JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
June 9, 2012
This was my first Pilot...
Verified Purchase
This was my first Pilot Shaker pencil, and it will always be my favorite.

I had this one for a good 10 months before I bought the Pilot Delful Double Knock Mechanical Pencil and the Pilot Dr. Grip CL Offroader Shaker Mechanical Pencil. While those two pencils were quite great, I found myself coming back to this one. I just felt that this pencil felt more solid in my hands and it could tolerate my heavy pressure against paper. The other two felt more plastic, and I wasn't too fond of that. It's comfortable to last a whole day of average lessons, but kind of uncomfortable if you've been writing a lot all day.

As of now, I've had this pencil for two years, and it's still in excellent condition. I would recommend it to anybody who likes these larger barrel pencils. However, if you're one who prefers thinner barrel pencils and have petite handwriting, this is probably not the best pencil for you.

2 people found this helpful
crazymabober
 
March 21, 2012
I wish you could revise...
Verified Purchase
I wish you could revise reviews here on Jetpens!

Right after sending off my previous review, I found that this pencil actually doesn't advance the lead unless you shake vigorously. Therefore, it won't mess up your pockets unless you're doing some heavy physical activity (jumping and such). You have to shake it with considerable force to make the lead come out, so I don't recommend this for young children.

Also, some more points: the eraser is thin, but long, and the pencil itself is smooth. It doesn't make noises while you write, which is always a plus.

I think.... I think I'm done. Great pencil!

1 person found this helpful
copicarker
 
March 21, 2012
After buying and writing...
Verified Purchase
After buying and writing with this pencil, I cannot believe how incredibly low-priced it is. It's cheap, but it doesn't look or feel cheap at all. The barrel is very sturdy. The clip is pretty frail and looks like it would come right off with a little abuse. The shaking mechanism works great, but that's also this pencil's downside-- it works even when you don't want it to. I wish there was a mechanism for making the pencil stop advancing the lead, because this pencil will spit out lead in your pocket.

Still, it's a beautiful pencil, and an amaaazing price. I like that the "stardust", the little white particles, are not uniform. It really gives it that finished, galaxy look.

1 person found this helpful
copicarker
 
January 25, 2012
Amazing MP. For its...
Verified Purchase
Amazing MP.
For its affordable price, functional technology, and chic design. Its tip is metal & reliable, you can write precisely with minimum effort. The grip is hard rubber, which gives you maximum control & comfort. Clip is firm.

And its design... oh so beautiful. I got Stardust Blue. I just enjoy staring at my Opt MP. This MP makes studying & writing such a fun activity. Great for students, medical professionals, and travelers !!

-R

1 person found this helpful
ryoshihara
 
April 20, 2011
I ordered a Stardust...
I ordered a Stardust Blue Opt pencil, and I am in love with it. It's great for taking notes, as the shaking mechanism works great. The lead will retract a little bit once it is pressed on paper, but afterwards it is immobile. It has a nice, heavy feel to it, but it's not tiring. The colour is really nice - looks like a night sky. Sold at a good price, it's a pencil worth buying, especially if you take lots of notes.

1 person found this helpful
m.natsuko.s
 
January 12, 2011
This is the first shaker...
Verified Purchase
This is the first shaker I have ever purchased. I love that it's made of metal, and that the shaking action isn't so sensitive that the lead comes out durring travel and breaks.

Being a shaker, it seems a little bottom heavy for my tastes but that could just be the nature of the pencils.

Overall, I would definately recomend this pencil and am thinking about purchasing another one in the future.

1 person found this helpful
 
December 23, 2010
This pencil is amazing....
Verified Purchase
This pencil is amazing. The shaker mechanism is great and easy to use. The eraser is nice and the weight is just perfect. It is very comfortable to use.

I would recommend this to every one that loves design, easy usability, and affordability.

1 person found this helpful
Lynnsiana
 
September 2, 2009
This pencil ROCKS! It...
Verified Purchase
This pencil ROCKS! It is a good size and weight and writes extremely well! BUY IT!

1 person found this helpful
tal.marom97
 
June 26, 2009
I just got my Pilot Opt...
Verified Purchase
I just got my Pilot Opt in Stardust Blue. While I bought the pencil for its awesome aesthetics, I'm pleased with its weight, shape and performance. The stock leads are smooth, the eraser (while tiny) works decently and the rubber grip makes for comfortable writing. I didn't even realize it was a shaker pencil until today and its the first shaker pencil I've purchased so I've enjoyed the cheap thrill of shaking out the lead. Recommended!

1 person found this helpful
 
April 14, 2014
Beautiful pencil. This...
Verified Purchase
Beautiful pencil. This pencil has a nice hefty weight to it due to the shaker device perhaps. The design on the pen is spectacular and actually is what drew me to this particular pencil in the first place. The tiny stars really stand out and are gorgeous against the metallic blue background. I love using the pencil and daydreaming about the starry night. I would definitely recommend this pen! If you are contemplating... get it!