JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (18 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 19, 2013
I write very small but...
Verified Purchase
I write very small but love a bold, consistent line. Until I bought the Maica, I settled with the not-quite-dark-enough but smooth line of the 0.38mm Uniball Signo and the bold but slightly too thick 0.35mm Pentel EnerGel. I've tried other pens in the Hi-Tec-C line and found them too scratchy, but decided to give the Maica a shot because I'm a sucker for needle-point pens and it's very nice looking. I'm glad I gave it a try because this is definitely my new favorite pen! The 0.4mm is thin enough to accommodate my small handwriting but still lays down a nice dark line without skipping or scratching. I also bought the six-color set and have been very impressed with the quality of the colors. I should mention that I use Levenger paper, which makes most pens look pretty nice, but at this price point you might as well pick one up and try it yourself!

7 people found this helpful
scurvey27
 
October 4, 2013
I saw this pen and just...
I saw this pen and just had to have it! The body style and shape is beautiful. And the ink is just as great. Dark and pure black. I even outline drawings with this. Though this is manly used in notes and my journal.
I love the colors and Pilot once again did not fail with a product.

3 people found this helpful
judotaterbug
 
October 2, 2013
This pen is probably...
This pen is probably the best pen I have ever, and will ever write with. It's so INCREDIBLY smooth: no jumps, no smudges, no problems. The design is aesthetically pleasing in a lot of ways; super super cute. At this price, this pen is a heaven send and my only remorse is a small (but not incredibly small) ink life. Will buy more!

2 people found this helpful
 
September 14, 2013
A cartridge that's notoriously...
Verified Purchase
A cartridge that's notoriously good and has a really solid reputation. I ordered it with extremely high expectations and it didn't come short of them at all. The pen lays out a real 0.4mm line in a fairly bold black shade. The writing is smooth, the ink dries fast and it's one of the most reliable pens I own. A definite must-have pen.

2 people found this helpful
goldenpride
 
November 25, 2013
Beautifully thin. Fantastic...
Verified Purchase
Beautifully thin. Fantastic to use. Great ink.

Slight scratching drag when pulled but still excellent.

Don't drop it! Pen tip easily warps.

1 person found this helpful
 
October 21, 2014
Love how this writes!...
Verified Purchase
Love how this writes! Very smooth!

laurenkristen19
 
October 20, 2014
A little scratchy, but...
Verified Purchase
A little scratchy, but every other Maica I've ever bought was incredibly smooth, so my guess is I just got a bad one. I still write with it every day, because it's a pleasure to see on the page.

 
September 13, 2014
I bought this pen specifically...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen specifically to use for writing chinese characters, as they can be pretty complex. It works amazing and I am in love with the body design. The only complaint I have is that the tip is pretty fragile; I accidentally dropped mine once, and now the tip is sideways. However, it still works, so it's not a big problem to me. The ink flow is pretty good too as well.

animevocaloidgeek
 
May 21, 2014
I have no less than 15...
Verified Purchase
I have no less than 15 of these babies....ranging in point size. But my absolutely favorite is the 0.4mm black pen. It's a serious bargain and it lasts a very long time. Granted, I have at least 4 on my desk at any given time, so I've never used one exclusively to the end of the ink capacity. The one thing to be careful with is the delicateness of the point. If you are a hard-pressing writer, perhaps you should re-consider the purchase. But if you are average to delicate, this is your pen. The 0.4mm rarely skips (0.3 occasionally has an ink flow issue) and does not bleed or soak through. It's versatile, attractive and one of my go-to pens. It's a gem in every point size, but by far the 0.4mm is the reigning king of the Maica Gel Ink kingdom!

myfavoritetwo
 
May 14, 2014
Not archival nor permanent...b...
Verified Purchase
Not archival nor permanent...but if you don't care about those qualities, this is an amazing pen. My personal favorite.