My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (11 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I mainly purchased this..., May 30, 2013
By non...
I mainly purchased this pen for my J. Herbin Gris Nuage (cloud gray) bottle of ink, others have claimed that a medium nib and this particular ink look fantastic and they weren't kidding. The pen itself is gorgeous, like the previous reviewer said, the pictures don't quite do it justice. It has a sleek modern design and the zigzag pattern adds an element of elegance for an overall lovely look. Even the packaging it came in is fantastic, much sturdier than my Lamy Safari paper box. Back to the pen, it's a little on the heavy side, which may be a problem for long extended writing sessions. The nib is smooth and consistent, I've had no problems with skipping or feathering. The converter it comes with holds a good deal of ink and is rather easy to use.

Overall, this is a brilliant fountain, especially for the price considering it also comes with it's own converter. I would highly recommend this fountain pen to both beginners and veterans alike.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  After watching reviews..., May 14, 2013
After watching reviews from Brian Goulet's YouTube channel, TheInkNouveau, and Stephen Brown's channel, sbrebrown, I decided to purchase the Pilot Metropolitan as my very first fountain pen. I ordered the black zig zag design along with a 50ml bottle of Lamy black ink, and I am astonished by how gorgeous this pen is in person. The product photos are nice, but they do not do justice to the true physical beauty of this pen. The Pilot Metropolitan is sleek, classy and extremely well-designed for an economy-class pen, and it writes more smoothly than any ball-point or dip pen instrument that I have ever used. I am extremely impressed by this pen, and it is perfect for anyone looking to purchase their first fountain pen!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This fountain pen is..., February 9, 2014
This fountain pen is definitely a must have for both beginners and enthusiasts alike!
I was not a beginner to fountain pens as I spent most of my childhood using them. I decided to reenter the world of fountain pens by purchasing a Metropolitan several months ago, along with a bottle of Lamy black ink. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. This pens writes great right out of the box and I honestly couldn't stop writing once I start. Since then, I've bought several pens (some Chinese ones, several Platinum Preppys and a Lamy Safari), but still this pen is my favorite. I love the solid feel of it in my hand (can't say the same about the flimsy feel of a Preppy), the smooth line it puts down on any paper and the sleek, attractive design. It's a shame that there is only medium nib (it's a little too thick for me) but I wouldn't trade it for the world. What's more, it already came with a converter attached so I don't have to spend extra for one.
If you are new to fountain pen and are debating between this pen and the Lamy Safari (like I was) or other inexpensive pen, I would wholeheartedly recommend this pen for you. Trust me, you will not regret it.
  I bought this back in,..., June 26, 2014
By ros...
I bought this back in, gosh... November 2013? It is now June 2014. It was my first fountain pen. I've bought more pens since then, but this one has a special place in my heart! It was a bit of a dry writer when I first got it, but that's nothing a bit of tine flossing couldn't fix. Now it's a relatively wet writer and I love it! I also did some work on smoothing the nib, and I love it even more. I pair it with Noodler's Bulletproof Black for all my general writing needs, and there isn't much else to say aside from the fact that this pen is a pleasure to write with. Not to mention that I've dropped it on hard floors a few times... aside from some ink splattering, the pen survived because it's just so dang robust. Such a great value for what it is.
  Excellent pen, it was..., March 16, 2014
Excellent pen, it was the first fountain pen I've bought and I'm very impressed with the quality. It has a very stable and controlled flow of ink which makes it very easy to write constantly with.
  I really liked this pen,..., January 30, 2014
I really liked this pen, it writes very smooth, smoother than my dad's more expensive Lamy. It worked great with the disposable ink cartridge that comes in the box.

The converter on the pen comes detached just about every time I take it out to use it at school. It makes a big mess and gets ink everywhere at a very inconvenient time. I assume Pilot wanted to make a nice pen for a low price but they had to save money on the converter and where the converter attaches to the pen. I don't recommend buying this pen, maybe mine was a fluke, but I wouldn't want to take the chance in getting a pen like this one. My pen is practically worthless and I am going to try to return it.
  The Pilot Metropolitan..., January 5, 2014
By lis...
The Pilot Metropolitan is one of my first fountain pens. I thought I might have trouble using a fountain pen at first (although I've used dip pens frequently for drawing), but this worked nicely right out of the box with the Pilot black ink cartridge. The Pilot black ink, by the way, isn't really black; it's slightly dark dark gray on my Rhodia paper sometimes but I'm not going to complain about that. The pen has a very simplistic but elegant design, and the medium nib writes fine. There's only a very slight difference between that and my Petit fountain pen, which I bought at the same time. I write half print and half cursive and usually write very quickly for long periods, but the pen keeps up and it doesn't skip. The only con is that the weight is quite heavy if you write for long periods of time, but that's if you post the cap. Without the cap posted the weight is less and much more comfortable for me and the pen still writes fine. The converter works well too; I've used it with no problems at all.
  This is a very nicely..., January 3, 2014
By bas...
This is a very nicely made pen. Its solid, has an excellent finish and is easy to hold and write with. The nib is smooth and I love the shiny steel look. There is a problem though. If you use the included converter the pen tends to skip. At first I thought it was an issue that would go away with cleaning out the pen. That did not work. Then I thought it might be the nib so I tried to grind it a bit, and made a mess of it. So I bought another Metropolitan pen thinking the first one was from a bad batch. Same problem. Very annoying skipping. But as soon as I put in the cartridge the skipping vanished and the pen had a nice consistent wet flow. Its working great. My wife got a Pilot Cocoon, which is basically a Metropolitan with a fine nib. That's an even nicer pen, but more expensive. No skipping issues with the fine nib, even with the converter. Overall, I would highly recommend both pens, but stay away from the converter. Its no good and it ruins a very nice writing experience. I would have given the pen 5 stars except for the converter issue.
  Love this pen! No one..., August 7, 2013
Love this pen! No one else in the pen market sells this quality and feel for this price. Look at Pilots own "Cacoon" pens they are the same Pen with a fine nib (American extra fine) and priced much higher. I can't figure it. Far superior to the plastic Lamays at twice the price. I have had no problems with solidly posting the cap and it writes well posted or not. I have many far more expensive pens that are not on an equal footing with this fine pice of work and fine marketing. If you must have a different Nib buy a Pilot "78g.". They have 4 different nibs, and even the sections will enterchange with the Metropolitan (tried it before writing) the nibs will be gold colered but you can live with that I'm sure. And when your done you still have two useable pens. All that aside, this is one classy looking pen and could hook a newbie on fountainpens for ever. Carefully consider the damage You could cause in someones life if you gve one as a
gift. I have found fountain pens to be addictive and habbit forming and you alway need just one more.
  Bought this as a present..., July 10, 2013
Bought this as a present for a friend after using my own Pilot Metro for a long time. These are absolutely amazing fountain pens for the price... I don't know how Pilot does it!

The pen body is a medium weight and made entirely from metal except for the plastic grip section, feed, and other inner parts. The nibs are impressively smooth and are very hard (no flex), making them great for fast writing. The grip section has a small lip right before the nib to prevent your fingers from sliding too far forward. The pen cap posts securely on the back and does not throw off the weight of the pen - it's usable but on the short side when un-posted.

I decided to purchase the Fountain Pen CON-50 Converter for my own pen as I personally prefer conventional converters to the squeeze-type converter that comes with the pen. The one that comes with the pen works perfectly well though, and is also good for flushing the pen with water occasionally if you don't have a bulb syringe handy.
The cap fits snugly on the pen and ink rarely dries out in the nib/feed when the pen sits unused for a while.

These pens look just as good in reality as they do in the pictures and perform phenomenally well for the price. Don't pass this one up!
  This is a great pen for..., June 8, 2013
By joest4
This is a great pen for a great deal. I have not seen a better deal for $15. I am very new to fountain pens. this is my first non-disposable pen. I really like how easy to use this pen is. It writes great. It looks very good better than the picture. It has a nice weight to it. The pen comes with a filling converter you squeeze the to sides of the metal together to fill and a cartridge. I may buy more to have multiple colors ready to use. I think I will also give them as gifts. It looks and writes like a more expensive pen. Most people think it is a $50+ pen. The nib is a little smaller than my preppy med. 05 maybe it is a 04. I have used it with noodle's black private reserve sepia and alt goldgrun and all have looked very good on 70 grain paper.