JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (11 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 27, 2013
This is only my 2nd type...
Verified Purchase
This is only my 2nd type of fountain pen but wow I am impressed. This is a wonderful pen even under heavy usage. I have been using Noodler's Blue Eel and Gruene Cactus Eel in both of my Metropolitans. So far I have written 46 pages of notes in the last 4 days with two of these pens (one green ink, one blue ink). I did have to dip the nibs in water once to clear them, that was probably because of the special lubricated Eel ink I guess? Otherwise they have been amazingly smooth and consistent compared to the Platinum Preppy pens I was using before. What's more amazing is that this pen did it on extremely cheap $1/notebook paper. The squeeze converter holds plenty of ink (even for me) and it works perfectly too. This pen sells for much more in Japan and Europe and I can see why. My only complaints are that the clip is too stiff and the cap doesn't easily post so it tends to fall off if you don't push it on there firmly. If those two things aren't a problem for you then this is definitely a pen you want to get.

4 people found this helpful
 
October 20, 2013
Nice pen with good fit...
Verified Purchase
Nice pen with good fit and finish.
The nib writes smoothly, but I have a couple of Sheaffer pens with fine nibs that are smoother with a little more character. But these cost significantly more.
The pen also has good weight due to the metal construction.
Overall, a good purchase.


1 person found this helpful
cyrusdakota
 
July 25, 2013
This pen (and the entire...
This pen (and the entire Metropolitan line) from Pilot is an amazing value. I use this pen on a daily basis and without a doubt, this one is my favorite. It comes with the converter, and a cartridge. The converter doesn't hold much ink, about one week's worth, but that's enough for me as I like to change ink colors frequently. If you're on the fence, get off now and buy this pen now!

1 person found this helpful
 
December 2, 2014
I love this pen,but I...
Verified Purchase
I love this pen,but I put the Plumix Nib on the pen and then use it as a super sketch pen.

 
November 21, 2014
The pen broke right away.....
Verified Purchase
The pen broke right away.. :'(

jenniferhart5955oh
 
November 17, 2014
This is the best fountain...
Verified Purchase
This is the best fountain pen under $20. It looks nice, is light, and has great ink flow. I never experienced any skipping with this pen with Noodler's black ink. The body and cap of this pen is light enough that you can actually use this pen with the cap posted. There is a ridge near the middle of the pen when the cap is taken off that can bother some people that like to write with their hands far from the nib. I should have waited a month for the fine nib version of this pen to get released because the lines are a little too thick for me when I'm writing on low quality paper.

jiasterop
 
October 28, 2014
This is my second Metropolitan...
Verified Purchase
This is my second Metropolitan Fountain Pen (I tried the fine nib first with the Taupe body). It is also a very sleek sketching pen with a hefty brass barrel suitable for daily use. Its medium nib delivered a bolder line with a steady ink flow without skipping as I sketched and doodled loosely with it in every direction at different drawing angles. I used Platinum Carbon ink since I prefer waterproof sketches that could be colored with watercolor and other water-based media. The medium nib makes it suitable for sketching and drawing on larger scale papers since the wider line will be clearly visible even on ledger size 11" X 17" paper. I filled it with ink three weeks ago using a CON-50 converter, and I have been testing this pen on different journal papers from time to time. I have found that the pen starts writing right away after a few idle days, and that I can sketch swiftly without the line skipping. With the fine nib pen, if I go too fast the thinner line might skip mid-stroke. Yet I would recommend getting both pens for a more comprehensive ink sketching kit. It makes for a great gift in its sturdy hinged-tin storage box with the aerometric converter and spare ink cartridge which I have yet to try.

 
September 17, 2014
Fantastic EDC Pen This...
Verified Purchase
Fantastic EDC Pen

This is my everyday carry pen. It is always by my side ready to go. I use the Pilot cartridges and they are convenient and reliable. I look for excuses to write things so I can use this pen. Nice fit and finish, consistent, clean writer. Handles a wide range of paper like a champ. I can't say enough good things about this pen.

chrispmoellering
 
August 6, 2014
Just received this pen...
Verified Purchase
Just received this pen and I love it. Nice weight, writes well. A little finer than I would expect a medium to be, but it's just fine. I love that it comes with a converter for bottled ink; this is a great deal!

brodbeck.laura
 
May 30, 2013
Very good pen writes...
Verified Purchase
Very good pen writes smooth. This is my first fountain pen, already comes with a converter and one cartridge of ink. So get some bottled ink. Its cheaper then cartridges

josh_harle