pen, which results in an inconsistent, messy looking page of text.

Would have given this a great review- if I only planned to use it for one day. As it is, the 0.3 Hybrid Technica by Pentel has all the same benefits, and has lasted much longer than one day of writing without giving me trouble. If this one gives out on you quick like it did to me, you might check out the Pentel.
  I bought this pen along..., October 14, 2013
I bought this pen along with the uniball signo UM-151 - .28 tip & uniball signo RT UM-138 - .38 tip. Initially all three pens worked great. The first to go was the .28 uniball, either the tip failed or it ran out of ink. The RT .38 was next, it seemed flow liberally onto the pages of my moleskin. The Hi-Tec-C out performed them all. It has a slight scratchy feel at first but that goes away after writing with it for a while. The ink does not bleed through and it sips the ink! I recommend this paper to anyone keeping a journal or who likes to have high detail in their sketches.
  This is a good pen, I..., May 26, 2013
By the...
This is a good pen, I use it mainly for taking notes in tiny/small lettering in different languages.

The Good:
*The ink doesn't smear, does not seep through thin papers
*Good for writing in strokes (Chinese characters)

The Bad:
*Ink is not waterproof, doesn't fit my preference as I take notes that will last a lifetime.
*The ink does not flow smoothly from the initial stroke, needs to "warm up"

Other thoughts:
*The needlepoint is a bit scratchy for my preference. I prefer the smoother flow of the Uni-ball Signos but those tend to use up ink quicker than the Hi-Tec Cs.
  i initially LOVED this..., March 29, 2013
i initially LOVED this pen.
i was very excited to find a relatively inexpensive fine tip pen after years of feeling frustrated seeing .5mm or .7mm pens erroneously labelled as "fine" in stationary/office supply stores.
BUT! the honeymoon eventually ended..
i have used dozens of these pens in black, blue, and red..
to be fair to jetpens, none of them were purchased through their site.

my first big complaint is the colour of the ink.
i hate hate hate the colour black used.. i'm not sure how to describe what i hate about it.. but it just reminds me of something you'd expect from a cheap ballpoint pen that you'd hate writing with. so when the pen is functioning well, i hate the look of what i'm writing.
(i also hate the red used.)

inconsistency.
i have almost never used a pen until the ink has run out.
some of the pens work ok for a while, and then just stop writing, with a majority of the ink remaining.
a select few pens never worked from the start.
i can understand pens that are dropped on their tip no longer working. it's annoying. but i can understand it.
but i keep my pens in an old metal cigarette tin, in my bag. this shouldn't be continuously happening.

  This pen is my favorite..., September 17, 2012
By wmc...
This pen is my favorite all-around fine point. Color, flow, feel... it's a ten!
  It's hard to review such..., June 24, 2012
It's hard to review such a classic in the pen genre. If you are a fan of needlepoint pens, then this is the one that everything else is compared to. I have found the .3 to be a teeny bit small for general writing, although I really like it a lot. The grip on this is an added bonus from the low end Hi-Tech C, and is worth the extra buck.

All in all'. Every pen lover should have several of these in their arsenal. It's a steal at this price.

  I love this pen. I study..., August 15, 2011
I love this pen. I study Japanese and there is no pen that writes like it. 0.3mm is perfect, when I buy pens any smaller they tend to not write as smoothly. I would rate this pen 10/10. My favorite!
  I love using the HI-Tec..., May 20, 2010
By kat
I love using the HI-Tec C pens. They are all so great to work with. the 0.3mm I tend to have trouble with the tip getting jammed and the flow not being consistant if I stop using it for more than 10 min. But, once the clog is cleared it works very well.