My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This was my first Pilot..., June 9, 2012
By cra...
This was my first Pilot Shaker pencil, and it will always be my favorite.

I had this one for a good 10 months before I bought the Pilot Delful Double Knock Mechanical Pencil and the Pilot Dr. Grip CL Offroader Shaker Mechanical Pencil. While those two pencils were quite great, I found myself coming back to this one. I just felt that this pencil felt more solid in my hands and it could tolerate my heavy pressure against paper. The other two felt more plastic, and I wasn't too fond of that. It's comfortable to last a whole day of average lessons, but kind of uncomfortable if you've been writing a lot all day.

As of now, I've had this pencil for two years, and it's still in excellent condition. I would recommend it to anybody who likes these larger barrel pencils. However, if you're one who prefers thinner barrel pencils and have petite handwriting, this is probably not the best pencil for you.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I wish you could revise..., March 21, 2012
I wish you could revise reviews here on Jetpens!

Right after sending off my previous review, I found that this pencil actually doesn't advance the lead unless you shake vigorously. Therefore, it won't mess up your pockets unless you're doing some heavy physical activity (jumping and such). You have to shake it with considerable force to make the lead come out, so I don't recommend this for young children.

Also, some more points: the eraser is thin, but long, and the pencil itself is smooth. It doesn't make noises while you write, which is always a plus.

I think.... I think I'm done. Great pencil!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  After buying and writing..., March 21, 2012
After buying and writing with this pencil, I cannot believe how incredibly low-priced it is. It's cheap, but it doesn't look or feel cheap at all. The barrel is very sturdy. The clip is pretty frail and looks like it would come right off with a little abuse. The shaking mechanism works great, but that's also this pencil's downside-- it works even when you don't want it to. I wish there was a mechanism for making the pencil stop advancing the lead, because this pencil will spit out lead in your pocket.

Still, it's a beautiful pencil, and an amaaazing price. I like that the "stardust", the little white particles, are not uniform. It really gives it that finished, galaxy look.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Amazing MP. For its..., January 25, 2012
By ryo...
Amazing MP.
For its affordable price, functional technology, and chic design. Its tip is metal & reliable, you can write precisely with minimum effort. The grip is hard rubber, which gives you maximum control & comfort. Clip is firm.

And its design... oh so beautiful. I got Stardust Blue. I just enjoy staring at my Opt MP. This MP makes studying & writing such a fun activity. Great for students, medical professionals, and travelers !!

-R
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I ordered a Stardust..., April 20, 2011
By m.n...
I ordered a Stardust Blue Opt pencil, and I am in love with it. It's great for taking notes, as the shaking mechanism works great. The lead will retract a little bit once it is pressed on paper, but afterwards it is immobile. It has a nice, heavy feel to it, but it's not tiring. The colour is really nice - looks like a night sky. Sold at a good price, it's a pencil worth buying, especially if you take lots of notes.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is the first shaker..., January 12, 2011
By kat
This is the first shaker I have ever purchased. I love that it's made of metal, and that the shaking action isn't so sensitive that the lead comes out durring travel and breaks.

Being a shaker, it seems a little bottom heavy for my tastes but that could just be the nature of the pencils.

Overall, I would definately recomend this pencil and am thinking about purchasing another one in the future.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil is amazing...., December 23, 2010
This pencil is amazing. The shaker mechanism is great and easy to use. The eraser is nice and the weight is just perfect. It is very comfortable to use.

I would recommend this to every one that loves design, easy usability, and affordability.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil ROCKS! It..., September 2, 2009
This pencil ROCKS! It is a good size and weight and writes extremely well! BUY IT!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I just got my Pilot Opt..., June 26, 2009
By me
I just got my Pilot Opt in Stardust Blue. While I bought the pencil for its awesome aesthetics, I'm pleased with its weight, shape and performance. The stock leads are smooth, the eraser (while tiny) works decently and the rubber grip makes for comfortable writing. I didn't even realize it was a shaker pencil until today and its the first shaker pencil I've purchased so I've enjoyed the cheap thrill of shaking out the lead. Recommended!
  Beautiful pencil. This..., April 14, 2014
Beautiful pencil. This pencil has a nice hefty weight to it due to the shaker device perhaps. The design on the pen is spectacular and actually is what drew me to this particular pencil in the first place. The tiny stars really stand out and are gorgeous against the metallic blue background. I love using the pencil and daydreaming about the starry night. I would definitely recommend this pen! If you are contemplating... get it!
  Would give it 5 stars..., January 2, 2014
By mvl...
Would give it 5 stars except the lead got stuck somewhere at the tip and I can't use it anymore. T_T
But, other than that, it's an excellent pencil. Great for writing notes in class and being able to keep your grip by shaking the pencil for more lead.
  I ordered this along..., November 22, 2013
By jul...
I ordered this along with a Series I white stripe version and I love them both. It seems strange to call a pencil "gorgeous", but this one really is gorgeous. Great quality for the price. I'm not sure how I feel about the shaker mechanism in general (these are my first shaker pencils), so I'm happy that these still have a classic knock advance as well. Highly recommended.
  I bought this pencil..., September 13, 2013
I bought this pencil on a trip to Japan. Can't remember what I paid, but I'm sure it was more than this.

I love this pencil. The shape and size is perfect. I usually prefer thinner pencils, but this one just fits nicely. Since buying this, it quickly moved to my #1 pencil. I'm pretty fussy about pencils so that's saying a lot.

I never use the shaker mechanism. To be honest, I didn't know it had that. I noticed the shaky thing inside and tried to see if it advanced the lead, but I guess I wasn't shaking hard enough. Now that I know about it, I see that it does in fact work. However, you have to shake so hard, it's not really worth it.

To me, the shaker mechanism serves a better purpose by making the pencil a nice weight. Most plastic pencils are too light to have that nice heft that I like in a writing utensil.