JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
June 6, 2014
I love this pen to pieces....
Verified Purchase
I love this pen to pieces. It looks great, has a good weight, and the fine nib writes smoothly (line thickness similar to an 0.4mm roller ball) with only a slight amount of scratching on a Field Notes memo book.

I previously had the medium nib "dot" version of this pen, and it wrote about an 0.7 mm equivalent line thickness and bled a bit on the Field Notes memo book. I recommend both versions.

I'm still using the ink cartridge it came with.

2 people found this helpful
firecatstef
 
November 12, 2014
I adore this pen. I originally...
Verified Purchase
I adore this pen. I originally bought the medium, which is nice, but a fine nib is so much nicer. Good heft and writes very smoothly. This is now my everyday pen.

1 person found this helpful
 
January 18, 2015
Great pen, great price....
Verified Purchase
Great pen, great price. The body feels like it has a matte finish, in contrast to the smooth pearliness of the white tiger one. The fine nib is perfect, not as wet as the medium, but still providing a good depth of color with various inks. It's a solid workhorse pen that is built well and just works.

thegrammarjedi
 
January 4, 2015
Very nice writer with...
Verified Purchase
Very nice writer with the included black ink cartridge. The Violet color is very dark, more of an eggplant. My only knock is that it does not post well -- many times the cap has fallen off and now the finish is chipped on the cap. If you jam it on hard it will stay.

I use this pen daily with other pens in rotation with various colors. It starts up every time and writes with a light touch.

rithomas33
 
January 3, 2015
This is a great pen for...
This is a great pen for it's price. It's practical, the color and design of this particular pen is flashy, and it looks expensive from the outside.

Although I think this pen is a great deal, and that it' good for any beginning fountain pen collector, there are of course a few things that I must critique.

1. The nib for this particular pen, the fine nib, is a little too fine and scratchy for me. I got this fine nib, because I know that the "e-loops" of my handwriting can be small sometimes--to the point that it fills in the loops with ink. However, due to the metal that is used for this pen, I think that it feels a little cheap and scratchy to write with. Also if you tend to write with a little bit of a slant, you might find it difficult to do with this pen. The tip doesn't flex that much, so beware if you like to put lots of variation in the width of your lines--which may also be due to the find nib.

2. The body of the pen feels a little bit cheap, almost like it's thin metal or plastic that is sprayed with a thin coat of metal. When I open the pen, I know that the body is made of metal, but I can't help but think that this pen feels a little on the cheap side. Still, as I said, this pen is a good bang for your buck.

3. I know that this might not be a big deal for most people, but for those out there who buy pens for their case (if you want to store it for long periods of time, or if you're just very well organized), beware that this pen's case is similar to its body. The case is easy on the eyes, but it is made out of thin, almost warped, plastic--as is the plastic window on the case--which looks somewhat like glass. Also, the foam inside has that scratchy feel of Styrofoam.

4. The ink converter of this pen is great and convenient for a beginner that is only using a few pens at a time. However, I think that getting ink in and out of this pen in an efficient manner is almost impossible. Then again, there's almost no way to get around this with fountain pens. Just remember, that if you don't want to waste money buying cartridges, then you'll have to spend time submerging the pen in ink and pumping the cartridge to fill it--unfortunately there is no way to see the ink level inside of the cartridge, but you should have a sense of how much is in there.

Overall, I think this pen is a great pen for the money--emphasis on that. I know that I spent a lot of time talking about what I don't like about it, or what I don't think meets the eye, but I just hope that people consider these things before purchasing this pen. It is a great pen to have on hand, and it won't be the end of the world if you happen to leave it somewhere. It looks great from a distance, but I wouldn't recommend handing it to someone to sign a document with, just because they might be able to feel that it is not the most authentic of fountain pens.

When in doubt, try one out for yourself! There's no way to know what the right fountain pen is for you until you've tried a number of them. This is a great place to start!

cameron0707
 
January 2, 2015
Got this as a gift for...
Verified Purchase
Got this as a gift for my sister-in-law, who isn't (wasn't) a fountain pen user. I swapped in the nib from a Pilot Plumix to make it an italic, which worked great. I'm very impressed by the metal construction, rich satin finish, and decent presentation case the pen comes with. The leopard spots help disguise the plastic section between section and barrel that is otherwise an aesthetic weak spot for the Metropolitan.

cupertino
 
January 2, 2015
It was a gift, but she...
Verified Purchase
It was a gift, but she said she loves it.

 
December 16, 2014
This pen works great....
Verified Purchase
This pen works great. Definitely my new work horse!!!

hanchailek
 
December 5, 2014
This was bought for a...
Verified Purchase
This was bought for a gift and therefore I haven't had a chance to use the pen, however it looks very nice and was packed well and shipped promptly. Very pretty pen, by the way and it feels good in the hand. I may get one for myself.

 
October 29, 2014
great little writer....
Verified Purchase
great little writer. A workhorse.

vern.waters