JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (17 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 17, 2014
Simply the best pen for...
Simply the best pen for the money. I picked up a couple Metropolitans with fine nibs when they came out in Japan, and am happy to see they are finally available domestically. I like this nib much more than the medium which I find a little wide for everyday use (mostly note taking). The fine nibs on these pens are beautiful. Very smooth, medium wetness, perfect for my uses. The Metropolitan is absolutely the best value out there, don't hesitate to buy one for yourself.

5 people found this helpful
kadi.ashby
 
June 17, 2014
Excellent fit & finish...
Verified Purchase
Excellent fit & finish for such a price!

The fine nib is more like a Western extra-fine. It's sharp but smooth. I filled the pen with Noodler's Ellis Island blue black and it wrote well right out of the box. After some writing, I decided I wanted a wetter flow and adjustment was simple. The nib and feed are friction-fit, they pulled out easily, and I used .001 and .002 brass shims to open the space between the tines just a little. The nib and feed fit back in place in the section smoothly, and the ink flow was perfect for me after that minor adjustment.
All Metropolitan fountain pens have exactly the same black grip section that holds the nib and feed. The nib and feed are similar to the nib and feed of the Pilot 78G, but the Metropolitan's brass barrel and cap are much sturdier and durable. The cap goes on the barrel with a positive, firm-fitting, secure snap, and it doesn't rotate around like on my more expensive Lamy Studio. Also, if one desires, the Metropolitan's cap can be firmly posted on the barrel.

The Pilot Metropolitan, at the price, is an amazing, excellent value. Thanks to JetPens for offering this fine writing instrument!

2 people found this helpful
red251410
 
August 15, 2014
This Pen is pretty sick...
Verified Purchase
This Pen is pretty sick yo
It writes a little more like a medium-fine but whatever
Its really smooth, perfect wetness
no hardstarts even when i leave it out for a while
nice weight
well balanced if not capped
durable as all get out
i highly reccomend it

1 person found this helpful
colinfig2000
 
December 16, 2014
I really enjoy this fountain...
Verified Purchase
I really enjoy this fountain pen. I use mine with Pelikan 4001 brilliant black, I haven't even touched the cartridge that came with it. Extremely smooth writing nib and such a good looking pen for only fifteen dollars. The cap is nice a secure and keeps this pen from drying out very well. Not only is it great for first timers to fountain pens but it looks so great that it is hard to pass up for such a low price.
It is also heavier than I though, or at least expected, and that is a good thing. Doesn't feel cheaply made, has a nice solid feel to it.

 
December 13, 2014
Great weight and excellent...
Verified Purchase
Great weight and excellent flow. I really like this fountain pen for every day writing.

 
December 12, 2014
Very nice pen. I will...
Verified Purchase
Very nice pen. I will use it a lot.

jaegerhome
 
December 7, 2014
My new favorite pen!...
Verified Purchase
My new favorite pen! Feels like I'm writing with a just sharpened pencil or mechanical pencil that never gets dull! A Must Have!

monte_king
 
December 1, 2014
This is my first fountain...
Verified Purchase
This is my first fountain pen and I'm definitely enjoying it. I appreciate that it came with a case. The big downside (and the only reason not to make it a four or five) is that the cap doesn't attach securely. I can't carry this pen in my shirt pocket since the simple process of grasping it by the cap and pulling it out of my pocket will bring the cap but leave the pen. The pen then slips to the side and the danger is that I'd get ink on my shirt. So that's the big problem with the Metropolitan - the cap doesn't attach securely so the slightest pressure will release the pen.

robthornton
 
November 18, 2014
Best inexpensive fountain...
Verified Purchase
Best inexpensive fountain pen I've ever had, bar none. Better than many I've had that were three and four time the money.

One note: You really need the Nakimi refills or bottled ink as other inks are thicker and gum up the nibs ink flow,

 
November 11, 2014
A perfect everyday fountain...
Verified Purchase
A perfect everyday fountain pen. I love it!