JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (20 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 6, 2010
I work in a science lab...
Verified Purchase
I work in a science lab where we use and often spill stuff like water, alcohol and acetone. I need a pen that won't run when it gets wet with water or solvents. The Black Fine Point Pilot Multiball is perfect for lab use. It doesn't run in any of these solvents and it writes on the slick label tapes (Time Tape for those know) and on metal, glass and plastics of all kinds. On glass and hard plastic, you have to write slowly and sometimes restart the pen with a piece of paper, but it will write on hard smooth surfaces. True the Sharpie can do all this, but it stinks and bleeds through paper too much to use in a lab notebook. The Multiball does not bleed through and doesn't have any odor.

The ability to rely on one pen all day to write on anything and at such a low price and not worry about bleeding through, re-capping, smell, running when wet, etc... makes my life just a little bit easier. We can all appreciate that.

Next, I'm going to test all the colors with solvents and surfaces, but I'm very optimistic about the results. Good job Pilot!

12 people found this helpful
swright243
 
October 7, 2011
I own over 2500 pens...
Verified Purchase
I own over 2500 pens that I used successively for studies, illustration, typography and several design and art projects / jobs and this pens stays on top of my best pens in the world list for several reasons. The first reason is the ink with which it is filled - dries fast, stays on most surfaces that exist - and really solidifies when dries. It is simply awesome to use it on glossy paper for example, like on magazines, but also on bottles when you need to write your name on a bottle, but it is also very versatile and stays perfectly on every type of paper if you need to write a report - and the ink is almost impossible to remove from paper, which makes it perfect to use for signing checks if you are afraid of frauds. In art experiments, I have used it to write onto film strips or photos, to write or draw on several types of fabric and plastic, to ink pencil drawings, and every time I am mind blown by how sturdy the ink remains after it's dry. My art might still exist long after I die because of that, and it's not only an amazing ink to work with, velvety, soft, with deep shades and a beautiful texture almost like water but that hardens - it's also reassuring to see how solid it is ( especially with pen tips medium and up, as the pen exists in medium, broad, and extra broad under the permaball model name). You could almost write under water with it...
The second reason is the sturdiness of the pen itself, and the third reason is its design. It's without a doubt for me one of the most beautifully designed pens ever.
Well, I have nothing but praise for this pen. Get it !

9 people found this helpful
fabulousrice
 
February 11, 2011
If I ever run out of...
Verified Purchase
If I ever run out of paper, which probably won't ever happen, it's nice to know that anything around me could potentially become my writing surface. So far, I've tried it on glass and metal, and it really works well. On paper this thing is a dream... it flows great and the ink is super duper jet black! It also feels sharp, which is a bonus in my book!! I think this is destined to become my new favorite pen! I can't wait to try it out on my bathroom mirror!!!

5 people found this helpful
andrewpeter29
 
September 16, 2010
I love the black Pilot...
Verified Purchase
I love the black Pilot Multiball. The ink is dark and flows very satisfyingly from the pen. Oddly, the other colors that I've tried (blue and pink) I would only rate at 3 or 4 stars.

3 people found this helpful
snow.flake
 
February 1, 2011
I can\'t wait to use...
Verified Purchase
I can\'t wait to use this pen to label everything.
The black lines this pen bears are so dark and smooth.
A steal!

2 people found this helpful
 
July 16, 2013
Not a *bad* pen, but...
Verified Purchase
Not a *bad* pen, but definitely not what I expected. The tip isn't shown in the pictures, but it's VERY thin. It's non-refillable, which is vexing, but it's okay. I do wish though that it were better advertised. The body is extremely tapered at the ends and it has a VERY thin rubber grip. I wouldn't have bought this had I known more, but it's not a bad pen.

1 person found this helpful
johnludwigm
 
May 22, 2013
I do a lot of network...
Verified Purchase
I do a lot of network marketing and I have always used a ultra fine tip sharpie to write notes on a person's business card so I can remember who they were. I needed a sharpie due to a lot of cards having a glossy surface. I hated that I had to carry around such an ugly pen. But now I have discovered the MultiBall. This pen is the best compromise of smoothness, fine line, and looks. This pen is only a little more scratchy than a UM 138 uniball .38 tip pen. The ink dries just a tad slower than a sharpie on glossy surfaces. But you wont hear me complain. This pen is worth more than pens triple its cost. I now carry this pen for everyday use

1 person found this helpful
 
September 27, 2012
This pen is really smooth,...
This pen is really smooth, and it's writes on almost anything! I also love how dark the ink is without bleeding through too badly on most types of paper

1 person found this helpful
louis0419
 
December 19, 2014
I love these pens. They...
Verified Purchase
I love these pens. They work great on my multi-media art projects, but.....three of them started leaking soon after I used them. It was as if the tip stopped rolling, so I threw them away. Bummer!!! I really like them, so I hope it is just a bad batch. I gave them four stars for that reason.

 
November 22, 2014
Not a fan. It has a...
Verified Purchase
Not a fan. It has a terrible weight; it is very top heavy when writing, unless you keep the lid completely separate which risks losing it. Terribly scratchy, and not in a good way. And to make matters worse, it skips when writing. Plus, the lid does not have a good snap when closing.