JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (6 customer reviews)
Write Review
June 20, 2014
I have been very surprised...
I have been very surprised and impressed with the performance of this pen. I don't typically use EF nibs - I'm used to Lamy Safaris, where the EF nibs can easily be scratchy and disappointing to use, it's a game of hit or miss I've found. So I naturally tend to use the Lamy F nibs more, which are always smooth and start easily. I have only used Pilot Prera pens in the past, but wasn't impressed with the F nib at the time, so quickly swapped it out for a Pilot M in my Prera.

But I saw this pen and couldn't resist the cute factor, and that it was so affordable to try out. I know its marketed as a "beginners pen" because of its plastic body, but let me tell you - it writes really really well. The F nib is crazy fine, more EF than any Lamy EF nib I've tried. I popped in a cartridge of Namiki Black, and it starts instantly, smoothly, laying down a fine black line. Holy crap its so fine! I'm not used to being able to write with fountain pens on crappy paper or post-it notes or index cards and not have it bleed all over like the fatter nibs tend to do.

The style of the pen is great too. The winky face on the nib is cute. The pen overall is surprisingly lightweight, and feels like almost nothing in your hand. I love that the cap snaps firmly on and off, and posted it still feels really good to hold. There is no clip, but who really uses that anymore? It's so light and cheap, I don't mind carrying it in a pocket, and most often move it from purse to desk anyways. I like the white barrel and violet cap - perfect colors for spring/summer. I SO want the soft blue next!! And I will definitely be ordering more of these.

5 people found this helpful
faustinem
 
August 26, 2014
A high-value product....
Verified Purchase
A high-value product. This pen usually goes for $10-$13 in Japan.
The nib is very fine and consistent among different units, unlike the Lamy Safari EF. I was a bit unwilling to order this product because my F-nib Prera (supposedly a higher quality line) was so scratchy and kept skipping so much it was useless. But this pen impressed me. Its ink flows consistently and doesn't skip after the nib is exposed for a minute or two. It beats my pathetic Prera hands down.
Cons: no clip, body still a bit too big for me, the converter holds at best a barely adequate amount of ink. But considering the price, 5 star definitely. It's way cheaper than the ever-popular Lamy.

1 person found this helpful
tuvo.sonny
 
August 3, 2014
I just received this...
Verified Purchase
I just received this pen a couple a days ago and i can say this is a really really really good fountain pen !!
I have gotten cheap fountain pens for a couple of dollars that aren't interchangeable in ink and i can say those suck alot. Those where constantly leaky and really bad.
But this KAKUNO pen is just awesome!!
I honestly first clicked on this pen because it is just so cute but i later learned after searching the internet that this is such a good pen.
It is a bit messy at times but all fountain pens are like that.
One problem i have with this pen is that it runs out of ink so easily!!
My new cartridge i put in around 6 days ago is already 3/4 out so only 1/4 of the ink is left!
But its really okay for me because the cartridges are cheap on jetpens but if you really like expensive inks well idk if this is a common fountain pen thing but it was just really surprising for me to see!!
Another weird thing that idk if its normal is on the slit of the pen where the ink comes out there is always some leaking out! Apparently its called like ink creep but it annoys me a little haha
but other then that
its a really smooth pen that writes awesomely and i want to get more! yipee these pastels are just rad

1 person found this helpful
lisacaostar
 
July 31, 2014
Good fine point fountain...
Verified Purchase
Good fine point fountain pen for my moleskine.
I bought this along with Platinum Preppy Fine point in Blue black. This nib is much finer than the one on Preppy fine nib.
Simple cute pen casing which is tiny bit juvenile looking, but good starter fountain pen. It came with a black cartridge but I think I will buy blue black to replace it. ( Cartrige comes with this pen but not installed, so you don't have to use the black if you don't want to). Nib is so fine so can be little scratchy, but still pretty smooth on my moleskine. Ink does not seek through on the back of the moleskine page either.
Good beginer fountain pen!

1 person found this helpful
 
November 14, 2014
This pen fits nicely...
Verified Purchase
This pen fits nicely in my hand, and has great super-fine line that rivals my microns. I switch between this and my Kaweko Sport for writing and doodling. The kids I work with also beg to use this pen when they see it out... I just worry someone will walk away with it!

e.sandbak.es
 
October 30, 2014
I´ve tried other fountain...
Verified Purchase
I´ve tried other fountain pens but they always seemed to scratch against the surface, no matter how careful I was, this one writes smoothly and sometimes I have trouble keeping up! I find that sometimes ink spills into the cap though, not sure if it´s an error on my part.

crystalsnow9_97