x
1 - 10 of 39 |  | 
The ink turns darker...
December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase
The ink turns darker with increased use, so don't despair if the color looks too light initially. Appears more like a dark blue than dark gray ( like the lamy blue-black cartridge). The shade is darker with the fine point nibs. Easy on the eyes against yellowish tinged paper.





7 people found this helpful
I use the pilot fountain...
July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase
I use the pilot fountain pen for taking notes and at first i found the ink to be too light. But then upon extended use, the ink turns darker--i dunno if it's the pen or the ink, but it is great! I like this better than the black.
3 people found this helpful
aco_narciso
Not really what I'd call...
June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase
Not really what I'd call blue-black, more like a weak bluey-grey. I was hoping for a much bolder colour, similar to the Pilot/Namiki black with a little blue shading. Unfortunately, I couldn't find a decent review for this specific shade prior to trying it.

The ink seems to transfer itself to the paper in all the right ways, with no particular penchant for feathering, bleed through, drying out or any other bad habits. Maybe it helps to only be used with Pilot nibs, an obvious benefit of proprietary cartridges.

However, I won't be buying these again as I'm just not a fan of the colour. Fortunately I've a number of Pilot pens around the house, so maybe I can get someone else to use the rest of these cartridges...
3 people found this helpful
danjam007
Minimal price for 12...
November 24, 2014
Verified Purchase
Minimal price for 12 Ink Cartridges. I purchased these for the Ink Cartridge (so I could refill with a Syringe of the ink of my choice).
1 person found this helpful
Good tone after a sentence...
November 18, 2014
Verified Purchase
Good tone after a sentence or two is written. This works very well in the Pilot Metropolitan with Fine nib and the Pilot Penmanship pen with the Extra Fine nib. I had used Lamy Blue-Black, but found its thicker viscosity tended to gum up the nibs.

Soon I'll be getting a Pilot Original Cuson in XF and my guess is that it'll be the one that won't block up the nib.
1 person found this helpful
This ink, in my opinion,...
July 19, 2016
Verified Purchase
This ink, in my opinion, leans to be a darker blue over a blue/black, but there color is growing on me. The cartridges last about a week and a half for me, and I write several pages per day with the pen. The ink is just wet enough for me. Overall, a good quality ink.
lexidoidge
Looks more like the blue...
June 28, 2016
Verified Purchase
Looks more like the blue from a ballpoint than the paler blue typical of fountain pen ink. I like the color almost as much as I like my green Namiki ink, and it looks more professional. It's very smooth-flowing through my Metro pens, like any Namiki ink.

The sole drawback is that Namiki inks bleed like crazy in my day planner. I prefer to write in that with a ballpoint anyway.
Nice color. Dries fast....
June 27, 2016
Verified Purchase
Nice color. Dries fast. Easy to install.
Pilot's color palette...
May 25, 2016
Verified Purchase
Pilot's color palette is fairly narrow with respect to ink cartridges. However, this basic blue is one of the absolute best, and I have bottles of this stuff as my go-to blue ink for non-Pilot fountain pens, too. The design of the cartridge opening--which is much wider than international cartridges--allows for ample ink-flow. The colour is a true-blue. There is no purple tone, or green; the ink isn't "royal blue" or "teal." It is just...blue! This is what basic blue ink should look like. It flows great in every pen I have tried. In fact, if you have a pen that seems to write a little on the dry side, I recommend giving this ink a try. The ink does not seem overly prone to feather or bleed-through, and is even relatively waterproof (although, it is not advertised as such, and should not be considered archival).

Some people claim the ink tends to change colour over time, but I have not noticed this. I have noticed that Pilot ink cartridges--like all ink cartridges--will slowly allow the water component of the mixture to escape and evaporate over time. As the water evaporates, the concentration of dye content in the remaining ink cartridge increases, which makes it darker. Still, it's perfectly safe to use.
I just became a fountain...
May 21, 2016
Verified Purchase
I just became a fountain pen fan, and purchased cartridges on a whim. I did read the other reviews (after I ordered) about the ink "writing blue...but turning darker eventually". I call bullocks on that. The ink is called blue black, not *wait-for-a-while-then-blue-will-maybe-get-darker*. The cartridges are on the cheaper side, but if you're extremely particular about colors, these cartridges might irritate! I will keep using this ink, or give some cartridges away just to get rid of it, but I won't purchase again. I purchased Diamine's 1864 Blue Black ink, and it's absolutely gorgeous. It writes very dark; you can see a tint of blue, AND black. Using the Pilot cartridges are definitely convenient, but one is TRULY settling for less if buying the Pilot in hopes of a blue black. Just call it blue and carry on. As someone who LOVES convenience, I will still use the converters to fill my pen with Diamine 1864 Blue Black ink.
jc_huggins
1 - 10 of 39 |  |