JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 17, 2014
Simply the best pen for...
Simply the best pen for the money. I picked up a couple Metropolitans with fine nibs when they came out in Japan, and am happy to see they are finally available domestically. I like this nib much more than the medium which I find a little wide for everyday use (mostly note taking). The fine nibs on these pens are beautiful. Very smooth, medium wetness, perfect for my uses. The Metropolitan is absolutely the best value out there, don't hesitate to buy one for yourself.

4 people found this helpful
kadi.ashby
 
August 15, 2014
This Pen is pretty sick...
Verified Purchase
This Pen is pretty sick yo
It writes a little more like a medium-fine but whatever
Its really smooth, perfect wetness
no hardstarts even when i leave it out for a while
nice weight
well balanced if not capped
durable as all get out
i highly reccomend it

1 person found this helpful
colinfig2000
 
June 17, 2014
Excellent fit & finish...
Verified Purchase
Excellent fit & finish for such a price!

The fine nib is more like a Western extra-fine. It's sharp but smooth. I filled the pen with Noodler's Ellis Island blue black and it wrote well right out of the box. After some writing, I decided I wanted a wetter flow and adjustment was simple. The nib and feed are friction-fit, they pulled out easily, and I used .001 and .002 brass shims to open the space between the tines just a little. The nib and feed fit back in place in the section smoothly, and the ink flow was perfect for me after that minor adjustment.
All Metropolitan fountain pens have exactly the same black grip section that holds the nib and feed. The nib and feed are similar to the nib and feed of the Pilot 78G, but the Metropolitan's brass barrel and cap are much sturdier and durable. The cap goes on the barrel with a positive, firm-fitting, secure snap, and it doesn't rotate around like on my more expensive Lamy Studio. Also, if one desires, the Metropolitan's cap can be firmly posted on the barrel.

The Pilot Metropolitan, at the price, is an amazing, excellent value. Thanks to JetPens for offering this fine writing instrument!

1 person found this helpful
red251410
 
October 27, 2014
Rest well in hand. Inks...
Verified Purchase
Rest well in hand. Inks smoothly as I draw or doodle.

jbsanchez
 
October 25, 2014
I have two Pilot Metropolitan...
Verified Purchase
I have two Pilot Metropolitan Fountain Pens filled with blue and black inks. They are nice writing pens. For narrow line spacing, I wanted a fine nib. I ordered the Metropolitan with fine nib expecting it to be similar to the the fine nib on my Pilot FP-78G. Filled with Pilot black ink in a cartridge, it has gotten much use. Although the nib is not as smooth as the much used 78G, it is very good. A silver plain body is on the list for my next order, so I will have one filled with blue ink. I used the supplied converters on the medium nib Metropolitan pens. However, because the converter does not hold as much ink as a cartridge and you can not see how much ink is left, they have have been confined to my desk where ink bottles are handy. This is a very good pen for a very reasonable price.

 
September 24, 2014
It's hard to believe...
Verified Purchase
It's hard to believe this pen is so inexpensive! It has the look and feel of a much more costly pen, and it writes like a dream. The fine point nib is a more like an extra fine, as is the case with Pilot pens, but it writes very smoothly without any scratching. It lays down a line that, despite its thinness, is fairly wet; in fact, I found it feathered and bled slightly on Doane paper, which I would not have expected. Even after the cap has been off for a short time, it still writes without skipping. The Pilot Metropolitan is an excellent value for the money and is quickly becoming one of my favorite go-to pens.

pschlotthauer
 
September 21, 2014
One of my favorite pens...
One of my favorite pens (and I own many, many fountain pens). The metal body is substantial but nicely balanced. I can write continuously for 2-3 hours with this pen and have no hand fatigue. The ink flow is perfect - wet enough to flow quickly as you write, but not so wet that the ink requires more time than usual to dry. The nib is smooth - tines perfectly aligned, the tipping well polished. It's an unbelievably good value for the price point, and it puts other, much more expensive pens, to shame.

ebenfatto
 
July 7, 2014
I love it. It glides...
Verified Purchase

I love it. It glides smoothly on paper.
The only negative thing I can say about it is the ink that comes with it. Yes it's a pretty good dark black but it does feather some on cheap notebook paper.
Great price. Great pen. Period.

lphommaseng